We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy overnight from Boston”
Review of Yankee Clipper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yankee Clipper Inn
Ranked #8 of 24 Rockport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Yankee Clipper Inn a few weekends ago for a quick trip out of the city. The atmosphere in Rockport, Gloucester and at the Inn is very relaxing and well worth it! We had a great stay in a room with a really nice ocean view that felt secluded. The amenities were very nice, comfortable and cozy. Mike was very welcoming and helpful. I would definitely recommend the Yankee Clipper Inn for your next trip to this area!

Room Tip: Since it was our second stay, I know that the JFK room is really nice. Any room with windows to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review us here on Trip Advisor. I hope you get a chance to stay in Flying Cloud your next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just returned from a wonderful night at the Yankee Clipper in with my wife. We wanted to get out of the city and we have stayed here before and loved it! After an early dinner at Duckworth Bistro in Gloucester (Best spot in Cape Ann area) we headed to the Inn to relax, watch some March Madness and listen to the waves crash on to the shore. The views and scenery is amazing. It almost feels like you are on a private island. The room was very clean and updated it had a bigger flat screen TV (with cable) than I have at home. In the morning we were served a fantastic breakfast and coffee to fuel us up before we took the short walk into town to check out the shops. Overall, the location, staff, and history of the building make the Clipper a must stay on Cape Ann. You gotta love Rockport and the Yankee Clipper Inn.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Eamon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review the Inn. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your second stay with us as much as your first. Rockport is just starting to open for season and the spring is definitely starting.. The nice breakfast with made to order Belgian Waffles and scrambled eggs definitely helps our guests get ready and go explore! The staff and I look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the inn in February and had a great room on the 3rd floor with an ocean view. It was a wonderful feeling to wake up to the sunrise over the water. Mike the manager was very helpful and we had a delightful time talking with him while enjoying the breakfast he served us. Initially I had asked if an early check-in was possible but I was told that he would have to call me that day, which he did. We were already in Rockport wandering around the town so I missed his call, which was okay. I would definitely recommend the inn. We also purchased a Groupon deal for our stay.

Room Tip: If you go in the warmer weather be sure to ask if construction on the property next door has started...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minniefromma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review the Inn. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay Rockport is just starting to open for season and the spring is definitely starting.. The staff and I look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this inn. Due to construction next door, Mike offered a complimentary upgrade to a great room with ocean view. Much appreciated!

Make sure you have the waffles in the morning for a delicious start of the day. Also, Mike's recommendations for restaurants in the area were spot on. Thanks!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michael v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review the Inn. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the our nice breakfast with made to order Belgian Waffles and scrambled eggs! I hope you get a chance to come back and see us real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We purchased a Groupon deal and stayed two nights in February. The room was cute and cozy and the hotel manager (Mike) was very helpful. During our stay, there was a major water issue in the one unoccupied room that flooded the downstairs and caused us to be without water for a few hours- but it caused us to bond with the other hotel guests and added to the fun of the trip.

Rockport is an ideal vacation destination and we would definitely return to the Yankee Clipper Inn. The view from the property is beautiful!

If you go, make advanced reservations for dinner at Duckworth's in Gloucester. It was one of the best meals I have ever had.

Room Tip: Our room had separate shower and toilet areas. Normally, this would be fine, but in this case the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelsea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review the Yankee Clipper on Trip Advisor. It was an interesting weekend when you stayed with us with the broken water pipe. The group of guests was really nice and patient and I appreciated it. I hope you a get a chance to return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had the pleasure of visiting rockport for a romantic weekend and stayed at The Yankee Clipper Inn. what a beautiful property with a gazebo awesome ocean views and the weather was great! We stayed in the Lightening room which is a small room on the second floor with a stand up shower and separate area. With sink and toilet. Mike the manager explained to us that the room was a kids bedroom in the old mansion. Despite reviews of guests that didn't like the size of the room we loved it! it had wood flooring, a huge tv, and enough space for a couple to feel cozy on a cold winters night. The price was right and the inn had a great breakfast with scrambled eggs , bacon, Belgian waffles, and many choices of bagels and muffins. mike was a great host and I have already booked to go back in May

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank james G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you taking the time to review the Inn on trip advisor. I'm glad you like out standard room Lightening so much. It is somewhat small but has real charm. I hope you get a chance to visit again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

November is the perfect time to stay here. We had the entire top floor to ourselves, thus had the entire top balcony to ourselves. Some people may consider the old in rundown, but we did not. We saw it as being nostalgic and beautiful. It was the perfect New England escape. The breakfast was very good and made to order because we were the only ones in the dining room at that time. It was so nice and peaceful. I would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Something on the very top
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teacheroftigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us, the Yankee Clipper is 85 years old and there is certainly lots of nostalgia here. We have a great made to order breakfast for all of our guests featuring eggs. bacon. and made to order Belgian Waffles besides you get to enjoy breakfast looking out ocean side directly over the beautiful Atlantic and downtown Rockport! I am glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you have a chance to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.5 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
547 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
340 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
246 reviews
4.5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
413 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yankee Clipper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Clipper Inn

Address: 127 Granite St, P.O. Box 2399, Rockport, MA 01966-1245
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range: £117 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yankee Clipper Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yankee Clipper Inn is a 1929 art deco mansion that sits on a rocky bluff overlooking the Atlantic Ocean in Rockport, MA. The inn is conveniently located 35 miles north of Boston. There are 15 guest rooms, 8 in the main inn and 7 rooms in our historic Bulfinch House across the street from the main inn as well as a ocean front function room. Most of the guest rooms provide spectacular ocean views. Famous celebrities such as JFK, John Lennon, Paul Newman, Bette Davis, and countless others have been guests at the Inn. The Yankee Clipper Inn has won countless awards over the years. Arrington's Bed and Breakfast Journal has voted the Yankee Clipper Inn as "The best inn on the eastern seaboard," "One of the best inns in the country," and "Most panoramic ocean views." Boston Magazine named the Yankee Clipper Inn "Best Nearby Escape." The inn has been featured in Country Living Magazine and on The Country Inns television program. The Yankee Clipper Inn continues to be an award-winning establishment. In 2012, the Inn won the Editor's choice award for Best Bed and Breakfast in North Shore Magazine August 2012 Best of Issue. Spacious, manicured grounds and flowered gardens surround this great Rockport inn. Guests can sit and relax on our oceanfront patio or spend a quiet moment in the oceanfront gazebo, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and the town of Rockport. A salt water pool is located on the property for guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Yankee Clipper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Clipper Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing