We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
East Haddam, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We needed a short getaway, so we decided on a midweek - weekend. The room had obviously just been redone. It was clean,tasteful and very comfortable. We had an upstairs room and a view of the water on both sides. The location could not be beat. The new owners are very nice and accommodating. Their recommendations were excellent. We look forward to returning in the fall.

Room Tip: The king bed is on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FiberandFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bearskinecklodge, Owner at Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for the lovely review. I am so glad you were able to enjoy all that Rockport has to offer. We certainly look forward to seeing you again this fall! We have a King room on both the first and second floor!

Sincerely,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    82
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
91
232
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

My friend and I came up for four days to photograph the area and needed a place to stay. I checked a few places before deciding on Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge. This was the best decisions of this type I have ever made. What a great place with great people. The room was perfect! Super clean with everything we needed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muggs F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bearskinecklodge, Owner at Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for the nice review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to experience all that Rockport had to offer. We hope to see you again if you are ever in the area.
Sincerely,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My mom and her best friend came to visit me in Massachusetts Easter weekend and we had no intention of sleeping over in Rockport (they were just going to just crash at my apartment). However, when we stumbled upon the Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge,my mom fell in love with the view and I couldn't tear her away. We inquired about a room, and the owner could not have been nicer - he even showed us the room ahead of time to make sure we'd be happy with it. It was a great size and one of the cleanest hotel/inn/motel I have ever stayed in! You get a million dollar view at a very reasonable rate and within walking distance from two beaches and the quaint town center. It's a small motel (I believe 8 rooms), so book fast!

Room Tip: There isn't a pool, but the ocean is literally a stones throw a way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bearskinecklodge, Owner at Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for the amazing review. We have an amazing housekeeper and take great pride in the cleanliness of our rooms. I am so glad to hear your Mom and her friend loved the lodge and enjoyed Rockport. We hope to see you and your Mother again in the future.

Sincerely,
Krystle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

As the others have mentioned, the view from the room is excellent. The room is clean and comfy. Also, the owner is very nice in getting us a great room, giving us some suggestions for places to visit, and helping us to mail our postcards. My friend and I had a great time there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ylam8992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Very nice place to stay. Quite place with the ocean just outside your door. Nothing but the sound of the waves and seagulls to lull you to sleep. The only thing better than the service was the view. We only stayed one night, but if we could have stayed longer we would have. Would recommend this place to anyone. It is a great little gem.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is an example of New England's beauty and hospitality! The view from the rooms is absolutely incredible! . . .and you sleep with the sound of the ocean just feet away from your ears! The rooms are really clean and the beds are sooo comfy! The owners are beyond friendly and accommodating and very willing to tell you the best of the area to tour as well as eat. You just want to invite them to join you! Lots of fun shops and great places to eat close by as well as beaches and parks to explore. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: every room is on the ocean-just choose the floor (there is no elevator however)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Greater Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Don't let the name fool you. A great place to stop over on a New England road trip. So no food on site but hey - go to sleep with the sound of the waves 10 ft from your window, in a REALLY comfy bed, in a REALLY clean room. Also, nearby are some great food places - don't miss the Red Skiff for breakfast.
Owners/Mgt of the Bearskin are really helpful and generous with info on how to get the best from the area. Definitely THE place to stay in Rockport.

Room Tip: Sit back and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrewMurray_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.9 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
3.8 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
4.4 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
#4 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 25 in Rockport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge

Property: Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Address: 64 Bearskin Nck, Rockport, MA 01966-1639
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge, located on picturesque Bearskin Neck in historic Rockport, MA. All of our rooms are directly on the ocean in Sandy Bay Harbor with the tide stopping just 15 feet from your door! The front of the hotel is on Bearskin Neck, giving our guests access to all that Rockport has to offer, just steps from your door: beaches, art galleries, gift shops, hiking, music venues, and more. The back of the hotel is on the rocky shore looking out onto one of the most picturesque harbors in the state and provides a serene escape from the bustling town. Our location gives our guests the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearskin Neck Motor Hotel Rockport
Bearskin Neck Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing