We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Friendly”
Review of Linden Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Linden Tree Inn
Ranked #13 of 25 Rockport B&B and Inns
North East Kingdom, Vermont
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Friendly”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Our stay at the Linden Tree was brief, only two nights. We found the owner pleasant and helpful with information about the area. The relaxed atmosphere is just what I enjoy in a B&B. The main house where we were located was pretty much full, but when we were in our room it was quiet so a restful night was no problem. The only downer was the pillows. I prefer down and these were a rather firm foam.
Breakfast was perfectly cooked to order, however it did not start until 8:00. We are early risers, so waiting for my coffee was a little difficult.
All in all I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vermontsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    21
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
36
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
176 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We had stayed at another inn in the area the night before and the Linden Tree Inn was a hug upgrade. The king size bed was firm and comfortable. Because I was going to a road race (the Cape Ann 25k) we missed breakfast but the owners repeatedly offered me and my wife food as they let me duck in well after chevkout to grab a quick shower, outstanding!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jposterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
temple city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Yes, we had a wonderful visit last October, so that I could use the Sandy Bay Historical Library. Now I want to come again this October. I need to see about staying on two Sundays. I will be working in Gloucester and Boston also.
Our visit was outstanding. We even got cookies to take on the road! Breakfast was scrumptious. Both owners were friendly and made you feel so welcome and helped us in many ways. That was my first visit to the area of my father's birth, and I must say I was taken with the LInden Tree. The train is within walking distance- really convenient and only a few steps from the museum.

Room Tip: An ideal spot for seeing Rockport- convenient to the train. We did not even need a car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 74pollyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed at this bed and breakfast for two nights. The room was very nice. Breakfast was great with made to order eggs and of course to die for scones!! They were worth the wait.
Very close to Rockport and to the beach. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Linden Tree Inn is a beautiful old home in the heart of Rockport. The rooms are large, airy and very comfortable. Breakfasts were great - if a tad unvarying; offering essentially the same menu each morning - but always well prepared and exactly to our liking. Tobey's scones are incredibly good!!
John is always ready with a good story, lots of great advice on places to go and what to see. Tobey is just a sweetheart.
We both felt very welcome and very much at home.
Highly recommended...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SharonPMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This is a great place to stay in Rockport. The rooms we had were good sized, bright, cheery and very clean. Beds were super comfy! Short walking distance to the town and beach, however the beaches in town are very small. Nice deck in front that you can sit and relax in. And of course no review would be complete without saying that Tobey makes great scones and cookies! There is always something to eat no matter what time it is. Thanks Tobey and John for a wonderful family weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms 21 and 22 were great and were right next to each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cocolab160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matawan, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Nice charming place to stay midway on an gentle uphill street and away from the noise and traffic of main drag. The place is quiet, spacious with plenty of free parking – I mean on premises parking not off the street or in a paid parking lot.

Tobey’s scones are in a class by itself . They are sooooooo good that it’s worthy to be patentized and marketed as a signature brand. Incorporation and IPO should be coming next.

The Mill Pond/Brook parks close by are worth a stroll and light walk in early morning (while still shrouded in the fog and before the mist burn off). A picture perfect landscape and serenity that inspire artist.

We had a very enjoyable stay here overthe Memorial Day weekend and just off attending a commencement ceremony in Boston. I would strongly recommend this place for anyone who does not want to stay at just run-of-the-mill resorts or the most- convenient places just off the drag. One suggestion: maybe it’s time to change some dated area rugs and runners.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank felixc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tobeyvl, Owner at Linden Tree Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
Thank you Felixc88 for the thoughtful review. We enjoyed having you and your wife stay with us. We have a program in place to always improve the experience of our guests.

Tobey and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
4.0 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 25 in Rockport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seven South Street Inn
Seven South Street Inn
#2 of 25 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tuck Inn B&B
The Tuck Inn B&B
#5 of 25 in Rockport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Tree Inn

Property: Linden Tree Inn
Address: 26 King St, Rockport, MA 01966-1444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 1850 Victorian Bed & Breakfast Inn with 12 guest rooms in the main house, all individually decorated, all our rooms have private baths, located just 800 feet from the beach, restaurants, and over 100 unique shops. The Linden Tree has been in continuous use as an inn since the 1920's. Our Carriage House features 4 large modern rooms with small efficiency kitchenettes. Located just one hour from Boston by car or train. Enjoy our full breakfast with Tobey's famous scones. We are a non-smoking inn for your comfort. Experience for yourself our Anglo-American hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Linden Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing