We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ice cream, friendly service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ice Cream Sandwich

Ice Cream Sandwich
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$7
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The only homemade ice cream shop in Sandwich. Featuring homemade ice cream, frozen yogurt, soft serve, ice cream cakes, sundaes, frappes, smoothies, ice cream-filled cannolis, and ice cream sandwiches!
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great ice cream, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

This place has a wide variety of homemade ice cream flavors, indoor and outdoor seating in the shade, a walk up window, and an extremely friendly staff. It's clean and has plenty of parking.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lhma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    33
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just Very, Very Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had a craving for ice cream last evening and had heard Rave Revues about the "Ice Cream Sandwich" store in Sandwich, so we decided to give it a try. We arrived about 6:30p.m. and it was quite noisy and over run with lots of small children eating ice cream cones on the front porch. My husband had a two scoops of Strawberry Ice cream in a waffle cone and I had a "small" chocolate Cape Cod Rocky ice cream cone. The "rocks" consisted of chunks of white and dark chocolate. The chocolate chunks were frozen so hard that they became tasteless. The ice cream was okay, but did not have the richness we thought home made ice cream should have. I found the "Ice Cream Sandwich" to be just okay, and not a place I would be "rushing" back to.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“YOU HAVE TO GO HERE.....Best Homemade Ice Cream and Now "Lobster Rolls" Best I have ever Had......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Ice Cream Sandwich has everything a family or anyone could ask for. You can come off the beach and not cook or clean. They have Hot Dogs, Grilled Cheese, LOBSTER Rolls (New on the menu and exceptional), A little candy store, and HOMEMADE Ice Cream......... NOW That's vacation....:~)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 634KevinM634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lobster roll!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

I know everyone is writing reviews about the ice cream, and I can say we went on a Saturday evening and the place was packed with people getting ice cream and it looked really good... However - we hadn't eaten and were dying for Lobster rolls and they had a sign out. It took a little while to actually get them once we placed the order, but boy was it worth it... They were $15 each, however you do not feel jipped at all. The rolls must be homemade or bought from a bakery and they are larger than regular hot dog rolls...they were buttered and grilled, and the lobster salad inside was fabulous...tons of chunks too! Was really good and came with a little bag of cape cod chips!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PageFamily12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fresh homemade ice cream, place to sit and great flavor variety”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Prefer ice cream sandwich over any other in the region
They are the only place nearby making homemade ice cream and do a good job with flavors and ingredients
No real view to speak of but a nice porch that gets wind even on hot days with plenty of tables
Definitely worth a stop and at $3.99 for a regular size I had no complaints about the price
Countertop style service is friendly and knowledgeable

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MattCarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ice Cream Sandwich also viewed

 

Been to Ice Cream Sandwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing