We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit of Heaven!”
Review of The Seafarer Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Seafarer Inn
Ranked #2 of 24 Rockport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I spent the entire first week of June at The Seafarer Inn. The location is spectacular, with breathtaking views of the ocean from any room. Also, a 5 minute walk in any direction gave us views of lobster boats nestled in a cove, waves crashing on rocks , and the twin light houses in the distance. The Inn is located in a quiet residential area on the ocean, but a 45 minute walk along the pretty GardenPath brought us into touristy Rockport. Breakfasts offered healthy choices of fresh fruit, yogurt, toast, special breads, etc., and lots of Keurig coffee (which we could use any time) our room has a refrigerator, microwave, and A/C . The bed was very comfortable, the showers had plenty of hot water, and. Again, the views from our room was amazing. The whole Inn is very clean, and Chris, co-owner was friendly, welcoming, and took care of any guests' needs. We will definitely return to The Seafarer Inn where they share a bit of heaven with their guest! I highly recommend!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chiang18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you. We enjoyed having you stay with us. We hope you get to return to your "bit of heaven!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night, but we'd definitely stay longer next time. We were in the lovely Loblolly room which looked over the koi pond and you could see the ocean. The bathroom was private, but just down the hall. The neighborhood is nice and quiet, but downtown Rockport is a short drive or mile walk from the inn. We were luckily there for Sunday breakfast where they had a lovely spread including a cornmeal and molasses bread and a yogurt parfait bar. The owners were very nice and offered suggestions for dinner in town.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank chicagoheroine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

So glad you liked the Loblolly Cove room! It is a sweet room. The bread is called "Anadama" bread and is native to Rockport. It is one of our specialties! We love sharing our home with our guests. Hope you get a chance to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

In our first New England stay, we were welcomed nicely by the Chris and Beth and made to feel at home. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable and storage space was plentiful and the room was refreshed daily The views...aaahhh, the views. The views were spectacular out of both sets of windows. Both in the morning to watch the boats go out and the sun rise or in the evening or late at night to watch the boats return. They were in the middle of remodeling the front porch but it wasn't a hindrance. The breakfast selection were great as were the morning chats with Chris on where things were located or what he may suggest. The koi pond had just been installed and we could enjoy them from our room. This was a fall visit but we were able to sleep comfortably with the window open and the smells of the sea and the sound of the waves, wind dependent all night. The only thing we could complain about was that at the time, there was no TV and the WI-FI signal was weak on the top floor. I see from other reviews that the TV issue has been resolved. This wasn't much of an issue since we were late returners anyhow. I CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Long Beach which was on the top floor and offered 2 different views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fireguy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

We hope you do get a chance to come back! You should see the new porch! And we have finished the landscaping around the koi pond. And yes, we have installed TVs in all the rooms. We also added a wifi booster which helps with the signal. Of course the views have not changed! Thank you for the wonderful review and we hope to see you again this summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had the most amazing stay at the Seafarer Inn. The Innkeepers were welcoming, the room was the best room in New England with a beautiful view of the ocean. The room was private and had it's own bathroom and electric fireplace as well as refrigerator and microwave. The breakfast was delicious with home baked muffins and fresh fruit salad. The porch and community living spaces are comfortable and charming. The Innkeepers have done a wonderful job making it feel like you are at home, we will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

And we can't wait! Thank you for the compliments. It was our pleasure. We will see you again the next time you take a weekend by the sea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is our first experience with a Bed and Breakfast and this was absolutely the best place to stay. The view from our window was breathtaking and calming. The rooms are very charming and private. We had a refrigerator and microwave. They even had a hair dryer and iron and board in room. You have your own bathroom/shower. Each room had cable TV which was nice when relaxing in our room. The breakfast spread in the AM was great; everything you could want. Coffee is always available. I even found snacks when you needed a little something in the afternoon (fruit). The owners Chris and Beth were very welcoming and informative as to what to see and where to eat in the area. The town of Rockport was very quaint. A lot of cute shops and art galleries. The Shalon Liu Performance Center is open year round with great performances. Halibut Point State Park is close by and a great place to hike and visit.
I can not stress enough that this is a great place to stay!!! We hope to get back to this area soon and we will definitely will be staying here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

I love the heading! Thank you for the great review. It was our pleasure having you here and getting to know you both. I love the pictures! Especially the ones of the koi pond. We are glad you had a good visit and got to enjoy what Rockport has to offer. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Innkeeper Chris was a great host. He and his wife are working to make this place special. Upgrades to porch and outsides bring much positives to the experience. A pond out back, a porch to sit and close proximity to a million dollar view. The room was sufficient for our needs. We were the only guests the night we stayed and despite this the breakfast was outstanding. Fresh fruit, yogurts, cereals, kurig coffee! Nice fare. Some upgrades to come- maybe brick paver backyard will push this to even higher highs.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank KerryZ35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

We are happy you enjoyed your stay! We are having a great time working on this beautiful, antique house. We just finished adding a beach area with views of both the ocean and the waterfall in the koi pond. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had an absolutely wonderful, comfortable stay at The Seafarer Inn. Picture perfect view and setting. Short distance to a very quaint Rockport town. Delicious breakfast served on the patio. Gracious proprietor. You will not be disappointed with a visit to The Seafarer Inn.

Room Tip: All rooms are a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We enjoyed having you here and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.5 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
552 reviews
4.8 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
258 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Seven South Street Inn
Seven South Street Inn
#3 of 24 in Rockport
316 reviews
1 mi away
The Tuck Inn B&B
The Tuck Inn B&B
#5 of 24 in Rockport
217 reviews
0.8 mi away
Changing Tides Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seafarer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seafarer Inn

Address: 50 Marmion Way, Rockport, MA 01966-1909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range: £97 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Seafarer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A casual, charming home by the sea... The inn featurs a front porch with ocean views and a koi pond surrounded by adarondack chairs on a pebble beach. Plenty of places to sit, relax and watch the boats, breathe in the salt air, and listen to the waves. Every room has an ocean view and private bathroom. Amenities include AC, TV, refrigerator, hair dryer. All but one (Loblolly Cove) room have electric fireplaces. Walk a few steps to historic Straitsmouth Cove, and explore tide pools or relax on the sand by the water. We are happy to lend you a beach chair! Explore beautiful Rockport, a quaint seaside village with lots to see and do. Start by walking Old Garden Path along the ocean to Old Garden Beach and then to the Headlands for an unforgettable view of Sandy Bay. Stroll to charming Bearskin Neck and visit art galleries, quaint shops, restaurants, churches, and historic architecture. Visit the Rockport Art Association and attend a concert at the Shalin Liu Performance Center, home of Rockport Music's world-famous Chamber Music Festival. Whatever you plan on doing during your visit, we hope you stay with us at The Seafarer Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Seafarer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seafarer Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing