We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay by the Sea”
Review of The Seafarer Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Seafarer Inn
Ranked #1 of 24 Rockport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay by the Sea”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We spent 2 nights at The Seafarer Inn in July and greatly enjoyed our stay. The Old Garden Room is very comfortable (especially the armchairs!) and the whole atmosphere at the inn is very relaxing. There was a wide range of quality products at breakfast and it really would be hard to beat the view you get when eating your breakfast on the terrace. The walk into the centre of Rockport is lovely, whether you walk on the footpath along the coast or through the residential streets, and it was good to be away from the bustle of the centre of town and relax at the Seafarer Inn.

We would love to return to this inn in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nls_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for the great review! We love to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. Our goal is to offer a good breakfast, comfortable rooms, relaxation and a great view. I'm pleased to know we met our goals for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    30
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
130
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

we visited Rockport for a wedding, and The Seafarer Inn was on a recommended list sent with the invitation. We picked The Seafarer Inn based on its location, away from the centre of town and near the sea, and were very happy with our choice. Because of a change in our travel plans after making the initial reservation, so we moved rooms (but received the lower room price even when we had moved to the larger room.

The inn keepers, Beth and Chris offer a warm welcome, the breakfasts were good, the beds were comfortable and it all made for a delightful three night stay at a very reasonable price.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Name_picked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for the great review. It was our pleasure to have you here and we were very pleased to be able to offer you the move so that you could extend your stay. As you mention, we are about a mile from town in a quieter area where you can hear the waves roll over the rocks. We hope you can come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed in the Pebble Beach Room for 3 nights, room is actually nicer and larger than it appears on the picture. Beth and Chris are lovely hosts, very accommodating. We hope to come back!
U and D from Switzerland

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here and thank you very much for the great review. I agree, the Pebble Beach room is very spacious and comfortable. We hope you can return one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Not our first trip to Rockport, but this was our first stay at the Seafarer Inn and it won't be our last. We had the Front and Back Beach Room - which had water views and were really very nice and made for a relaxing stay. We loved sitting out by the koi pond. We love the location on Marmion Way: the inn is at the point where there is less "traffic" (there's really no traffic there) and it's 1 mile to the center of Rockport, and a short ride (bike or car) to Gloucester.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_N_BBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for the great review. Our goal is to make our guests' vacations "peaceful and relaxing", so we were very happy to know we succeeded for you. As to traffic, this weekend, we have front row seats to the Blackburn Challenge rowing race. The boats in the race will pass Straightsmouth Island right in front of our yard. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Haven, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Just spent a perfect four days at the Seafarer; would give six stars if possible; gorgeous location, views, and great breakfasts; the owners obviously love the Inn; miss sitting in my "spot" at the koi pond. Stay here, you'll love it!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for the great review. I promise to save your 'spot' by the pond for your next visit. The fish are getting big! We can't wait to have you back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our group of 6 adults, 2 teenagers booked the second floor for a long weekend. The rooms were very nice, with great views of the water. Breakfast out on the porch, looking at the ocean and the koi pond, was a wonderful way to start the day. Our host and hostess were very helpful, offering beach chairs and kayaks for our use, as well as advising us on good running routes and walking routes into Rockport. (You can walk into town taking advantage of the public paths along the ocean.) Overall, a great base with wonderful ambiance for town activities, and for heading out on bikes.

Room Tip: Ask about tub/shower combination in your room. Our room had a claw foot tub and hand-held shower, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmjhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
What a wonderful review. Thank you. Good room tip. The Pebble Beach room has an antique claw foot tub with a European hend held shower. Some people absolutely love the romance of it and others prefer a stand up shower. (All of our other rooms do provide a stand up shower.) It is one of my favorite rooms for the beautiful bed, the views of the village and the electric fireplace.

We are happy you chose our house for your long weekend and that you enjoyed Halibut Point State Park, Dogtown and central Rockport. There truly is so much to see and do here. We hope you can come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Quite frankly, you don't need a room in the Seafarer Inn. Just sit on the porch and enjoy the views it offers - we could have sat there all day long watching the ocean, listening to its sounds and breathing the salty air. That being said, the Seafarer Inn is located just about 1 mile from the town and an easy to walk path along the sea shore takes you there. It's location is stunning and it'll be hard to top it.
We stayed in the "Old Garden Beach" room on the first floor with a huge window towards the street and sea. As indicated on the Inn's website, it is adjacent to the living room. What may sound bothersome is a non-issue. We didn't hear anything from either living room, porch or breakfast area. It is equipped with A/C, ceiling fan, refrigerator, (small) TV and wireless WLAN, as well as an en suite bathroom. Everything is in good shape and well taken care of. Only the bathroom seems a little dated and may benefit from an update.
The breakfast was really nice with fresh fruit salad, egg, yogurt, waffles, etc. Because the breakfast room opens to the front porch we could sit outside and enjoy the views while having breakfast.
Bottom line: very nice Inn in a unique location!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanMel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. I have to agree that the porch is a great place to relax and enjoy being by the sea. We hope you get a chance to return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.5 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#4 of 6 in Rockport
531 reviews
2.0 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#3 of 6 in Rockport
334 reviews
4.0 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
4.8 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
215 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seven South Street Inn
Seven South Street Inn
#3 of 24 in Rockport
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seafarer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seafarer Inn

Property: The Seafarer Inn
Address: 50 Marmion Way, Rockport, MA 01966-1909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Seafarer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A casual, charming home by the sea... The inn featurs a front porch with ocean views and a koi pond surrounded by adarondack chairs on a pebble beach. Plenty of places to sit, relax and watch the boats, breathe in the salt air, and listen to the waves. Every room has an ocean view and private bathroom. Amenities include AC, TV, refrigerator, hair dryer. All but one (Loblolly Cove) room have electric fireplaces. Walk a few steps to historic Straitsmouth Cove, and explore tide pools or relax on the sand by the water. We are happy to lend you a beach chair! Explore beautiful Rockport, a quaint seaside village with lots to see and do. Start by walking Old Garden Path along the ocean to Old Garden Beach and then to the Headlands for an unforgettable view of Sandy Bay. Stroll to charming Bearskin Neck and visit art galleries, quaint shops, restaurants, churches, and historic architecture. Visit the Rockport Art Association and attend a concert at the Shalin Liu Performance Center, home of Rockport Music's world-famous Chamber Music Festival. Whatever you plan on doing during your visit, we hope you stay with us at The Seafarer Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Seafarer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seafarer Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing