We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly charming”
Review of The Seafarer Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Seafarer Inn
Ranked #2 of 24 Rockport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

After finishing up work in Conneticut, my husband and I decided last minute to drive up to the Cape Ann area for a three day getaway. SInce it was August, most local B and B's were booked through the week. Luckily, the Seafarer in had one vacancy. Both my husband and I were shocked by the quality of our stay. Every detail of our stay was lovely, from the charming room with lovely beach accents to the beautiful ocean views from every room. Breakfast was served at reasonable hours with a great outdoor seating area to enjoy the morning. Coffee and light snacks were available in the sun room throughout the day. The innkeeper was hospitable and made suggestions for local restaurants to visit. The location was perfect- a walkable distance to several beaches and near a lovely public walking trail. If we're ever in the area again, you can bet we'll be staying there. STRONGLY RECOMMEND.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views- the Long Beach room has the best view, but is on the third story.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laci_michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

We hope you do get a chance to come back! Thank you for mentioning the views. We do have ocean views from every guest room and the two rooms on the third floor offer the most expansive views. The house is across the street from the ocean. But close enough so that you can hear the waves crash on the rocks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for The Seafarer Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

When the weather's good it is a very pleasant walk from downtown Rockport to the Seafarer Inn. The views from the Inn are lovely; it's location is great.
Our host was friendly, courteous and helpful, even carrying my wife's heavy suitcase up to the third floor. Our room there was comfortable and nicely equipped. It included a refrigerator and small kitchen area. The furnishings were not new or trendy, but they were all in excellent condition and fit the decor of the Inn nicely. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was small, but clean and all the fixtures worked fine. The shower was on the small side. All the linens were clean and the bath towels were as big and fluffy as I've ever seen.
Our room had an air conditioner, which was great because the weather was warm. At night we turned it off and opened the windows, but, alas, there was not much breeze and the room got a little stuffy.
Breakfast was a do-it-yourself affair with cold cereals, a coffee cake, some fruit, toaster waffles and instant oatmeal.
I'd return and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Inn to others.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for the very nice and thorough review. We call the furnishings and decorations, "beach house casual." We work hard to keep everything clean, comfortable and relaxing. We're so glad you liked our great weekday continental breakfast, which, along with the coffee cake and assorted cereal, includes a yogurt bar with lots of toppings, fresh fruit and 4 kinds of syrups for the waffle bar. On weekends, we add a fabulous hot buffet breakfast with scrambled eggs, pancakes and bacon and sausage. We hope you get to return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We spent 2 nights at The Seafarer Inn in July and greatly enjoyed our stay. The Old Garden Room is very comfortable (especially the armchairs!) and the whole atmosphere at the inn is very relaxing. There was a wide range of quality products at breakfast and it really would be hard to beat the view you get when eating your breakfast on the terrace. The walk into the centre of Rockport is lovely, whether you walk on the footpath along the coast or through the residential streets, and it was good to be away from the bustle of the centre of town and relax at the Seafarer Inn.

We would love to return to this inn in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nls_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for the great review! We love to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. Our goal is to offer a good breakfast, comfortable rooms, relaxation and a great view. I'm pleased to know we met our goals for your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

we visited Rockport for a wedding, and The Seafarer Inn was on a recommended list sent with the invitation. We picked The Seafarer Inn based on its location, away from the centre of town and near the sea, and were very happy with our choice. Because of a change in our travel plans after making the initial reservation, so we moved rooms (but received the lower room price even when we had moved to the larger room.

The inn keepers, Beth and Chris offer a warm welcome, the breakfasts were good, the beds were comfortable and it all made for a delightful three night stay at a very reasonable price.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Name_picked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for the great review. It was our pleasure to have you here and we were very pleased to be able to offer you the move so that you could extend your stay. As you mention, we are about a mile from town in a quieter area where you can hear the waves roll over the rocks. We hope you can come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed in the Pebble Beach Room for 3 nights, room is actually nicer and larger than it appears on the picture. Beth and Chris are lovely hosts, very accommodating. We hope to come back!
U and D from Switzerland

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Isabell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here and thank you very much for the great review. I agree, the Pebble Beach room is very spacious and comfortable. We hope you can return one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Not our first trip to Rockport, but this was our first stay at the Seafarer Inn and it won't be our last. We had the Front and Back Beach Room - which had water views and were really very nice and made for a relaxing stay. We loved sitting out by the koi pond. We love the location on Marmion Way: the inn is at the point where there is less "traffic" (there's really no traffic there) and it's 1 mile to the center of Rockport, and a short ride (bike or car) to Gloucester.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A_N_BBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for the great review. Our goal is to make our guests' vacations "peaceful and relaxing", so we were very happy to know we succeeded for you. As to traffic, this weekend, we have front row seats to the Blackburn Challenge rowing race. The boats in the race will pass Straightsmouth Island right in front of our yard. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Just spent a perfect four days at the Seafarer; would give six stars if possible; gorgeous location, views, and great breakfasts; the owners obviously love the Inn; miss sitting in my "spot" at the koi pond. Stay here, you'll love it!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seafarer-Inn, Owner at The Seafarer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for the great review. I promise to save your 'spot' by the pond for your next visit. The fish are getting big! We can't wait to have you back!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.5 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
543 reviews
2.0 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
338 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
399 reviews
4.8 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
227 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seafarer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seafarer Inn

Address: 50 Marmion Way, Rockport, MA 01966-1909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range: £82 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Seafarer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A casual, charming home by the sea... The inn featurs a front porch with ocean views and a koi pond surrounded by adarondack chairs on a pebble beach. Plenty of places to sit, relax and watch the boats, breathe in the salt air, and listen to the waves. Every room has an ocean view and private bathroom. Amenities include AC, TV, refrigerator, hair dryer. All but one (Loblolly Cove) room have electric fireplaces. Walk a few steps to historic Straitsmouth Cove, and explore tide pools or relax on the sand by the water. We are happy to lend you a beach chair! Explore beautiful Rockport, a quaint seaside village with lots to see and do. Start by walking Old Garden Path along the ocean to Old Garden Beach and then to the Headlands for an unforgettable view of Sandy Bay. Stroll to charming Bearskin Neck and visit art galleries, quaint shops, restaurants, churches, and historic architecture. Visit the Rockport Art Association and attend a concert at the Shalin Liu Performance Center, home of Rockport Music's world-famous Chamber Music Festival. Whatever you plan on doing during your visit, we hope you stay with us at The Seafarer Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Seafarer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seafarer Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing