We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A special place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Captain's House
Ranked #13 of 25 Rockport B&B and Inns
SW England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A special place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Rockport clearly benefits from many good places to stay, but the Captain's House offers something quite special. We were made to feel welcome and at home in the relaxing atmosphere of the spacious house. Its coastal location was equally good for relaxing as well as for an early morning run or an evening walk into Rockport, about 20mins, with access from Marmion Way to quiet roads that weave onto a coastal path offering good views over Rockport.
We stayed four nights and, because of the way our booking worked out, had no problem with staying in three different rooms (Rooms 4, 1 & 2); in fact it was a delight to experience the individuality of decor of each of the rooms.
The owners are very accomplished in providing an immensely satisfying breakfast for their guests, with an excellent choice and high standard of quality, always paying attention to detail conducive to guests relaxing in a homely atmosphere. Certainly the mix of other guests during our stay allowed the opportunity to dip in and out of informal chat and sharing of travel experiences. It would be lovely to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Overnight2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
80
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

What a great place to stay. Sue and Howard were gracious hosts. Views are amazing and the home oozes charm! Coffee and the breakfast were nice, neat and well presented! Not a bad room in the house. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 505Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

This is a charming house with a wonderful porch and beautiful ocean views. The owners know the area well and are very helpful in providing points of interest and suggestions for local restaurants. The breakfasts were outstanding including the homemade granola, fresh fruit and freshly baked goods. The smell of coffee and baking in the morning is amazing to wake up to. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We had the room with the attached sunroom. We could hear the ocean and the natural light was wonderf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

My wife and I stayed here a couple nights in early November. The property is beautiful, sit's right on the water, views were amazing! Owners were very welcoming and helped us navigate around Rockport as this was our first time visiting. We stayed in Room #1 with the sunroom, couldn't have been happier. Extremely clean and comfortable, you will not be disappointed staying here. If you are looking to get out of the city and relax, this is the place to be!

Troy & Nikki

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Just loved this beautiful old inn right on the Atlantic in Cape Ann. Fell asleep to the sound of crashing waves, and awoke to a front row seat of beautiful sunrises. As an artist , I actively seek out beautiful places to visit where I can not only relax, but paint. This was heaven for me. Gretchen was a lovely and hospitable host, and her continental breakfasts far exceeded the norm. I do hope to be blessed enough to have the opportunity to return!

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globetrotter2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WINCHESTER, MASS
Level Contributor
177 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

Though we only had the opportunity to stay one night at this beautiful old seaside home our memory will be long lasting. Friendly greeting, nicely decorated room,comfy bed, amazing views, wonderful porch overlooking the ocean,chairs at seaside, well maintained grounds and an enjoyable continental breakfast to start the day. Located right next to the ocean we enjoyed the magical sound of waves pounding against the rocks and the sight of seagulls hurrying to some unknown destination. Just a great place to relax and perhaps ponder the mysteries of life.

Room Tip: Room Number One which offers a sunroom with a daybed and chairs is without question the place to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

This was our second trip to Rockport and this was the best choice for us. We loved the setting, right on the Ocean with places to sit,read and relax. Gretchen and Tim made us feel right at home and the dog won over our hearts. Short walks into town or longer walks on the paths were just the thing to unwind . We will go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
2.2 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
4.8 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 25 in Rockport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's House

Property: Captain's House
Address: 69 Marmion Way, Rockport, MA 01966-1928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set directly on a rocky shoreline, our New England Bed and Breakfast Inn will give you that home-away-from-home feeling, with spacious living room with fireplaces, comfortable furnishings and spectacular water views. A continental breakfast is served on the sun porch overlooking the ocean. Each of the five bedrooms and five baths is tastefully decorated. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing