We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“H-experience Hoxie House!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hoxie House

Hoxie House
Ranked #6 of 39 things to do in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1637, this is believed to be the oldest house on Cape Cod.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“H-experience Hoxie House!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Its name hooks you into wanting to find out more.

It's a small & perfectly formed 1600s house - full of authentic 1600s furnishings & artefacts.

I was impressed by the original 1600s wooden loom. In all my travels, I've never seen one before....

The guides are cheerful & well-informed & take you around the downstairs level in a talk that spins itself artfully around folk sayings:

'Minding your ps and qs' refers, apparently to pints & quarts. The illiterate, innumerate barmaid depended upon her customers' honesty to keep an accurate tab on their alcohol spend. If they 'forgot' the penalties were a lot more severe in 17th century Massachusetts than today...

Best of all: it's modestly priced & well worth every cent.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    28
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most interesting piece of history on the Cape!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Hoxie house is so well preserved and original it is amazing. The location is beautiful, bring a picnic lunch and look out on the water beliw. The docents are friendly and well informed. It was probably the most interesting house tour I have ever been on and I've been on hundreds! The docents gave interesting facts about each and evey item in the museum. But the best part was how they applied all the very old sayings that evetyone knows to objects and life in the 1600's American household. Raining cats and dogs, the bums rush! Some of my favorite lines and I never knew where any of them came from until today! Go see this great piece of history!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wisercrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

If you would like a solid historical picture of living in 1700 plan a visit to the Hoxie House. The guides were well informed and while the house is not large you can experience daily life of that time period.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Short trip to the past”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

This is a well preserved piece of history. Much of the timber in the building is original, and many of the pieces of furniture and artefacts are original. The two ladies who showed us around we're very nice and very knowledgeable. They were able to explain how many of the utensils and artefacts were used. This is truly a step back in time that will enthral you

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank pdsfinance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rego Park, New York
2 reviews
“A very informative view of the past”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Brought a friend to Hoxie House, as we had already visited in the past. It was very informative and quite interesting. My friend was quite elated as we took the tour, which I knew she would enjoy. It should be on your definite go to see list while on the Cape. The tour guides were very informative as to the history of the house and were very friendly and quite willing to answer any questions. After listening to all the details that people of the time went through, the younger generations should be grateful for all the modern technologies.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hoxie House also viewed

Sandwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to Hoxie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing