We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Home”
Review of Yankee Clipper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yankee Clipper Inn
Ranked #8 of 24 Rockport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa City, Iowa
2 reviews
“Welcome Home”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Every year in April or early May, we travel from Iowa to spend a week at the Yankee Clipper. We go during the off-season because it's quiet - and because we usually have the house to ourselves (except on weekends). We always stay in the the Flying Cloud room, which has a small enclosed porch looking east to the Atlantic and south to Rockport. The porch alone makes the trip worthwhile. The day starts with an uninterrupted view of the sunrise - and ends with the blinking of the Straightsmouth Island Lighthouse marking the entrance to Rockport harbor. There is a coffee/tea maker just outside the room, and so much of our day is taken up sitting on the porch, cup of tea in one hand and a book in the other, reading and intermittently gazing out on the Atlantic. Yes, there is a flat screen TV (which we've never turned on) and wireless (which we do use). And then, when weather permits, there is the pleasure of a good cigar smoked sitting on a bench outside on the rocks overlooking the sea while watching the lobster boats haul in their traps. When we feel more ambitious, we take the 1 mile walk into Rockport, past some 150 year old homes along the waterfront. Rockport (and Bearskin Neck) are oddly more enjoyable during this quiet time; the owners seem more friendly and less harried (although not everything is open). And don't miss Roy Moore's Fish Shack - best fried fish on the planet (and we've tried every place from Ipswich to Gloucester).
This year, when we walked in the front door, Mike (the manager) just said "welcome home" and that was exactly how we felt. Home again. The Yankee Clipper is the perfect bed and breakfast. It's a big, rambling house with lots of old wood, high ceilings and extraordinary character. Yes, there are a few creaks and bumps but it exudes warmth and quiet comfort. Mike is simply priceless. He may only be "a manager" - but this is HIS house and you are HIS guests and everything he does reflects this attitude (and he makes a mean Belgian waffle!).
We are already looking forward to next year.

Mike and Linda Todd

Room Tip: Anything with windows on the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review the inn. I enjoy very much your yearly visit to the Yankee Clipper and always look forward to seeing you both and catching up. I'm glad you had a great time again this year and hope to see you next April.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    53
    10
    12
    8
See reviews for
38
140
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My family and I stayed at the Yankee Clipper Inn during a weekend in March. We really enjoyed our stay. Our room (Ariel) was very relaxing. We enjoyed the views from the room and the surrounding area. Mike, the innkeeper, was super nice and super helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SC070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your stay and taking the time to review the inn on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and I truly hope you get a chance to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The views were fantastic an the location was great. The gentleman who runs the inn (I think his name was Mike) was really friendly and nice, but didn't quite know when to stop. He also was really pushing us to do a tripadvisor review, which is super counter productive. The waffles were fantastic, but the rest of the breakfast was clearly pre-made and reheated. We got an upgrade to our room since we were so off-season, which was really nice, and the bed was glorious, but the rest of the room was just okay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your room and view. I apologize if you felt my conversation with you was over the top or too much! The hot part of the breakfast consisting of scrambled eggs, bacon, and Belgian Waffles are made fresh to order. To say I am proud of the product, service, and place that I live in would be an understatement!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We booked 5 of the 8 rooms at the Yankee Clipper and could not have made a better decision. It was like spending the weekend at home. The rooms were spacious and all had beautiful views of the ocean. We congregated down in the breakfast and living area as if it was our own home. Mike, the caretaker could not have been more hospitable. He made great recommendations for meals and outings. Rockport was absolutely beautiful and we took a trip into Salem which was and easy drive for the day. It was a great weekend...everything I expected and more!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to tell the trip advisor world about your group stay. It was wonderful to work with and meet your group and by the end of the stay feel like old friends. I hope you get a chance to come back and visit Salem and the Yankee Clipper again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The Yankee Clipper is such an amazing place to stay. When we arrived we were welcomed by the most friendly sincere man Mike. He was so welcoming and informative about the Inn and surrounding areas as well as restaurants. The house is situated right on the water and had amazing views. The breakfast had so much to offer and was served in such a personalized manor. I just can't say enough about the Yankee Clipper and Mike. What a lovely experience!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mllutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
I am so glad you had a chance to stay with us here at the Yankee Clipper. Thanks for the nice statements. My staff and I try to treat every guest like we would want to be treated and I have a wonderful staff. I hope you get a chance to visit the North Shore again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We wanted to get away from the city and stay in a quiet place by the ocean for the weekend. This was the perfect spot. When I booked the room I didn't realize that there was an incredible large sunroom with the most beautiful view of the ocean. There was a comfortable day bed, tables, rocking chairs, lamps, and enough room to create a relaxed space. It was very peaceful and quiet and the only thing we heard was the ocean lulling us to sleep and the birds singing with the sunrise. For lunch we drove five minutes into the center of Rockport, got fresh seafood for take out, and returned to our room to eat it on the porch that connected to the sunroom. This was another pleasant surprise. It was secluded, relaxing, and private: exactly what we wanted! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank Jasanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thanks for reviewing the Inn. I am glad you enjoyed your stay so much and the staff and I very much look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Yankee Clipper Inn a few weekends ago for a quick trip out of the city. The atmosphere in Rockport, Gloucester and at the Inn is very relaxing and well worth it! We had a great stay in a room with a really nice ocean view that felt secluded. The amenities were very nice, comfortable and cozy. Mike was very welcoming and helpful. I would definitely recommend the Yankee Clipper Inn for your next trip to this area!

Room Tip: Since it was our second stay, I know that the JFK room is really nice. Any room with windows to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, General Manager at Yankee Clipper Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us here on Trip Advisor. I hope you get a chance to stay in Flying Cloud your next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
326 reviews
4.5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
203 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
1.5 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 24 in Rockport
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yankee Clipper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Clipper Inn

Property: Yankee Clipper Inn
Address: 127 Granite St, P.O. Box 2399, Rockport, MA 01966-1245
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yankee Clipper Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yankee Clipper Inn is a 1929 art deco mansion that sits on a rocky bluff overlooking the Atlantic Ocean in Rockport, MA. The inn is conveniently located 35 miles north of Boston. There are 15 guest rooms, 8 in the main inn and 7 rooms in our historic Bulfinch House across the street from the main inn as well as a ocean front function room. Most of the guest rooms provide spectacular ocean views. Famous celebrities such as JFK, John Lennon, Paul Newman, Bette Davis, and countless others have been guests at the Inn. The Yankee Clipper Inn has won countless awards over the years. Arrington's Bed and Breakfast Journal has voted the Yankee Clipper Inn as "The best inn on the eastern seaboard," "One of the best inns in the country," and "Most panoramic ocean views." Boston Magazine named the Yankee Clipper Inn "Best Nearby Escape." The inn has been featured in Country Living Magazine and on The Country Inns television program. The Yankee Clipper Inn continues to be an award-winning establishment. In 2012, the Inn won the Editor's choice award for Best Bed and Breakfast in North Shore Magazine August 2012 Best of Issue. Spacious, manicured grounds and flowered gardens surround this great Rockport inn. Guests can sit and relax on our oceanfront patio or spend a quiet moment in the oceanfront gazebo, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and the town of Rockport. A salt water pool is located on the property for guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Yankee Clipper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Clipper Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing