We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly disappointing...”

Dunbar Restaurant & Tea Room
Ranked #17 of 68 Restaurants in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Dunbar House Restaurant & Tea Room, in an idyllic New England setting serves, lunch and afternoon tea seven days a week from 11-5, as well as tapas and dinner Fridays and Saturdays starting at 5, with an all new wine bar and English tavern, and outdoor seating overlooking beautiful Shawme Pond.
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointing...”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

A dear friend of mine and I were very excited to bring our girls (ages 5 and 10) to the tea room. We had reviewed the menu and decided to go for lunch. We arrived shortly after noon and we waited in a short line to speak to the hostess. We waited about 5 minutes and the hostess informed us that the kitchen was quite backed up, so, we would have a 10-15 minute wait to be seated. We perused the gift shop while we waited. After about 15 minutes we were brought to out table. We chose to sit inside, but, we had assumed we would be sitting in the bright airy main dining room. Instead, we were seated in the small, dark wooden room off to the side. We sat there a few moments and noticed that there were open tables in the main dining room. We contemplated asking to be moved, but, we figured that maybe because we had children with us, they preferred we sit in the side room. We reviewed the menus and were pleased that they had a children's lunch menu. We waited almost 20 minutes before we were greeted by the waitress. My friend had commented that she thought they had forgotten about us. The waitress apologized and explained that there was a "mix up". We ordered our teas and entrees and continued to ponder the reason as to why we were seated alone in that room when there were more people being seated in the main room; some this time with children. Our food arrived about 20 minutes later and we have to say that the food was pretty good! We finished eating and waiting another 20 minutes before the waitress came to see if we would like dessert. By this point we were pretty disappointed at the service and the fact that we were still seated alone in this dark room, but, we decided to order two desserts. The lava cakes were delish and after we finished, we waited another 10 minutes to receive the bill. We promptly paid and headed out. We understand that the food is prepared fresh and were not upset by the amount of time we waited for our food, but, we were disappointed in the ambiance and lack of service we received.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LSommer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    85
    27
    25
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stopped here on the way out of Cape Cod. They have a lovely selection of teas and provide afternoon tea service. We enjoyed the scones and cream. They also have seating outside in a garden. Great service and food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miliarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“So So So Very Slow - still waiting for our extra bread!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This tea shop could be wonderful - but sadly isn't. The setting is idyllic but the service was so slow. We were asked to wait 15 minutes to be seated in a partly empty restaurant. We waited another 15 minutes to place our order, and the pots of tea and plates of salad took a further 25 minutes to arrive. We asked for some extra bread but it still hadn't arrived when we finished eating, paid the bill and left! Have rarely experienced such poor customer service in the UK - and don't expect it in the US. Hope this tea shop gets some new staff and sorts itself out - it has a the potential to be fabulous.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank kjbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Ma
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Town”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Sunday I took my husband out to breakfast at the Dunbar. Without a doubt it was the best choice! My husband is quite picky and didn't personally like how I chose to eat at a tea shop but as soon as we sat down he changed his mind. Walking in we were greeted by a beautiful hostess with a smile on her face. She gave us the option of where we wanted to sit which was nice. Our waitress was very helpful and the food was absolutely amazing! I've already told my friends to go there because it was the best decision and so well priced!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank RebekahGreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

The other morning I was driving down route 130 in Sandwich with my wife and two children and happened to notice a sign on the sidewalk that wrote, "Breakfast, Open 8-11". The four of us were dying for anything to eat and the kids were getting lively in the back seat so I figured any place to eat would do.. And boy did I choose wisely. From what I've seen, we stumbled upon the most exquisite breakfast in Sandwich. Not only did they prepare the best foods; it was served with the best service and priced at the best prices. All of the dishes were under $10, and no matter what the circumstance, our server, as well as the other servers, were there for our needs and questions, always keeping a smile on their faces. When we first arrived, we entered a tea shop that featured 40+ types of teas as well as supplies. From there, we were greeted by a sweet hostess, and brought to our seats. We had the choice between a beautiful, old-fashioned, English tea room, a newer, lively room that overlooked historic Sandwich and Hoxie Pond, and a patio that was surrounded by lovely flowers and an amazing view. Luckily, we came late enough to catch the jazz guitarist that played live in the afternoon. All in all, this was an incredible dine and we'll most definitely be back again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dunbar Restaurant & Tea Room also viewed

Sandwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to Dunbar Restaurant & Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing