We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“View is fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“View is fantastic!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

You will be amazed at the location of this lodge. Upon arrival through the one way street filled with shops, restaurants & foot traffic, Joe came to open parking space. He was very cordial & helpful. We especially enjoyed eating lobster dinner preordered from Joe Moore's along with clams from Top Dog & breakfast from strudel bakery on the deck overlooking ocean. Room is basic but the other amenities made this an enjoyable stay.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    85
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
101
241
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Norwcich
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We discovered Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge in Rockport on Trip Advisor when we decided to stop and see the town on a lark on the way to Maine. I have never seen a prettier town or been so welcomed at an overnight accomodation. Joe & his daughter were immediately welcoming, gracious and great fun. The views were exquisite. We slept with the door and windows wide open and enjoyed a very peaceful town and the tide changing on the rocks below. Joe aided us with dinner reservations and travel guidance. We loved that our room was like going back in time to Grandmas. Immaculately clean. Enjoyed a glass of wine on the deck in front of the room before dinner. We are definitely making the trip back next year to stay at Bearskin Neck Lodge again. Hoping to bring more friends and family with us. Guests as well as the owner, Joe, couldn't have been more friendly.

Room Tip: We actually preferred one of the older rooms, but they are in the process of updating all of them. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This hotel is a family favorite and a must stay for us every single summer vacation. You cannot beat the view and location of this quaint and discrete hotel on Bearskin.

Every year I visit Rockport with my family and Bearskin is a must see and this hotel provides one of the best views of the ocean and harbor.

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, New York
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The location of the Bearskin Motor Lodge has always been a big draw especially with the wonderful view and private parking. The new owners provide a family like atmosphere, doing all that they can to make your stay a lasting memory. Housekeeping goes above and beyond the normal cleaning chores of most. We plan on returning to Bearskin for many more years to come. A Spectacular place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuAnn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I love Rockport and this hotel makes Rockport that much better!! Hotel was very clean views are amazing and the owner is very nice and very accommodating. The motel is right in the middle of the town and all the shops, the views are fantastic! Highly recommend this place

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmillan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

rooms were very clean. views are spectacular. staying here really gave me the new england coastal experience. The location is spectacular. Stepping onto the deck was like stepping into the atlantic. Walk out the front door and you have an easy and enjoyable walk to all that Rockport has to offer. Make sure you chat up the very friendly proprietor. Great experience worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timdog0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Windsor, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

First visit to The Bearskin Neck Lodge and can't wait to return!
The room was extremely clean, the bed could not have been more comfortable.
The owner was very cordial and truly happy to have us there. He was prepared to do anything to make our stay comfortable. The view from the room was better than we have had in rooms costing twice as much. The location was perfect with walking distance to restaurants, shopping and even the beach.
If you plan to visit Rockport, do yourself a favor and make a reservation at the Bearskin Neck Lodge!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.9 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
4.4 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
3.8 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
0.8 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 25 in Rockport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge

Property: Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Address: 64 Bearskin Nck, Rockport, MA 01966-1639
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge, located on picturesque Bearskin Neck in historic Rockport, MA. All of our rooms are directly on the ocean in Sandy Bay Harbor with the tide stopping just 15 feet from your door! The front of the hotel is on Bearskin Neck, giving our guests access to all that Rockport has to offer, just steps from your door: beaches, art galleries, gift shops, hiking, music venues, and more. The back of the hotel is on the rocky shore looking out onto one of the most picturesque harbors in the state and provides a serene escape from the bustling town. Our location gives our guests the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearskin Neck Motor Hotel Rockport
Bearskin Neck Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing