We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, relaxing stay in a lovely b & B”
Review of Cranberry Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cranberry Manor
Ranked #5 of 7 Sandwich B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 July 2011

This B&B really does live up to its online description as being decorated in feng shui style. Rooms are simply yet tastefully decorated and furniture arranged to make guests' movements flow smoothly. This lack of clutter helps to keep the mind and spirit relaxed, as should happen on a good vacation.

Other positive features: The house is on a quiet residential street away from busy areas. If you like to be in the "center of it all," this is not the place for you. Although the Sandwich town center is about 5 minutes away by car. (I slept in a back room, so I don't know what it sounds like when cars drive down the road.) The rooms, bathroom and common areas are very clean. There's a skylight in the Morning Glory bathroom so I never used artificial lighting during the day! The bed was comfortable (not too firm or soft--if you like that kind). There were plenty of big and (pretty) small pillows, and covering choices. There is a room air conditioner near the foot of the bed (so it won't blow directly on guests). However, I did not use the AC so I don't know how well it works. Wireless internet access in the room was very good.

There are also a deck and pretty gazebo in the cozy, beautifully landscaped backyard that attracts all kinds of birds. You can enjoy this backyard in good weather, or simply by looking out onto while eating breakfast in the dining room. Best of all, Heather was a great hostess who cooked delicious, filling breakfasts (eggs or carbs, meats, fruits), provided good advice on what to visit & where to eat, and made available little snacks for guests' road trips. Doug's story-telling was also greatly appreciated. I learned quite a bit about Sandwich and about the houses that are built on the sandy beaches!

Negatives are minor: Window coverings are only blinds, which stuck out from the windows at the point where they met a window opening handle. That made me feel as if I did not have total privacy. Maybe if the blinds had been attached to the insides of the window frames, they wouldn't stick out so much. Real curtains would have helped too, but then the feng shui feeling would be gone. The other negative was the hallway light coming in around the door (especially at the bottom) was very strong at night. It was too bright for me to fall asleep. Maybe the bottom of the doorway had been shaved away in the past to make space for thick carpeting? Anyway, I placed a pair of jeans at the bottom of the door every night and that did the trick!

All in all, this is a great little B&B that really does deliver what it claims on its website. A great, relaxing staying at a great price (Shh, don't Heather that part.)

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms; window seated rooms overlook road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWanderingLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

Heather and Doug were just the BEST hosts you could ask for. Heather cooked a FANTASTIC breakfast each morning that had Rachael Ray and Martha look like prep cooks. The inn is MEGA cute and all the rooms are very nice. Even though we had a cloudy weekend with rain it was a great get-a-way. We will be back. A Cape Cod hidden gem.

Room Tip: ALL four rooms are GREAT value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NH_TravelsConcord_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Very easily found if you have a good map. Cranberry Manor has off-street parking and a short drive to all sights if you don't get lost in Sandwich itself.
Heather greeted us warmly and gave us the Daffodil Room which was delightful with a fresh clean feel. The bathroom was small but quite adequate. No bath but a shower which was fine by us. Good shelf space in the bathroom and also provision of a night light which is always appreciated. A small table to use a laptop on or write would be good. The bed was a King, and very comfortable and choice of bedding from a duvet as well as a blanket supplied - again a plus.
Breakfast was a treat and very tasty, but the first morning (Sunday) it was served at 9.00am which was a little late for people like us who are there only a short time and want to see as much as possible. Other days it is 8.30am which was better. All guests ate at the same time around a large table decorated in a Fall theme - even candles were lit. Home made Cranberry juice and/or orange juice, fresh fruit followed by an apple maple syrup muffiny thing with slices of ham on day one, and on day two a very nice leek and egg pie with two tiny tasty sausages. As well as breakfast there was 24 hour coffee and a selection of teas provided and fresh milk. For after dinner there was a choice of liqueurs and small chocolate bisuits to have in the community living room which was generously supplied with magazines, comfy chairs etc. It was definitely home away from home.
Heather also volunteered to dry some clothes I had washed as she could see they were not going to get dry in the bathroom. They were returned to me dry and ironed - which was greatly appreciated. Of the 18 B&B's we stayed in she was the only person to offer such a service voluntarily and free. If available I would happily pay a small charge to do my laundry and use an iron. After 10 weeks one gets very crumpled.

Heather and Doug are a delightful couple and we were entertained by Doug's great humour, interesting guests and some turkeys in the garden. We had two very enjoyable days there and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonnie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

This is a small B&B which has marvellous hosts only wanting to assist you on your holiday the breakfast was a three course meal and wonderful. It changed everyday. Their knowledge of the area is well worth staying here for

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris_cycledorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

A friend and I were attending a wedding and The Cranberry Manor was one of the local suggestions. We are so glad we had this experience! Heather and Doug are wonderful people and we met some interesting guests, as well. If you like B&B's then I would highly recommend this one.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

For the first time ever, I had been very disappointed with hotels and guest houses during this trip, but Cranberry Manor more than made up for it. Heather is a great host, the food is excellent and the rooms very comfortable. Some of the decor is a little twee for British tastes, but so what? Breakfasts are held at a communal table. Staying at the same time as us were a very nice German couple who were delightful company ( and spoke better English than WE do!). Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shropshireladd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Stayed 5 days at Cranberry Manor. It was very very nice. The innkeepers Heather and Doug are awesome!
The breakfast was better than in luxury hotels. Our room was very clean and had beautiful furnitures. It was so quiet. Only the birds were singing.
It was fantastic!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chriscod5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandwich hotels
5.6 mi away
Spring Garden Inn Motel
Spring Garden Inn Motel
#2 of 3 in East Sandwich
44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandwich Inn & Suites
Sandwich Inn & Suites
#1 of 6 in Sandwich
227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandwich Lodge & Resort
Sandwich Lodge & Resort
#4 of 6 in Sandwich
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Belfry Inn and Bistro
Belfry Inn and Bistro
#4 of 7 in Sandwich
264 reviews
1.8 mi away
Country Acres Motel
Country Acres Motel
#3 of 6 in Sandwich
168 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Sandwich
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranberry Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranberry Manor

Address: 50 Main St, Sandwich, MA 02563-2102
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sandwich
Price Range: £155 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cranberry Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cranberry Manor Bed and Breakfast, is a Cape Cod treasure located in the heart of Sandwich. A tranquil setting tastefully decorated using the ancient art of Feng Shui, 4 rooms with private bath, gourmet breakfast served alfresco on warm sunny mornings surrounded by song birds in the garden, on premise parking, Wi-Fi and more can be found at this delightful bed and breakfast. Please come and experience the Feng Shui feeling of well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cranberry Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranberry Manor Sandwich, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing