We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If ever a B&B deserved to be #1, its this one!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beech Tree B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beech Tree B&B
Ranked #3 of 25 Rockport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If ever a B&B deserved to be #1, its this one!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband & I have been going to this B&B for the past 4 years and it just gets better and better. Its in the perfect location in Rockport -- a short, easy walk to the beautiful Shalin Liu Performance Center, the beach, or shopping on Bearskin Neck. The house and gardens are so well kept with a loving hand by Helene and Dan. The breakfasts are always amazingly original and delicious.

All in all -- a great experience!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmh1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beech_Tree_BNB, Owner at Beech Tree B&B, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We always enjoy your company! Thank you for such a complimentary review. We really enjoy taking care of the house and garden, and most importantly, our guests! Looking forward to the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
143
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed at the Inn for three nights. We had the suite at the back of the house. It was wonderful. I cannot say enough about the Helene and Dan...they were wonderful. They went the extra mile to accommodate all of our needs! Perfect LOCATION!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jbottomley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beech_Tree_BNB, Owner at Beech Tree B&B, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
It was a pleasure meeting you and your daughter, such a polite young woman. And you brought beautiful weather! We are happy you found your stay comfortable and thank you for your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed at Beech Tree for three nights in the Bed and Breakfast Suite.

The B&B is in a great location just a few blocks from Rockport shops, coastline, and train. The property is beautiful. The house itself is immaculately clean, tastefully decorated and comfortable. Enjoyed the dining room with it's large bay windows and if the weather is cooperating, it's nice to eat outside on the side of the house, or ,just sit on the large covered porch to enjoy a cup of coffee or a drink.

Dan and Helene are gracious and friendly hosts and were helpful with information on restaurants and places to go. They seemed to enjoy just chating with us, which to us is what makes staying in a B&B special vice in a hotel. They we're concerned on our last night there as we had taken the train into Boston and arrived back relatively late. That's a good host! Breakfast was good every morning.

We very much liked our suite; loved all the light and windows. The bed was very comfortable and the linens luxurious. It has steam heat and if you carefully follow their instructions for operating it will have no problem.

Overall an excellent experience. We highly recommend the Beech Tree!

Room Tip: Loved the Bed and Breakfast Suite for it's roominess. It's located at the back of the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f00L4LIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beech_Tree_BNB, Owner at Beech Tree B&B, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We greatly appreciate all the time you took to give us such informative feedback. It is great for other travelers to have such a thorough review that includes our location and room descriptions. We really enjoyed meeting and getting to know you and so glad you enjoyed Rockport. We particularly loved that you and our other guests had such great breakfast conversations. It is really part of the whole B and B experience. Thanks for everything!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

The Beech Tree is a delight in every way: it has location, location, location; fabulous hosts; interesting breakfast guests; yummy breakfasts; COOKIES! immaculate décor; lots of books; welcoming rooms... and a bed to please the most demanding Goldilocks! Dan and Helene even ordered spectacular weather for our visit!

Room Tip: They're literally all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigidou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beech_Tree_BNB, Owner at Beech Tree B&B, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
We are delighted that Goldilocks found things to be "just right"! We really enjoyed your company and learning your Quebecoise expressions. Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review and hope you consider coming back some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Last June, we ventured to Rockport to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary and found a home away from home.

Located just a short walk from the center of this historic seaside village, The Beech Tree Bed and Breakfast, owned by Dan and Helene Duffy is the ultimate in B & B's. From the moment I phoned and spoke to Dan to make our reservations, I knew our stay was going to be perfect. Pulling up to the Beech Tree only confirmed that......this 1850's Greek revival home, though decorated to absolute perfection, was cozy and welcoming and immaculate from the front door, to the porch and every where in between.The Beech Tree has three rooms for guests - all upstairs. We got to stay in Marga's room. Before you even see the photos, I will tell you that I didn't want to come home. Dan and Helene were the consummate hosts and their intention for perfection was obvious in everything the Beech Tree offers. Whether it be the unbelievably decadent linens on the beds, the fully equipped bathrooms, the homey decor throughout, the beautiful gardens, or the delectable breakfasts they serve - not one detail was overlooked. Each and every room, every area of this home makes you want to sit and relax and beckons you to stay.
The side porch with it's rocking chairs and beautiful view of the magnificent beech tree was the perfect spot to rest after a morning of exploring Rockport. We were fortunate to be blessed with beautiful weather during our visit, so both mornings breakfast was served outside on the patio. Trust me - the fact that we ate outside in no way made this a less than elegant meal. In addition to delicious yogurt, fresh fruit and homemade granola, each day we were also served a hot breakfast, juice and coffee or tea. My only disappointment was in not getting to eat in the simply beautiful dining room!
It is very easy to see why the Beech Tree B & B was a 2013 Certificate of Excellence winner.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GWelter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beech_Tree_BNB, Owner at Beech Tree B&B, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
We certainly appreciate you taking the time to write such a thorough and complimentary review. It is so rewarding when we hear that our guests have enjoyed our home and feel welcome and comfortable. We hope you will visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband surprised me with a Valentine's getaway weekend. Although it was cold and there was a blizzard, we stayed warm and cozy in our suite. The bed was luxurious as was the deep tub in the sparkling bathroom. Breakfast was a highlight. So delicious and creative with our lovely hosts. A walk down the neck was quiet yet beautiful. Winter in Rockport is so intimately romantic. Truly the best weekend we have had in so long.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennZac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beech_Tree_BNB, Owner at Beech Tree B&B, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
We share your sentiments about Rockport in the winter. There is a magical "Je ne sais quoi" in our very walkable New England village when it is covered with snow. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with others and for your very complimentary review of our accommodations. We greatly appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Spent a romantic, snowy winter weekend in Rockport. We chose the Beech Tree B&B based on Tripadvisor reviews, and we were not disappointed. I recommend the Marga Room. It was lovely, clean, with a very comfortable 4-poster bed. Breakfast was delicious, and the hosts were very accommodating with any kind of special diet you may require.

We especially loved the location because we could walk to everything. Had tickets to a performance at the Shalin Liu Performance Center (fabulous venue, highly recommend!) We also walked up the street to dinner at Lograsso's Italian Bistro (byob, incredible Italian food, very cozy) It was a perfect winter weekend getaway.

Had difficulty finding something that was open in the off-season, glad we stumbled upon the Beech Tree, we will be back!

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms, we loved the Marga Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beech_Tree_BNB, Owner at Beech Tree B&B, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your weekend. Thank you for taking the time to share your activities with other travellers who might consider a winter getaway to Rockport. It seems all the seasons have their own special pleasures, which is why we remain open all year. We appreciate your complimentary and helpful review. It was a pleasure having you stay at our home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.4 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#4 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
1.7 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 25 in Rockport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven South Street Inn
Seven South Street Inn
#2 of 25 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Tree B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Tree B&B

Property: Beech Tree B&B
Address: 55 Broadway, Rockport, MA 01966-1527
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beech Tree B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate three guest room inn in a seaside village on Cape Ann. Two well appointed guest rooms and one suite, all with private baths. AC, TV and ceiling fans. Serving breakfast in a sun filled formal dining room or weather permitting on the porch or patio.Plated Breakfast includes:fresh fruit, home made granola, Greek yogurt, hot entree, baked good and assorted juices, coffee and tea. Enjoy the common areas which include Living Room, recently expanded Sun Room, Covered Side Porch, Patio and Garden area. Sit in a rocking chair while enjoying the sea coast weather and the shade of the 100 year old beech tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Beech Tree B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Tree Bed And Breakfast
Beech Tree Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing