We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The 1750 Inn at Sandwich Center
Ranked #2 of 8 Sandwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely place!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We recently spent two nights at the 1750 Inn in Sandwich MA. The house is beautiful with lots of history, and a resident ghost! Our room was spacious and the king sized bed was very comfortable. Jan and Charlie are lovely people and we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Robert Morse room. In the tradition of houses built in that era, the stairs up are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
206
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

This was our first stop on the Cape and we spent three glorious nights here in early October. We arrived after a tiring journey through Boston’s rush hour traffic to be warmly welcomed by Jan and Charlie. They were delightful hosts throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble and Jan spent time creating breakfast goodies that avoided dairy, one of us having an allergy.

We had the Hallstead room which is a stunning period room, extremely comfortable and containing everything one could wish for.

We thought Sandwich beautiful, well worth exploring and with a variety of good restaurants all recommended by our hosts. It’s also a great base from which to explore the Cape and visit Martha’s Vineyard, Jan has the perfect remedy for any seasickness worries!

We’d stay again if revisiting the area and would unhesitatingly recommend the Inn.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cheshirekatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at the 1750 Inn for our 1 year anniversary, and were in love with everything about it! We will most definitely be making this an anniversary tradition.
With all the extras the owners included the price is 150% worth it!

We stayed in the "Robert Morse Room on the second floor with balcony access and our own fireplace! The room was exceptional! We used the centuries-old wood fireplace each night which was super cozy and romantic. The breakfast in the morning was easily the BEST breakfast Either of us have ever had. It was beautifully presented, perfectly filling and DELICIOUS.

Every afternoon we were offered complimentary wines (white or red) and homemade baked goodies. If that wasn't a treat enough, in the evening we had our choice of port, sherry, or brandy that we could enjoy back in our cozy room :)

The central location was so convenient as well. We walked to the Sandwich Glass Museum (which is directly across the street), and all the downtown shopping and restaurants with no trouble at all.

Our favorite part was easily the owners themselves. Jan and Charlie are the sweetest most welcoming hosts. They're so friendly, and personable and gave us anything we needed. We enjoyed chatting with them over breakfast and appreciated the space they gave us when we wanted romantic time to ourselves.

With it's perfect location surrounded by all the history and great shops and restaurants of Sandwich, Jan and Charlie's incredible cooking, personal care and wonderful extras, staying at the 1750 Inn is a MUST!

Room Tip: The Robert Morse room was amazing! Super comfy California King bed, gorgeous fireplace, and balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BreeCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our one year anniversary, and we will definitely be making this a tradition. It seemed a little pricey when we made the reservation, but we decided to splurge. And thank God we did!

Considering all the extras the owners included the price is actually more than reasonable.

The room was perfectly appointed, and we used the centuries-old wood fireplace to cozy up together in the cold. The breakfast in the morning was easily the BEST breakfast I've ever had, and I've traveled to 49 states and eaten in most of them. It was classy, delicious, filling and nutritious.

Every afternoon we were offered wine options and baked goods, and in the evening we had our choice of port, sherry, or brandy that we could drink back in our room.

The location was perfect too. We walked to the Sandwich Glass Museum, and all the downtown shopping and restaurants without exerting ourselves (it was a vacation, after all).

Our favorite part was easily the owners themselves. Jan and Charlie were extremely personable, friendly, and welcoming, and gave us anything we needed. They were great conversation when we wanted to chat, and gave us our space when we wanted romantic time to ourselves.

With the history of the building, the perfect spot in downtown Sandwich, the delectable food, the wonderful extras, and the personal care from the hosts, be sure you stay at the 1750 Inn!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Robert Morse room, which was amazing. But any room here will be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We live near to Sandwich UK and were intrigued to see how Sandwich MA compared. We searched via Trip Advisor and found the 1750 Inn at Sandwich Centre which appealed to us immediately with its wonderful appointed rooms and reviews. What an amazing surprise when we arrived to find such a well kept period home with antiques in every room. Jan and Charlie are really lovely and welcoming hosts and Jan's breakfasts are delicious. I set Jan a real challenge with my wheat intolerance but she produced some of the best tasting meals I've had for a long time. Sandwich is also a treat to walk around with its old period buildings and its boardwalk which takes you out to the coast. There's a strong friendly community spirit that runs through Sandwich which is lacking in many parts of the world. We very much look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful but choose a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfinggaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We recently stayed at this B&B while traveling through New England. I can't say enough about the place - so quaint, so lovely and Jan and Charlie are the perfect hosts. Jan's delicious homemade cookies each day and her amazing breakfasts were to-die-for! They even packed us breakfasts to go when we had to leave early one morning to catch the ferry to Nantucket. Great place to stay - extremely clean and comfortable. Will definitely stay there again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lottie Chipman Room, which is upstairs. Stairs are rather steep, but room was perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonna4la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This was the first time we have stayed in a B and B and the whole experience was fabulous. Jan and Charlie are friendly and attentive hosts with a wide knowledge of the area. Our room was extremely comfortable as was the lounge and dining area and all were tastefully decorated. The breakfasts, cooked by Jan, are delicious and the little extras provided during the day and evening just made the whole experience special. We didn't want to leave and would certainly go back if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcewans2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandwich
13.8 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 8 in Sandwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandwich Inn & Suites
Sandwich Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in Sandwich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Sandwich Lodge & Resort
Sandwich Lodge & Resort
#4 of 5 in Sandwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belfry Inn and Bistro
Belfry Inn and Bistro
#4 of 8 in Sandwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1750 Inn at Sandwich Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1750 Inn at Sandwich Center

Property: The 1750 Inn at Sandwich Center
Address: 118 Tupper Rd, Sandwich, MA 02563-1828
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The 1750 Inn at Sandwich Center 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic, Historic B&B located in the heart Sandwich, Cape Cod's oldest and most quaint seaside village. Come enjoy fireplaces, TV, hot tub, spa services, hearty & delicious breakfasts, great service, and many other amenities provided in a warm and inviting environment. Walk to the beach, fine dining, shops, & museums. Easy to daytrip to Nantucket & Martha's Vineyard. Sandwich: a year-round destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The 1750 Inn at Sandwich Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1750 Inn At Sandwich Center MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing