We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Rockport!!!”
Review of The Seafarer Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Seafarer Inn
Ranked #2 of 24 Rockport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The Seafarer Inn is beautifully located in a quiet, peaceful neighborhood, with gorgeous views and easy access to the shops in Rockport. I knew this because I live in Rockport. But only when I needed to find accommodations for a young family visiting from Colorado, did I discover what a GEM the Seafarer really is!!! When we had a big family reunion, I needed a place for the overflow. Chris and Beth put my Godson and his wife and their two children in the "Front & Back Suite", which you can see on their website. For the next 5 days, I heard rave reviews from the children and their parents. They said the Inn is so welcoming and pretty, Chris and Beth are wonderful, the rooms are comfortable and cozy, and the breakfasts are yummy! The children called the Inn "home". Everybody relaxed (me, too!). They can hardly wait to come back… and in the meantime, I'll be recommending the Seafarer to everyone I know! Heartfelt thanks!!!
PS: I accidentally clicked "excellent" for "swimming pool on the rating options. As far as I know, there's no swimming pool, but they DO have a little koi pad which delighted the children!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mommikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

We love hosting extended family for reunions, weddings and other gatherings. We are very happy to hear your family enjoyed their stay. They were delightful! You are correct, we do not have a pool, but we do have a koi pond right off the breakfast room, with over a dozen mature, colorful koi that put on a great show for our guests. Thank you for your review and future recommendations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Seafarer Inn is the "essence" of a true New England Experience... We had the pleasure of spending an overnight at the Inn on April 26. What a beautiful, welcoming, immaculate home that made us very comfortable like we were at home. Our room was warm and cozy with a fireplace that added to the ambiance of the room. The living room and dining area was very charming with beautiful views of crashing waves on the rocks along to coast. Innkeepers, Chris and Beth go over and above to make sure their guest are comfortable and having a wonderful stay. The breakfast offered in the morning was delicious with yogurt, fresh fruit, muffins, waffles, cereals, juice, coffee, etc. We had a relaxing morning sitting at a table by the window enjoying breakfast while watching the fish in the Koi Pond. The Seafarer Inn is in a great location, close to the ocean with water views from every room and close to shopping in downtown Rockport at the quaint little shops the town offers. I would highly recommend staying at this lovely Inn; I am looking forward to our return visit in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarthaStubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

We had a wonderful time getting to know you both. Thank you for the great review. We can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This B&B/ Inn is a great spot for all travelers looking for a friendly, nice, and welcoming place to stay. It is reasonably priced and convenient to all activities. It is located by the cliff walk, less than a 1 mile walk to Rockport Center. You can see the ocean from all the rooms and the breakfast is plentiful. Friendly people made this a perfect escape for a couple of days,we truly enjoyed our time here and will return next year.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was on the ground floor, off the living room. This would be great for anyone w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariahopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for the review. We also love the Old Garden Path walk to town with its sweeping views of the bay. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

In New England for the holiday and highly recommend this exquisite Inn by the sea. Each room is sweet, charming and unique- each named for a Rockport beach. Rooms are super clean , have private baths and the most meditative views of Atlantic - walkable to town , great breakfast and Chris and Beth - the inn keepers are charming and care for every detail. They know the area and can provide insights to dine , sights and festivities ! You need a cozy cottage to call home at the sea - this is it!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for the enthusiastic review! We do love our 'home by the sea!' We can't wait to see you again on your next visit to Rockport!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Seafarer in early April. Not many properties are open this early in their season so there weren't alot of choice but we feel we hit the jackpot! The Inn is an historic property with ocean view all around. We had a room on the third floor with wonderful views, a small kitchenette, king bed, and an electric fireplace. The owners, Chris and Beth, are gracious and helpful and very knowledgeable about the area. We used it as our base to visit a number of small communities on the North Shore. We happened to be the only guests during our stay but our hosts still put out a lovely breakfast that could have fed 10. This is an ideal place for exploring the area - highly recommended!

Room Tip: We loved the Long Beach room
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank napolicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for the review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Rockport is a wonderful base for day trips to historic Gloucester, Essex for antiquing, Salem for museums or Newburyport for shopping. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

They are telling the truth when they say every room has a view! We walked through the unoccupied rooms and loved each one. My husband and I spent a private weekend here and were able to completely relax. Before we arrived, we were a little nervous about whether we’d have enough privacy (we’re new to B&Bs), but the hosts were very respectful of our space. Each morning we’d come down to a yummy breakfast prepared for us (with so many fresh strawberries!). Our host would pop out for a second to see if we needed anything, then disappear to give us the alone time we were looking for.
The hosts also gave great advice on walking paths, restaurants, places with a view, etc. The location is great - you can follow a short coastline path directly to the town square.
It snowed during our stay and we looked out the window the next morning to see our host digging out our car! The snow also caused another couple to cancel their reservation and the hosts offered us the now-available room as a free upgrade, despite that we’d already slept in our room. Great service, above and beyond welcoming, relaxing private getaway, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Our main goal is to offer a home where our guests can relax. We are happy to hear that we are reaching that goal! We are glad you were able to enjoy a winter weekend getaway and hope to see you again soon now that spring is here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had an incredible evening and morning at The Seafarer! Our room was adorably furnished with a king and day bed, making us feel right at home. A couple with a young children would also be an ideal fit for our particular room. The continental breakfast overlooking the ocean cannot be beat! We'll definitely be back this summer for the on-season, although we do recommend visiting Rockport in the spring. You still need your coat, but there are so few people in town that it's like you're on another planet (at least to two Bostonians).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure to have you visit the Seafarer. We love your comment that Rockport is like another planet! It truly is a world away from the city. We hope you can come visit again in the warmer months!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.5 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
547 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
2.0 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
407 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
4.8 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seafarer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seafarer Inn

Address: 50 Marmion Way, Rockport, MA 01966-1909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range: £83 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Seafarer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A casual, charming home by the sea... The inn featurs a front porch with ocean views and a koi pond surrounded by adarondack chairs on a pebble beach. Plenty of places to sit, relax and watch the boats, breathe in the salt air, and listen to the waves. Every room has an ocean view and private bathroom. Amenities include AC, TV, refrigerator, hair dryer. All but one (Loblolly Cove) room have electric fireplaces. Walk a few steps to historic Straitsmouth Cove, and explore tide pools or relax on the sand by the water. We are happy to lend you a beach chair! Explore beautiful Rockport, a quaint seaside village with lots to see and do. Start by walking Old Garden Path along the ocean to Old Garden Beach and then to the Headlands for an unforgettable view of Sandy Bay. Stroll to charming Bearskin Neck and visit art galleries, quaint shops, restaurants, churches, and historic architecture. Visit the Rockport Art Association and attend a concert at the Shalin Liu Performance Center, home of Rockport Music's world-famous Chamber Music Festival. Whatever you plan on doing during your visit, we hope you stay with us at The Seafarer Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Seafarer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seafarer Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing