We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very beautiful, interesting and historic!”

Twin Lights on Thatcher's Island
Ranked #9 of 31 things to do in Rockport
Attraction details
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very beautiful, interesting and historic!”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We kayaked out from Rockport's T Warf for our first open ocean kayak adventure to visit friends Gary and Diane who were volunteering as light house keepers. We were a bit nervous about the kayaking but the weather and sea conditions were perfect. We made it out in about 50 minutes which we understand is pretty quick. The scenery along the coast is great as well as the view approaching the island and the twin lighthouses. Gary and Diane toured the entire island with us as well as the trek to the top of the lighthouse. It is a strenuous climb of 156 steps but the view is worth the effort. We recommend you read up on the history of the island prior to your visit as we had done. It has a very interesting past. There is a museum on the island. It is reachable by boat of=r kayak. There is also a shuttle on Wed. and Sat. that must be reserved ahead. There is a $5 fee per person.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jwderoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great experience.”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

If you are going to visit Rockport in the summer, make sure you call and make reservations for this tour well in advance. I called 2 weeks before my trip and there was only one available spot. There were two boats going to the island on a Wednesday morning, 9 and 9:45. When I called for the reservation, I had asked for them to call me if another spot became available, and the day before they called with an opening. The fee is $20.00 and well worth the cost. We left at 9 and returned around 12. It takes about 1/2 hour round trip traveling to and from the island. The rest of the time you are free to climb the North Tower and then tour the island and small museum. You are provided with a map, but the paths are well marked. It was a beautiful place and a great way to spend the morning.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank beachbumLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratham, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Awesome for pictures”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I was not able to actually go out to the island, but was able to get some great photos from the coast. Since there was no parking in the area I was at, I drove up some side streets to get a good angle. I will definitely be back, and will go out to the island next time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a sunrise”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

If you can get to the coast from one of the beaches then this is a very atmospheric sight at sunrise.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank headingtonroadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rockport's Gem”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Two working lighthouses. Lighthouse, Keepers houses, trails, all fscilities well cared for by the Thacher Island Association. Years of hard work by volunteers has produced a wonderful asset for the town and for future generations.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Twin Lights on Thatcher's Island also viewed

 
Rockport, Cape Ann
Rockport, Cape Ann
 

Been to Twin Lights on Thatcher's Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing