We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Romantic Weekend Retreat”
Review of Yankee Clipper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yankee Clipper Inn
Ranked #8 of 25 Rockport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Romantic Weekend Retreat”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We purchased a Groupon deal and stayed two nights in February. The room was cute and cozy and the hotel manager (Mike) was very helpful. During our stay, there was a major water issue in the one unoccupied room that flooded the downstairs and caused us to be without water for a few hours- but it caused us to bond with the other hotel guests and added to the fun of the trip.

Rockport is an ideal vacation destination and we would definitely return to the Yankee Clipper Inn. The view from the property is beautiful!

If you go, make advanced reservations for dinner at Duckworth's in Gloucester. It was one of the best meals I have ever had.

Room Tip: Our room had separate shower and toilet areas. Normally, this would be fine, but in this case the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review the Yankee Clipper on Trip Advisor. It was an interesting weekend when you stayed with us with the broken water pipe. The group of guests was really nice and patient and I appreciated it. I hope you a get a chance to return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    53
    9
    12
    8
See reviews for
37
139
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We had the pleasure of visiting rockport for a romantic weekend and stayed at The Yankee Clipper Inn. what a beautiful property with a gazebo awesome ocean views and the weather was great! We stayed in the Lightening room which is a small room on the second floor with a stand up shower and separate area. With sink and toilet. Mike the manager explained to us that the room was a kids bedroom in the old mansion. Despite reviews of guests that didn't like the size of the room we loved it! it had wood flooring, a huge tv, and enough space for a couple to feel cozy on a cold winters night. The price was right and the inn had a great breakfast with scrambled eggs , bacon, Belgian waffles, and many choices of bagels and muffins. mike was a great host and I have already booked to go back in May

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank james G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you taking the time to review the Inn on trip advisor. I'm glad you like out standard room Lightening so much. It is somewhat small but has real charm. I hope you get a chance to visit again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batesville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

November is the perfect time to stay here. We had the entire top floor to ourselves, thus had the entire top balcony to ourselves. Some people may consider the old in rundown, but we did not. We saw it as being nostalgic and beautiful. It was the perfect New England escape. The breakfast was very good and made to order because we were the only ones in the dining room at that time. It was so nice and peaceful. I would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Something on the very top
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teacheroftigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us, the Yankee Clipper is 85 years old and there is certainly lots of nostalgia here. We have a great made to order breakfast for all of our guests featuring eggs. bacon. and made to order Belgian Waffles besides you get to enjoy breakfast looking out ocean side directly over the beautiful Atlantic and downtown Rockport! I am glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you have a chance to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We have stayed here twice. Our first visit in November we stayed in Ariel. We enjoyed the inn's location (close to my parents), and had taken a liking to Mike, the manager as he had been very helpful to us in locating a restaurant that could provide dinner delivery for my ailing parents.

At the end of December, we needed to return to Rockport and called Mike to see if we could get a room at the lat minute.

Mike offered us a choice of two rooms. We asked him to recommend one of the two and he recommended Sea Witch. The price he quoted us was about $40 a day more than if we booked online, but we did not want to quibble, and booked our room with him on the phone.

When we arrived we were initially disappointed to discover that Sea Witch was nowhere near as well maintained as Ariel. The paint was peeling in the bath and the linens were... well, just not standard hotel linens. Instead of crisp white sheets, they were well worn green cotton sheets with some pilling. My wife found the comforter and blanket so "well worn" that we ended up purchasing a new one at Shaw's.

But what really upset us was the construction going on next door. They were drilling into the granite cliffs and blasting no more than a hundred feet from the room and at the same level as the room.

Mike had not warned of this in any way when we booked. We felt betrayed. We could not imagine how he could have booked us into that room - at full rates - without even a warning to us that we might be disturbed by the construction that started at 8 in the morning and went on all day every one of the days that we stayed there.

We were so upset by this that we did not even want to discuss it with him. We wanted to cool off before even thinking about having a talk.

But things got worse. While my wife was having breakfast, Mike came to the table and started a discussion. Now this is a nice enough gesture, and part of why we had taken a liking to him in the first place. However while he was talking to her, he reached up under his shirt and scratched his belly. My wife was quite upset at this.

We were very disappointed that what had started out as a good relationship in November turned sour so quickly in December.

Some might say that we should have voiced our dissatisfaction to management while we were there. We feel that it is not our responsibility to ensure that we get service and value that delights us.

It is the hotel's job to ensure that are delighted with the service and value. If we are dissatisfied and take the time to discuss that with management, we are doing them a favour.

The reason why we did not do the Yankee Clipper Inn management the favour of discussing our dissatisfaction is because as I said before, we felt betrayed by having been charged full rates for a room that we considered sub-standard in every way.

To summarize:
1) We made a visit in November, enjoyed the location, room (Ariel) and the management.
2) We returned in December to a more expensive room than Ariel, found it in worse repair, and with a tremendous nuisance factor of construction taking place next door. (see photos below taken Jan 30th as construction continues).
3) We felt betrayed by the fact that no warning was given to us when we booked that the construction noise would be a nuisance.
4) We feel that some of the manager's behaviour was unprofessional
5) We do not feel like it is our responsibility to give anyone a second chance. Second chances are earned, not owed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the East side are less likely to experience unpleasant noise from the basting and construct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wassermana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Almost 50 years ago, after we were first married, my husband and I stayed at the Yankee Clipper Inn of Rockport. We treasured our time spent there and were always determined to return. Time passes and, somehow, after 50 years we still hadn't made it back. Our five daughters decided it was time and bought us a gift certificate for our 50th Anniversary. This time, our stay at the Yankee Clipper Inn was just as cherished!! The views are spectacular, to say the least! And that's just the outside. Inside, the rooms and decor ooze charm and elegance. Unfortunately, they just don't make inns like this anymore. The beautiful woodwork, the thought and care put forth into each room's decor, the food, the personal attention...these details can only be found at an inn the caliber of Yankee Clipper.

We thank you, Mike, for our making this stay just as memorable and special as our last stay. Your personal touches put the icing on our cake! Rockport is a gem of a destination and the Yankee Clipper is the perfect spot for soaking in the town. And Mike, you are truly the best!!!!

It will not take us 50 years to return next time.

With fond memories & happy hearts, Sandy & Frank -- Hermitage, PA

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineM1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay! Please don't make it 50 more years before you return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at this establishment. From start to finish it was a disaster. There currently is major construction occurring on the adjacent property. Don't expect to have a quiet morning as the work starts promptly at 8 in the morning. Between the heavy machinery and the dynamite......I believe that tells that story.(Please note that at no point when booking the hotel with the management direct were we informed that this construction was occurring.) The accommodations are very, very rundown. The bedding is old and worn. The bathroom was run down with the paint peeling off the ceiling. The curtains in the room were threadbare with holes. Having stayed at many B&B's over the years we were truly disappointed given the price that we paid. If you are expecting a charming B&B you will not find it here. Truly do NOT recommend this place. NOT worth the money!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crash29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to review us and I'm very sorry that the work on the property next door disturbed your stay, However maybe you could of mentioned that during your 4 night stay in December 2013 rather then writing a review essentially 45 days later. Other than one night during your stay you could of requested a room change and mentioned any of the numerous issues you claim to unsatisfactory in your room. You elected not to even though I checked with you daily on how your stay was! The true facts are as followed:

1. This was your second visit to the inn (stayed in November 2013 and you were so happy after the 1st visit, you actually brought the staff a gift with you from Canada. Why if you were so bitterly unhappy did you stay a 2nd time just one month later?

2. The service you received was much better than reviewed! Your first trip the staff and I spent 2-3 hours helping you with logistics with family and getting them prepared for Christmas and the staff made recommendations of food delivery options and other items.

3. Housekeeping did a favorable job on your room. The bedding package and cleanliness were very good. You fail to mention that my housekeeper almost got stuck by your hypo-dermic needles and had to clean up your blood in the bathroom due to your unsafety and uncleanliness with your sharps!

The true facts are that if you mentioned anything to any member of the staff who you knew well from the amount of time you spent with us, any or all of us this could of been rectified besides the construction noise. So truthfully your complaint is about the construction which hasn't occurred since January 3, 2014. I am truly sorry about that but the Inn doesn't control what happens outside the inn and if you were this unhappy we could of relocated you somewhere else. Again, thanks for the review however full of inaccurate information it is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

It was snowing when we arrived, and the snowdrift covering the beach, gazebo and rocks was beautiful. Easy to warm up with tea and coffee from the Keurig and nap on the comfortable bed with warm blankets. Breakfast is great, and Mike is a very accommodating host. They have a space heater in case the dining room - a wall of lovely windows - gets a bit chillier. Definitely a wonderful escape close to Boston.

Room Tip: The Groupon rate covers a Standard Room without an ocean view. But it was a nice, comfortable room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. I hope the two of you get a chance to return real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
515 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
324 reviews
4.5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
191 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
1.5 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 25 in Rockport
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yankee Clipper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Clipper Inn

Property: Yankee Clipper Inn
Address: 127 Granite St, P.O. Box 2399, Rockport, MA 01966-1245
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yankee Clipper Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yankee Clipper Inn is a 1929 art deco mansion that sits on a rocky bluff overlooking the Atlantic Ocean in Rockport, MA. The inn is conveniently located 35 miles north of Boston. There are 15 guest rooms, 8 in the main inn and 7 rooms in our historic Bulfinch House across the street from the main inn as well as a ocean front function room. Most of the guest rooms provide spectacular ocean views. Famous celebrities such as JFK, John Lennon, Paul Newman, Bette Davis, and countless others have been guests at the Inn. The Yankee Clipper Inn has won countless awards over the years. Arrington's Bed and Breakfast Journal has voted the Yankee Clipper Inn as "The best inn on the eastern seaboard," "One of the best inns in the country," and "Most panoramic ocean views." Boston Magazine named the Yankee Clipper Inn "Best Nearby Escape." The inn has been featured in Country Living Magazine and on The Country Inns television program. The Yankee Clipper Inn continues to be an award-winning establishment. In 2012, the Inn won the Editor's choice award for Best Bed and Breakfast in North Shore Magazine August 2012 Best of Issue. Spacious, manicured grounds and flowered gardens surround this great Rockport inn. Guests can sit and relax on our oceanfront patio or spend a quiet moment in the oceanfront gazebo, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and the town of Rockport. A salt water pool is located on the property for guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Yankee Clipper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Clipper Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing