We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem By The Sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge in Rockport, Massachusetts served as an overnight unexpected stay for a friend and I. This charming motor lodge by the sea has spectacular views, is right on the ocean, and has a warm and friendly atmosphere by the recently new owners of the lodge. The rooms are spotless and immensely clean as well as the overall grounds. I recommend this establishment highly for a overnight stay or making it a great get away retreat. Either way you are sure to wake up hearing the waves crash under the rocks below your room or watch an amazing sunset off the porch. Already booked a weekend stay in August!!

Room Tip: Room #8 is said to be the best room as it is located in the far corner of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kota Leigh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Bear Skin Neck Motor Lodge and WOW what an improvement since our last visit! The new owners have clearly worked hard to freshen up the place! The rooms are IMMACULATELY clean, the views from the balcony are spectacular and in my opinion there is no lodging more convienent in Rockport to access the shops, restaurants, etc. Our two young daughters were greeted each morning by the owner and they loved going into the office to buy a water or soda just because the owners were so friendly and welcoming.
We have enjoyed coming to Rockport for years, however these new owners have created such a welcoming and enjoyable business that we will be coming 3-4 times a year now instead of just once (although I would guess that as word gets out about the great changes I will have to make my reservations in advance!)
Whether you are looking for a romantic weekend away or a family lodging spot this would be my #1 recommendation!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I have been coming here for twenty years, through good times and, more recently, not as good times. I stayed this weekend and was thrilled to meet the new owner. Really gracious and it makes all the difference in the world. This is a ber bones place, being all about the location which is perfect. It has been 1950's style interior design-wise, but the new owner is fixing/cleaning up the rooms, one at a time. there are new tvs and even free wifi. And, he is NICE. What an improvement since the last time I visited.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryC824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 721Ulrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bearskinecklodge, Owner at Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cédric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bearskinecklodge, Owner at Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Aussicht im oberen Stockwerk ist sehr schön
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bearskinecklodge, Owner at Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Henriette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bearskinecklodge, Owner at Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.9 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
547 reviews
3.8 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
413 reviews
1.4 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
4.4 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
245 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#2 of 24 in Rockport
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge

Address: 64 Bearskin Nck, Rockport, MA 01966-1639
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range: £117 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge, located on picturesque Bearskin Neck in historic Rockport, MA. All of our rooms are directly on the ocean in Sandy Bay Harbor with the tide stopping just 15 feet from your door! The front of the hotel is on Bearskin Neck, giving our guests access to all that Rockport has to offer, just steps from your door: beaches, art galleries, gift shops, hiking, music venues, and more. The back of the hotel is on the rocky shore looking out onto one of the most picturesque harbors in the state and provides a serene escape from the bustling town. Our location gives our guests the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearskin Neck Motor Hotel Rockport
Bearskin Neck Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing