We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic beautiful seaside inn”
Review of Yankee Clipper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yankee Clipper Inn
Ranked #8 of 24 Rockport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed at the Yankee Clipper Inn on a Saturday night in the Flying Cloud Suite. The inn has been theirs since 1946 and apparently JFK and John Lennon have both stayed in this suite quite a few years ago. the room has an aura about it with a king size bed, sunroom, and private patio overlooking the Atlantic. The next morning mike the manager and Paul the young chef served up Belgian waffles, eggs, and bacon made to order with pastries, juice, and typical other breakfast items. the breakfast was good! I have read other review that have been critical of breakfast and I really don't understand there thought. I enjoyed my stay thoroughly and will be back in april.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view can beat the view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to review the Inn. It was a pleasure to meet both of you. Has your wife has a chance to use the waffle recipe yet? I was so happy to provide her the recipe. I hope you get a chance to visit the Yankee Clipper again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

What an awesome and romantic place to stay! Having been there only a few days ago, I still relish the beautiful scenery and the charming interiors of the Inn. Innkeeper Mike is most helpful and very kind and makes most delicious Belgian waffles for breakfast :-). I loved the view from my room on 3rd floor - Mother Ocean and Sunrise in early November without having to step out into the chilly New England morning :-). Marvellous! I will be back .. oh yes.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank AZi9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for reviewing the Inn. I wish every guest had a chance to see the sunrises here at the Yankee Clipper out the 2nd and 3rd floor windows and patios. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

First of all the location of this Inn is very good but is ruined with the state of inside. Our room was unclean - I cleaned the bathroom door and wiped round with a hygienic wipe before use. Bed linen was ripped, when reported was replaced with inferior balled linen. When this was reported to Mike the Manager, he told me his linen was of high thread count cotton sateen, discussion ensued before he agreed to look at issue - wrong way to handle issues in this industry! The so called " extended continental breakfast" was a joke - how he charged what he did is beyond us! Cold boiled eggs , white bread, some cereals, some small muffins and pastries,same strawberries that came out every day ( one was marked so we could tell) tea, coffee and juice -(all self service)
When my husband asked for a cooked breakfast he was told there was no chef during the week but he could cook waffles - not everyone's choice. This place COULD be brilliant if it was spring cleaned properly, bed linen renewed, windows and mirrors cleaned, paintwork painted and the breakfast situation which is usually the highlight of any Inn or B&B addressed. I realised this Inn is owned by someone in Boston and not Mike but you need to provide an excellent service all year and take some pride in your place of work. I suggest Mike goes and stays in some of the Inns mentioned in the Prestige collection.
However, at present we would not recommend this establishment as in all our years of travel this is is the worst ever.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Veyonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The current management of the Yankee Clipper has been on board for approximately two years and 87% of the reviewers have rated the Inn as Excellent or Very Good. Compare this to the top rated property on Cape Ann which has a 92% rating, but has been in the same family for two generations. I have visited the Inn several times these past two years and each time improvements have been witnessed. This positive transformation the past two years at the Yankee Clipper is solely due to its current manager, Mike B. When you factor in Mike B.'s attentiveness and flexibility, the overall Yankee Clipper experience is second to none on Cape Ann. If anyone has a doubt about the rooms, I would suggest that they ask to see them prior to settling in. This is very common practice among European travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This inn was our last stay of a two-week trip and we saved the best for last. We were made to feel right at home by the friendly host at this small inn situated right on the picturesque coast of Rockport. The decor of the rooms takes full advantage of the seagoing ambiance right down to a porthole in our shower overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. A lovely breakfast was served in the morning in the dining room with a great view of the coast line. The inn is located about half a mile from the quaint town of Rockport with lots of shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Request a room on the third floor for great ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

You step in to a little piece of history when you visit the Yankee Clipper Inn. It is a neat old place with lots of charm and amazingly beautiful views! I loved waking up, making a quick cup of Kurig coffee on the landing, and sneaking back to our room to sit on our deck and watch the sun rise over the ocean. Spectacular! My bestie and I thoroughly enjoyed the spacious "Sea Witch" room. A comfortable fold out sofa and queen bed, we both had plenty of room for our travel gear and our endless shopping bags from the surrounding areas. The breakfast was awesome! Fresh fruit, yogurt, waffles and bacon, just what us girls needed before hitting the shops and seeing some sites. All of the staff were very friendly and treated us as true guests and friends. I hope to stay here again soon!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank 240Girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We visited the Yankee Clipper on October 26th-28th.We were visiting our daughter and her family who relocated to Cape Ann this year for business. We had a lovely room, our views were amazing. Our suite was spacious and allowed room for our grand- daughters to join us for an evening. The grounds were extensive with a gazebo we could sit in and watch the waves roll in! The large window in our room gave us an amazing view of the sun rise. We had the made to order waffle as recommended by Mike the owner one day and eggs with bacon and assorted pastry on the other days. The inn had a coffee station set up 24 hours a day including herbal teas, hot chocolate and flavored coffees all included in the room fee. The staff was very helpful with restaurant suggestions even calling ahead to confirm hours due to seasonal changes. The housekeeping staff was great they even checked on us mid-day were they realized the girls would be joining us offering extra towels and bringing the girls Champagne glasses for their sodas! The atmosphere was comfortable and welcoming and we appreciate all the extra attention the staff gave us! We are sad our stay was so short and are booking a longer one this summer!

Room Tip: WE booked with Mike over the phone, he directed us to the website and provided suggestions based on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Proudgrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.5 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
547 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
339 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
410 reviews
4.9 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
243 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yankee Clipper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Clipper Inn

Address: 127 Granite St, P.O. Box 2399, Rockport, MA 01966-1245
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range: £117 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yankee Clipper Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yankee Clipper Inn is a 1929 art deco mansion that sits on a rocky bluff overlooking the Atlantic Ocean in Rockport, MA. The inn is conveniently located 35 miles north of Boston. There are 15 guest rooms, 8 in the main inn and 7 rooms in our historic Bulfinch House across the street from the main inn as well as a ocean front function room. Most of the guest rooms provide spectacular ocean views. Famous celebrities such as JFK, John Lennon, Paul Newman, Bette Davis, and countless others have been guests at the Inn. The Yankee Clipper Inn has won countless awards over the years. Arrington's Bed and Breakfast Journal has voted the Yankee Clipper Inn as "The best inn on the eastern seaboard," "One of the best inns in the country," and "Most panoramic ocean views." Boston Magazine named the Yankee Clipper Inn "Best Nearby Escape." The inn has been featured in Country Living Magazine and on The Country Inns television program. The Yankee Clipper Inn continues to be an award-winning establishment. In 2012, the Inn won the Editor's choice award for Best Bed and Breakfast in North Shore Magazine August 2012 Best of Issue. Spacious, manicured grounds and flowered gardens surround this great Rockport inn. Guests can sit and relax on our oceanfront patio or spend a quiet moment in the oceanfront gazebo, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and the town of Rockport. A salt water pool is located on the property for guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Yankee Clipper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Clipper Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing