We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, peaceful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maple House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Rowe B&B and Inns
Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, peaceful setting”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Maple House is a quiet, picturesque B&B. Becky is very helpful in recommending places to eat, attractions and giving directions for the best way to get to a particular destination. We found her information very valuable in making each day fun and care-free. Her breakfasts are delicious, nutritious and filling.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJWRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I echo the positive reviews on Tripadvisor. The hosts, Becky and Mike, were accommodating and refreshingly laid-back. The breakfasts were imaginative, tasty, hearty and filling - a wonderful start to the day. This B&B is charming, comfortable and simple. It's like staying at a nice farm (which it is) without having to do any chores. I was attending a conference at Rowe Camp, so didn't have the time and opportunity to take advantage of the grounds at Maple House, but wish I had been able to explore them. I very much recommend the Maple House Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 513555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

My adult daughters and I spent three nights at Maple House B&B as part of a week-long visit to northwest Massachusetts and the Berkshires. Maple House was an excellent choice. It's a comfortable, rambling farm house on a quiet country road. The breakfasts were outstanding! The sleeping rooms are simple and cozy, and guests enjoy a comfortable sitting room, screened porch, and beautiful rolling yard. Host Rebecca Bradley is most knowledgeable about the region, and she's prepared binders full of helpful information about local attractions. The Rowe town park is a real plus; we enjoyed a morning of kayaking on the lake, and came back at night for a bonfire. The park is a 15-minute walk or 5-minute drive from Maple House, and its facilities are free for b&b guests. One piece of advice -- the B&B is truly in the country, and the nearest restaurant and grocery store are at least 30 minutes away. So be prepared for a drive when you need provisions. Rebecca provides a refrigerator for guests to store their own food; you might want to take advantage of that.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

My spouse has stayed at the Maple House several times during conferences at the Rowe Conf. Ctr. and has always raved about her stays here. So this time, we were going for a weekend away and to go zip lining while the foliage was at its height. Becky prepares a wonderfully welcoming and delicious and healthy breakfast using all local ingredients, and it serves as an example of how our weekend was staying there. So relaxing and warm. We had wonderful conversations with the other guests and with Becky each morning, and Becky was generous with information to help us as we set out for the day. I highly recommend this place if you want a quiet, off the beaten track, place to hang your hat. And it's a great place for a long long walk as well.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Malster111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston area, MA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We spent Labor Day weekend in the North Adams area and enjoyed a lovely two-night stay at Maple House Bed and Breakfast. The house is a late 1700s farmhouse with three floors, set on a country road. The back of the house overlooks pasture with the Berkshire mountains in the background. This isn't a "staged" B&B--everything in it is belongs to the family and is there because it means something to them. Our room on the third floor was comfortable and had a great view; we woke up to the sunrise coming over the mountain. Hanging in our room, and also in the dining room, are watercolors made when one of the owner's sons was a kid. Breakfasts were delicious and very large. Here's one: a huge bowl of apple crumble with yogurt, bacon and scrambled eggs, and a blueberry skillet pancake for everyone to share. You won't need to eat lunch. Rebecca and Michael are friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. A nice touch in all the rooms is a binder with pages of information about what to do and how to get there. Another nice feature was access through the property to the Rowe Town Lake, a pristine lake lying under two small mountains. There's a beach, kayaks, canoes, and trailheads. If you like homey, comforatable B&Bs that really make you feel like you're staying with a friend, this is the place. Also the relaxation factor here is very high--Rowe is a small town, about 400 people, and there are not a lot of lights--so the stars at night are so visible, we could see the Milky Way. One night we heard owls calling while we looked at the sky--it was wonderful. Maple House is quite close to the Rowe Camp and Conference Center and about a 15-20 minute drive from North Adams.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violethush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billskis
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

After three days over the July 4th holiday, I left relaxed, relaxed, relaxed, in spite of two full days of day hiking. My life is too busy and too full of artificial stimulation. I looked forward to a night of peaceful quiet. Hear myself breath. When I first shut off the light, it struck me how dark it was. No, stare out the window and there are million more stars than I could possibly see at home. There is much more to do that one might imagine. Some went rafting on the Deerfield River, I went hiking to Monroe State Forest and Catamount. The absence of masses was strikingly a pleasure. Others wen to the town beach. I visited the historical society in Heath. Oh, just the country drive, meandering, turning, weaving was a beauty. My GPS helped me discover roads I might not otherwise take. Bring your camera. Innkeepers Becky and Mike think of everything and essentially open their entire house to you. Sitting in the yard, sleeping in the hammock, reading a book on a hot day, just a pleasure. Becky is a terrific cook and the breakfast is excellent. The beds are comfy - in the summer sleep with the windows open, ah, the fresh air. After a day or so, I stopped thinking about a schedule and begin to appreciate the hills, the farms, the fields. I've brought home some amazing photos. Read a little about arguable "The Line of Forts" that once protected early settlers from the French/Indians. Concerts in Charlemont, skiing (a different trip) too in the winter is low-stress. Dinners are a bit of a drive, but hey, who's on a schedule. Enjoy having the road to yourself and driving under the speed limit.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoosierdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We stayed at Maple House last weekend, in the area for a family wedding. Becky and Michael were great - Becky is friendly and accommodating. She made me some much-needed coffee as soon as we showed up there, and she offered me either half-and-half or skim milk. I told her she had me at "half-.". The beds were comfy, the shower had great water pressure, and the breakfast was fantastic - baked apple/cinnamon/walnut pancakes, and she accommodates vegetarians, vegans and those with celiac (those were all the restriction we had - she could probably accommodate more as well). Homemade maple syrup was DELICIOUS.

The place is old and creaky and charming and homey. Becky clearly is a talented and loving gardener, because her flowers were plentiful and beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DlovesJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowe
16.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
11.1 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
629 reviews
22.1 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
214 reviews
16.7 mi away
The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn
16.9 mi away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#6 of 13 in Williamstown
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Maple House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 51 Middletown Hill Rd, Rowe, MA 01367-9702
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Rowe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located high on a hill in Rowe, MA, just minutes of the Mohawk Trail, Maple House offers beautifully appointed bedrooms with wonderful views of the surrounding hills and ridges. The rooms are newly renovated with knotty pine flooring and the original beams of this 200 year old post and beam home exposed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maple House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing