We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Helmut's Strudel

Helmut's Strudel
Ranked #1 of 3 Bakeries in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Winsted, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We bought a strudel to take home with us and my family enjoyed it. It was boxed very well and handled the trip home beautifully. We ordered tea and coffee, with a fruit filled croissant and a cinnamon bun. The pastries were delicious and very fresh. We ate out on the deck overlooking the water and it was quite relaxing.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    89
    19
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Very good coffee & wonderful Strudels! I had the cherry and it was so good I got a second one!
Nice outdoor patio overlooking the waterfront.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank lindav731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Morning treat!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Warm strudel, yummy muffins and gooey rolls. Coffee was also very good. Surprised Rockport doesn't have many places to grab doughnuts or pastry for breakfast. Helmut's was the only one we could find. Glad we did! Very enjoyable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ocean68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“terrific”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Terrific and convenient. Just dashed across the street for coffee and croissant, then came back to sit on our deck at Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge for breakfast by the sea.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ruby0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good coffee and pastries”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Went 3 times for coffee and tried the strudel and croissants. Good service and well priced. Worth the walk to (almost) the top of Bearskin Neck!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tkyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Helmut's Strudel also viewed

 

Been to Helmut's Strudel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing