We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My mom and her best friend came to visit me in Massachusetts Easter weekend and we had no intention of sleeping over in Rockport (they were just going to just crash at my apartment). However, when we stumbled upon the Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge,my mom fell in love with the view and I couldn't tear her away. We inquired about a room, and the owner could not have been nicer - he even showed us the room ahead of time to make sure we'd be happy with it. It was a great size and one of the cleanest hotel/inn/motel I have ever stayed in! You get a million dollar view at a very reasonable rate and within walking distance from two beaches and the quaint town center. It's a small motel (I believe 8 rooms), so book fast!

Room Tip: There isn't a pool, but the ocean is literally a stones throw a way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bearskinecklodge, Owner at Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Hello,

Thank you so much for the amazing review. We have an amazing housekeeper and take great pride in the cleanliness of our rooms. I am so glad to hear your Mom and her friend loved the lodge and enjoyed Rockport. We hope to see you and your Mother again in the future.

Sincerely,
Krystle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

As the others have mentioned, the view from the room is excellent. The room is clean and comfy. Also, the owner is very nice in getting us a great room, giving us some suggestions for places to visit, and helping us to mail our postcards. My friend and I had a great time there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ylam8992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Very nice place to stay. Quite place with the ocean just outside your door. Nothing but the sound of the waves and seagulls to lull you to sleep. The only thing better than the service was the view. We only stayed one night, but if we could have stayed longer we would have. Would recommend this place to anyone. It is a great little gem.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is an example of New England's beauty and hospitality! The view from the rooms is absolutely incredible! . . .and you sleep with the sound of the ocean just feet away from your ears! The rooms are really clean and the beds are sooo comfy! The owners are beyond friendly and accommodating and very willing to tell you the best of the area to tour as well as eat. You just want to invite them to join you! Lots of fun shops and great places to eat close by as well as beaches and parks to explore. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: every room is on the ocean-just choose the floor (there is no elevator however)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judyk428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Don't let the name fool you. A great place to stop over on a New England road trip. So no food on site but hey - go to sleep with the sound of the waves 10 ft from your window, in a REALLY comfy bed, in a REALLY clean room. Also, nearby are some great food places - don't miss the Red Skiff for breakfast.
Owners/Mgt of the Bearskin are really helpful and generous with info on how to get the best from the area. Definitely THE place to stay in Rockport.

Room Tip: Sit back and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrewMurray_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had a perfect night at the Bearskin Neck. Joe, the owner was incredible. The sounds of the ocean were amazing. Perfect....we'll be back. We tried the restaurant next door "My Place" which was equally enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

BEST VIEW EVER!!! SUPER CLEAN ROOMS, Seriously the best Motor Lodge we have ever been in. Owner is very accommodating and super friendly. Quaint little village with lots of shops, all in walking distance. We will definitely be back! A+++++++++

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LaureenM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.9 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
556 reviews
4.4 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
268 reviews
3.8 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
343 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
17 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge

Address: 64 Bearskin Nck, Rockport, MA 01966-1639
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range: £114 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge, located on picturesque Bearskin Neck in historic Rockport, MA. All of our rooms are directly on the ocean in Sandy Bay Harbor with the tide stopping just 15 feet from your door! The front of the hotel is on Bearskin Neck, giving our guests access to all that Rockport has to offer, just steps from your door: beaches, art galleries, gift shops, hiking, music venues, and more. The back of the hotel is on the rocky shore looking out onto one of the most picturesque harbors in the state and provides a serene escape from the bustling town. Our location gives our guests the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearskin Neck Motor Hotel Rockport
Bearskin Neck Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing