We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nana” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Just stayed at Bearskin Neck - the most perfect location to stay with my Washington Daughter in law. The waves were lapping the rocks right under our deck. This place is true New England! The new owner - is so caring, knowledgeable about the area and restaurants. The rooms are small, but have new mattresses and air. We even asked about renting all the rooms for upcoming wedding guests to stay!

Room Tip: All rooms have same view. Parking is hard to find in Rockport. With this motel, you don't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    82
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
91
232
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

This motor lodge not only offers great views of the ocean off of Bearskin Neck, but also an awesome location for shopping and site seeing in one of the most quaint towns in NE.
The rooms are pretty old, musty wood paneling and such, but are super clean and offer some modern amenities like wifi and small flat screen TV's. We will most definitely be back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is the most amazing location! Literally overhanging the rocks on the Rockport Harbor /Ocean! Lying in bed you see only water and sky as you look out the window. The views are simply stunning!
Bearskin Neck is a quaint little New England fishing village with shops, cafes and awesome views at every turn.
The hotel is owned and run by a very hospitable family and with only eight rooms-every one with the same amazing view-they have plenty of time to help direct you to local sites, restaurants etc. This hotel is VERY basic..no hair dryer, fridge or microwave-they do have coolers you can borrow. If you are looking for luxury and amenities this is not the place for you. (They do have excellent WiFi and flatscreen TV's in the rooms.) If you want old New England charm with views that are unsurpassed make your reservations now!
All eight of the rooms share a common balcony (4 rooms on the 1st floor and 4 on the 2nd.) Rooms 4 and 8 are at the end of the building so they are the most "private" as no one will be walking by you to get to their room.
Be sure and bring cash as there are many shops and restaurants that do not take debit or credit cards.
After October 21 some places are closed but Gloucester is just five miles away with plenty of great places to eat/drink. On Bearskin Neck we loved Helmuts Strudel and the little balcony out back. In Gloucester we had an outstanding meal at Seaport Grille . The 1/2 order of Clam Steamers is enough for two and will have you longing for them for months to come!
This is a beautiful part of the country and unique with its lighthouses, rocky coast and seafood to die for! We can't wait to return to The Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge!

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 8 have the best balcony "spot"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jolyn636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbertsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

The view from all the rooms is breathtaking. Nice people own & operate the facility. They recommended restaurants that proved to be good. Complimentary coffee & tea offered in lobby every morning. Walking distance to all shops & galleries. I

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bluegrassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
280 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

As others have said, this is not a luxurious hotel - there is an old-timey feel to it which is okay but we could hear everything going on in the next room and the beds were uncomfortable. Nevertheless, being on the water makes up for this and we could hear the the sound of the waves all night, which is so relaxing. The owner was extremely nice and helpful, and it was great to have parking right on Bearskin Neck, where parking is very scarce. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

This little motel is under new management and what an improvement from our last stay. Each unit now has AC. The motel owners are very helpful and make you feel welcome. Parking is free and your space is saved for your return should you venture out for the day. The view from every room is fabulous. You are right on the ocean at almost the tip of the Neck. I highly recommend that you try it out. Don't expect a luxurious spa type hotel. It is a small, neat and clean seaside motel with that old New England charm which will take you back in time! A true New England seaside experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drewsville, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Linda and I were looking for a quick getaway. Rockport was a destination we had considered, but had not found the right time to go. Checking with Trip Advisor we found the Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge. A call to a very pleasant owner and our over night stay was planned. Upon an early arrival we filled out the usual paperwork and parked our car in a well appreciated private space. Parking is hard to come by in downtown Rockport. The owner was super and the room a delight. We look forward to our next visit and some new memories.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joefenns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.9 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#4 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
3.8 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.4 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
#4 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 25 in Rockport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
3.0 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge

Property: Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Address: 64 Bearskin Nck, Rockport, MA 01966-1639
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge, located on picturesque Bearskin Neck in historic Rockport, MA. All of our rooms are directly on the ocean in Sandy Bay Harbor with the tide stopping just 15 feet from your door! The front of the hotel is on Bearskin Neck, giving our guests access to all that Rockport has to offer, just steps from your door: beaches, art galleries, gift shops, hiking, music venues, and more. The back of the hotel is on the rocky shore looking out onto one of the most picturesque harbors in the state and provides a serene escape from the bustling town. Our location gives our guests the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearskin Neck Motor Hotel Rockport
Bearskin Neck Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing