We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dog on Bearskin Neck”
Review of Top Dog

Top Dog
Ranked #5 of 53 Restaurants in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Rockport, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best dog on Bearskin Neck”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great spot to stop and get a hotdog with whatever kind of topping you want on it. We love to walk Bearskin Neck with our dog, so we can order and then sit outside with him. They also have a fantastic lobster roll. One of the best on Cape Ann.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank amt1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    62
    15
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

What's a cool little place on "the neck"! Not a big place but great character and a must try if you are in Rockport. Great hot dogs (dress your own or pick from cool options on the menu) and fried clams.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jcaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not there”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I wanted to try this location, but as I was arriving, the owner / operator was leaving after serving 6 people, and was going to be away for 'about 30 minutes'. Not going to wait that long for a hot dog!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callicoon, New York
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Dogs and”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

seafood. Great combination. And the clam chowder was one of the best I ever had. Not a five because it's small and a wait even after you order. Two people in front of me (they were friends)--one ordered mac and cheese and the other a plain dog. Mac and cheese took 20 min+ and the dog another 10 min. Seemed to me that when the Mac was ready just give the other girl a dog.
Dogs not as good as Nathan's in Coney Island, NY but still pretty good. Go and enjoy.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UnklLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fried clams to die for.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Even if you didn't know you loved fried clams, get them. Watch them being made right in front of you. Eat them while they are hot. Wash them down with some local beer or cool white wine. You will dream about them because they are THAT good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Abby0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Top Dog also viewed

 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Top Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing