We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and calm if a little outdated and small”
Review of Eagle House Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eagle House Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Gary is a lovely host, very knowledgable. The rooms was quite small, and the decor very outdated, but it was clean. The beds were comfortable, but the walls were thin and you could hear people in adjacent rooms snoring!
The bathroom was also small, and there was an unfortunate smell of drains in there. The TV, microwave and fridge were all perfectly adequate, even if they did cause the room lights to dim everytime you used one! It's a little off the Main st in Rockport, but near enough to walk there. There is free Wifi, which is a big bonus. I thought, although it was cheap for Rockport, it was very expensive compared to other similar places we have stayed on this New England trip.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abs140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2009

We reserved a room at the Eagle House for 2 nights to celebrate our anniversary. To say the room was small is an understatement. We felt like we were in someone's bedroom. The bathroom was also very tiny (but we were made aware of this ahead of time). The bed and the pillows were uncomfortable. The thing that amazed us most is that the beautiful church next door rings its bell every hour on the hour all day and all night. We could hear it even though we had our a/c on. If we had been made aware of this, we would NOT have chosen this location. We checked out a day early, fully expecting no refund. We were right. Gary (the innkeeper) said he would email us a gift voucher, but we never received it. Gary is very pleasant, and perhaps our room was just not the best one they have (room 5). My review is based on that room only, plus the incessant church bell!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrazyBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

Motel owner very friendly and accommodating. Room was clean, equipped with small fridge and microwave. No hair dryer or iron in the rooms, but all you have to do is ask and they'll be happy to provide you with them. The motel building itself is very nice and quaint, fitting right in with the town's atmosphere -- 15 rooms with outside decks with tables/chairs, and there's also a guesthouse. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purple-Iris1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights and we had the best time. The room we had was a nice size clean and the beds were comfortable and we slept great, shower a bit small but managable. (Gary told us he has plans to make this shower a bit bigger, We'll be back to check on this). We had a small fridge and microwave and a nice balcony with a table where we ate our lobsters.Just a 5 minute walk to the resturants and shops.The church bell rings but it never bothered us. The owner Gary was very nice and knowledgable of all the places to eat and shop and would do anything for you to make your stay comfortable. Keep the light on Gary we'll be back. Great place to stay and priced just right.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cruisincrazy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

My mother, sister and I recently stayed at the Eagle House for 2 nights.

The location was great - the shops, restaurants and beaches were just a quick walk down the street. The motel itself is located on a quiet, one way street.

The room was clean and was your standard motel room. Our room had a microwave and refridgerator, which came in handy. The decor is a little dated, but that didn't matter to us. The beds were comfortable and the bedding was clean.

The bathroom was quite small (shower, toilet) but since we weren't planning on spending a lot of time in there, it didn't matter and the room served its purpose.

Note the room did not have a hair dryer or iron. So if you need either of these you will have to pack them for yourself. Our room also didn't have a clock, but the clocks/alarms on our cell phones worked in its place.

Gary was very helpful and friendly. This is a great mom & pop type motel. If you're looking for a 5 star place, this is not the place for you. But if you're looking for a great location, clean rooms and a great price, this place cannot be beat.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LilyGirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

This place was a find. We were here about 4-5 nights, mid-week and out-of-season, so we were able to get a ridiculous deal on the room. Furnishings were unremarkable, but clean and well-kept. We had the king-sized bed, which was big enough to get lost in. The owner, Gary, was a font of local knowledge--he was able to tell us a number of places to go and sites to see, and we had some wonderful meals on his restaurant recommendations.

The best thing about Eagle House was the location, a stone's throw from Front Beach and a brief walk to the shops along Bearskin Neck. All things considered, this was NOT a luxury hotel, so if you need four-star amenities you should look elsewhere. But for a quiet week in New England, this was just perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJNeill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2008

We spend 3 nigts in the smallest room we have ever encontred in USA after more than 50 nights spent.

The bathroom is more than small, geeting out of the shower without jumping in the toilet is a very hard excercise. No microwave and location quiet noisy.

The internet site is not at all representing the room we had. We should had been advised of the size of the room. All that for 115 $ per day. Rockport is anice location but not in those conditions.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Barharb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
550 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
1.6 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
3.5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eagle House Beachside
Eagle House Beachside
#5 of 6 in Rockport
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle House Motel

Address: 8 Cleaves St, Rockport, MA 01966-1530
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range: £89 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eagle House Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle House Motel & Guesthouse is a locally-owned and operated motel in beautiful Rockport, MA. We have 14 rooms and a guesthouse with 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen, and living room. All of our rooms have a variety of amenities to make your stay comfortable, including WiFi, air conditioning, Direct TV, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, and balconies. We are conveniently located just steps from Main Street, a beautiful sandy beach, art galleries, specialty shops, restaurants, and the Rockport train station! Eagle House Motel & Guesthouse is a relaxing and quiet place. Relax on the patio in our garden, or by your room and enjoy the peace and quiet. A combination of our fantastic downtown location, affordable rates, comfortable rooms, and helpful innkeepers makes Eagle House Motel & Guesthouse a good choice for a variety of guests! Experience the charm of Rockport from our premium location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Eagle House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle House Hotel Rockport
Eagle Hotel Rockport
Eagle Motel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing