We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strudel Heaven”
Review of Helmut's Strudel

Helmut's Strudel
Ranked #1 of 3 Bakeries in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Strudel Heaven”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We visited Helmut's Strudel on Saturday, October 26th on our first visit to Rockport, MA. We were already familiar with Helmut's, but have only able to purchase it at the Southern Christmas Show in Charlotte. It was the perfect treat mid-morning on a cool, beautiful fall day. The shop was warm and inviting with an amazing view of the water. We highly recommend the blueberry croissant and coffee!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    89
    19
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nana”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge - promised us the World's BEST strudel. He was right! I tried the apple strudel - FANTASTIC! We also tried cinnamon rolls and the chocolate croissants, They have a deck outside, it was warm enough to eat outside in the middle of October.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, MA
Level 6 Contributor
533 reviews
346 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

On a recent visit to Rockport we headed for an afternoon coffee and some strudel. We tried both the cherry strudel and the apple strudel. The pastry itself was flaky and all that strudel should be. However the fillings were not good. They tasted like pie filling from a can and were cloying and gloppy. I guess we've been spoiled by a recent trip to Europe where we had the real thing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikeb1Falmouth_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Superb strudel”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We tried cherry and cheese. Both were heavenly..No matter what flavor you try, you won't be disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank dogladymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Place to Relax!”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I stop here any time we are even close to Rockport. We love getting there early, having some cappuccinos and a pastry. Their ham and swiss croissants are amazing for a quick breakfast or snack. We LOVE their apple strudel a la mode and we try to get it every time if we get there later in the day. The deck is perfect for sipping coffee and watching the water. The staff is always friendly and will help you with anything you need. The prices are a bit high, but that's what you get in the area and for the view.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Helmut's Strudel also viewed

 

Been to Helmut's Strudel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing