We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Relaxing and Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The 1750 Inn at Sandwich Center
Ranked #2 of 8 Sandwich B&B and Inns
boston
1 review
“Charming, Relaxing and Great Location!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Over the July 4th weekend, we recently secured the entire 1750 Inn to enjoy a reunion with friends from all over New England. It was a perfect location for us! The Inn was charming, comfortable, provided ample indoor and outdoor space to congregate and Jan and Charlie were wonderful hosts who offered great ideas for fun things to do in the area. Each morning we awoke to a terrific full breakfast, enjoyed fresh baked sweets in the afternoon and enjoyed complimentary bottles of wine in the evening. The super location of this nicely appointed Inn and Jan and Charlie's extra special touches added to our wonderful reunion weekend with great friends. We highly recommend the 1750 Inn to enjoy Sandwich and other sights on the Cape.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 30Mary30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
216
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I had never been to Sandwich, but was on a journey with my husband to complete my Cape Cod genealogical research for my family, and I have to say, up until staying at the 1750 Inn at Sandwich, I wasn't sure how I felt about B&B's. I've stay at two before this, thought they were okay... but the 1750 Inn is now by far one of our favorite places to stay anywhere in the U.S.!! (I'm fairly well-traveled, and used to hotels.) Charlie & Jan (yes, you will feel comfortable being on a first name basis immediately- they are amazing people) instantly welcome you into their beautiful inn so warmly, you feel like guests they've been looking forward to seeing again- like old friends or family and there's a party you're just in time for! There's an immediate sense of relaxation, the Inn is beautifully decorated, and you are given your privacy- and where in the U.S. can you stay in such an ancient house?! Upon arrival the entrance was decorated for fall, coffee and cookies were available- we arrived late afternoon from Nantucket- and we were given a little tour with wonderful info about Sandwich. (We didn't have time for the glass museum this trip but a sunset or sunrise walk on the boardwalk to the beach is a must!) Our room was lovely- the floor sloped a little but it was built over 260 years ago, part of the charm, and opening the windows let in a wonderful breeze and it's a very quiet location. The house is great, the craftsmanship and original, old wood floors- beautiful. Charlie offers wine tastings before dinner for those looking to relax in the wonderful living and dining room before going out, and then upon returning we enjoyed port and sherry and found ourselves sitting and talking with the other guests in the quietly lit common areas before bed- fascinating people- I'd never expected myself to fall so naturally into a lively conversation with strangers but after a night or two we'd literally met new friends. Breakfasts! Waking up to incredible smells wafting up to our room-- heaven! It was well-worth being downstairs by 9 or so (on vacation away from children, I thought I'd sleep late, but... :) for their beautiful meals- Jan is a terrific cook! I was excited to come downstairs to enjoy her creations. We can't wait to return, and we are already planning another trip to explore the Cape from this inn in 2013/14, thanks to Jan & Charlie. You've set a new standard for the traveling soul.... we love your Inn, and love Sandwich.

Room Tip: We chose the Lottie Chipman room, it's wonderful. It's on the 2nd floor corner room- beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFleure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We have stayed at The 1750 Inn at Sandwich Center in May for the past few years. The hospitality of Inn Keepers Jan and Charlie helps us feel comfortably at home, and has us looking forward to returning each Spring.

Jan's talent for cooking lovely breakfasts that are imaginative, health-conscious, and tasty is beyond compare. We are always intrigued to see what she offers each morning.

I cannot say enough positive things! Though we travel just a few times each year, I wish we had "The 1750 Inn" in every destination we visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IggyAlexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meriden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

My husband and I were fortunate enough to happen upon this quaint B&B in Sandwich. We were greeted by two wonderful people - the innkeepers. Charlie and Jan were warm, welcoming and made you feel like you were at home in their home. Friendly and loquacious, we not only enjoyed gourmet breakfast but lovely conversation. My husband and I can not wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lasesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohegan Lake, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

If you enjoy sleepy Cape Cod towns like we do, then stay at the 1750 Inn. The owners, Jan and Charlie, are warm and welcoming and know how to cook an amazing breakfast. There is also wine, chocolates and home-baked goodies. I had a picture perfect moment where I woke up to the smell of fresh brewed coffee and zucchini bread baking in the oven. The house is gorgeous and the grounds are lovely. We enjoyed sitting on our deck after a long day and enjoying a glass of wine. I think the only day fall, which is the nature of inns, was being stuck eating breakfast with people you find uncomfortable to sit with. The majority of guests are pleasant over breakfast, but there is always that one couple you wished you didn't sit next to. Choose your breakfast seats wisely. Otherwise, I would gladly stay here again. Also, if you are looking for an amazing dinner, the Belfry Bistro is walking distance from the Inn.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, and be sure to try Jan's home-baked goodies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StubbornSicilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed at the 1750 Inn at Sandwich Center for two nights in early December. The house was all decked out for Christmas and our room was lovely. We enjoyed the glass of wine before we went out for dinner and the wonderful breakfasts. Jan and Charlie are wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecotouristedmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We went to the Inn for three nights the week before Thanksgiving 2012. Initially we planned to stay for a couple of nights only but as soon as we arrived and looked at the place we decided to ask for an additional night. The Inn is very quaint, peaceful, clean, cozy...in one word: perfect. The only idea to sleep in a place built while the American revolution war brewing in Massachusetts gave us goose bumps. The Inn is located in the center of the lovely village of Sandwich, perfect starting point to discover the Cape. The Innkeepers are super nice and made us feel at home right away. Charlie gave us useful information about the area and beyond; he served us the delightful breakfast that his wife Jane made from scratch every morning and he also made sure we had a new log to light in our fireplace. We would have stayed longer if we could but we had to head to Boston to visit a friend. We definitely recommend this place!
Stefano and Laura, Verona ~ Italy

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefano Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandwich
23.2 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.2 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 8 in Sandwich
635 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandwich Inn & Suites
Sandwich Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in Sandwich
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Country Acres Motel
Country Acres Motel
#3 of 5 in Sandwich
159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandwich Lodge & Resort
Sandwich Lodge & Resort
#4 of 5 in Sandwich
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1750 Inn at Sandwich Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1750 Inn at Sandwich Center

Property: The 1750 Inn at Sandwich Center
Address: 118 Tupper Rd, Sandwich, MA 02563-1828
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The 1750 Inn at Sandwich Center 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic, Historic B&B located in the heart Sandwich, Cape Cod's oldest and most quaint seaside village. Come enjoy fireplaces, TV, hot tub, spa services, hearty & delicious breakfasts, great service, and many other amenities provided in a warm and inviting environment. Walk to the beach, fine dining, shops, & museums. Easy to daytrip to Nantucket & Martha's Vineyard. Sandwich: a year-round destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The 1750 Inn at Sandwich Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1750 Inn At Sandwich Center MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing