We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love old structures with a lot of history.......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hoxie House

Hoxie House
Ranked #5 of 40 things to do in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1637, this is believed to be the oldest house on Cape Cod.
Yukon, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
219 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Love old structures with a lot of history.......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We visit family on Cape Cod every other year, and each time more memories are made. The Hoxie House has been one of my favorites for a number of years as a dear friend is a Hoxie descendent. To hear about the things that went on during the time the 11 children, and other family members who lived there is very interesting. Certainly a must place to visit for anyone visiting on the Cape.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    28
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Oldest House on Cape Cod”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

The Hoxie House was originally built in 1637 on this site to house a family of many children. Situated on Shawme Lake, high enough so that the flooded lake wouldn't take the house, it is easy to find: on Rte 130 about 1/2 mi S of the Grist Mill. It is filled with antiques of the period, that have been loaned by the Boston museum of fine art. The guides are very knowledgeable and ready to answer any question. The view from the property overlooking Shawme Lake is beautiful and it is perfectly located in the very center of the Historic Village of Sandwich with its' collection of Colonial Homes in perfect condition. Make sure you buy a combined ticket with the Grist Mill to save a little money.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting historical spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This was our first stop on our visit to Cape Cod. This house has some pretty interesting history behind it. You are able to explore both floors of the house. We found both tour guides to be very enthusiastic about the history of this place and that made the experience very good! It's not a huge place, but still potentially worth a visit if you have time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank environmentality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cute”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We visited this place on our tour of Sandwich. You can have a guided tour by a nice lady who greets you at the door (for $3 if I remember correctly) or you can tour the house yourself for free. I didn't have time for a tour and walked around by myself just admiring the surroundings. It smelled very old, but I didn't mind, it smelled like history. Everything was tiny, most of the things are original dating back to the 17th century. The stairs leading to the second floor are very steep - definitely not up to current code =) so watch your step. My own tour took 15 min. max. after which the nice lady offers you to pick from a variety of old-fashioned hats for a memorable photo in the Hoxie kitchen area. I loved this unique place and very friendly ladies working there, I just wish I had more time to take a tour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich, MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great house, but not the oldest on Cape Cod.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

The Hoxie house was built in 1675 for the Rev. John Smith. It's a fascinating house, open in season and well worth the visit. If you want to see the oldest house on Cape Cod, go to the Wing Fort House, also in Sandwich. It's every bit as interesting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hoxie House also viewed

Sandwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to Hoxie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing