We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MEETING, GREETING AND EATING”
Review of Linden Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Linden Tree Inn
Ranked #13 of 25 Rockport B&B and Inns
Leigh-on-Sea
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“MEETING, GREETING AND EATING”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We have rarely, if ever, been disappointed when staying in B & Bs in the United States - and this time was no exception. Coming from the UK for a return visit to Boston and New England, we chose to visit Rockport and were impressed by the reviews oft the Linden Tree.

We had the chance to talk to people in comfortable surroundings, enjoy a tasty breakfast on both days - plenty of it - and were made to feel very welcome by John and Tobey. There was coffee available well before the appointed time for breakfast and our long conversations with John - a Brit who came here several years ago - helped to make this a relaxing and interesting stay.

In mid-October, the Linden Tree were coming near the end of the season but were still getting plenty of visitors - a sign that discerning travellers know what makes a good B & B. We may not be back - but we won't forget Rockport, Tobey and John.

Room Tip: A walk into Rockport is not too far - so leave the car behind and enjoy the stroll.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DSandPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    21
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
36
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Linden Tree Inn is a charming homey place to stay, conveniently located two blocks from "downtown" Rockport and three blocks from the commuter rail station. The latter allows day trips to Salem and Boston without the hassle of driving. John and Tobey are wonderful hosts, always helpful and endless sources of interesting stories. The breakfasts are delicious and bountiful, but Tobey's scones – which come in many varieties – will destroy any resolve you have to limit your calories. We look forward to returning both to Linden Tree Inn and to Rockport.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was excellent as were those we saw while exploring the building. All of the gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heh4628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East Kingdom, Vermont
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Our stay at the Linden Tree was brief, only two nights. We found the owner pleasant and helpful with information about the area. The relaxed atmosphere is just what I enjoy in a B&B. The main house where we were located was pretty much full, but when we were in our room it was quiet so a restful night was no problem. The only downer was the pillows. I prefer down and these were a rather firm foam.
Breakfast was perfectly cooked to order, however it did not start until 8:00. We are early risers, so waiting for my coffee was a little difficult.
All in all I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vermontsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
176 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We had stayed at another inn in the area the night before and the Linden Tree Inn was a hug upgrade. The king size bed was firm and comfortable. Because I was going to a road race (the Cape Ann 25k) we missed breakfast but the owners repeatedly offered me and my wife food as they let me duck in well after chevkout to grab a quick shower, outstanding!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jposterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
temple city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Yes, we had a wonderful visit last October, so that I could use the Sandy Bay Historical Library. Now I want to come again this October. I need to see about staying on two Sundays. I will be working in Gloucester and Boston also.
Our visit was outstanding. We even got cookies to take on the road! Breakfast was scrumptious. Both owners were friendly and made you feel so welcome and helped us in many ways. That was my first visit to the area of my father's birth, and I must say I was taken with the LInden Tree. The train is within walking distance- really convenient and only a few steps from the museum.

Room Tip: An ideal spot for seeing Rockport- convenient to the train. We did not even need a car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 74pollyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed at this bed and breakfast for two nights. The room was very nice. Breakfast was great with made to order eggs and of course to die for scones!! They were worth the wait.
Very close to Rockport and to the beach. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Linden Tree Inn is a beautiful old home in the heart of Rockport. The rooms are large, airy and very comfortable. Breakfasts were great - if a tad unvarying; offering essentially the same menu each morning - but always well prepared and exactly to our liking. Tobey's scones are incredibly good!!
John is always ready with a good story, lots of great advice on places to go and what to see. Tobey is just a sweetheart.
We both felt very welcome and very much at home.
Highly recommended...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SharonPMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
0.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
4.0 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 25 in Rockport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seven South Street Inn
Seven South Street Inn
#2 of 25 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tuck Inn B&B
The Tuck Inn B&B
#5 of 25 in Rockport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Tree Inn

Property: Linden Tree Inn
Address: 26 King St, Rockport, MA 01966-1444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 1850 Victorian Bed & Breakfast Inn with 12 guest rooms in the main house, all individually decorated, all our rooms have private baths, located just 800 feet from the beach, restaurants, and over 100 unique shops. The Linden Tree has been in continuous use as an inn since the 1920's. Our Carriage House features 4 large modern rooms with small efficiency kitchenettes. Located just one hour from Boston by car or train. Enjoy our full breakfast with Tobey's famous scones. We are a non-smoking inn for your comfort. Experience for yourself our Anglo-American hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Linden Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing