We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, Simply stated, lovely”

Beth's Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #2 of 5 Dessert in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
646 reviews
431 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Simple, Simply stated, lovely”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great quiche, and the best bargain lobster roll in town! Cases full of pastries, coffee, teas. Menu is small but effective. Delicious. Lovely staff. Really a treat to find!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    81
    9
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch spot”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We happened upon Beth's Bakery for lunch - what a great find! The staff was accommodating and helpful as we navigated through the various choices. Crab salad was delicious, as were the Paninis. It was fun to indulge in dessert - chocolate cake and apple turnover were both great choices. A very pretty setting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RandiFayeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and cakes”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

When we stay in Sandwich we tend to have breakfast at Beth's, it's always lovely, the quiche is great as is the stuffed French toast.
It's nice too be able to sit outside and watch the world walk past with a cup of tea in a morning.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank etak14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely terrible experience--bad service”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped at Beth's on a recommendation on our last day of vacation. What a terrible experience, it ruined our last day. We walked in with a party of twelve prepared to wait but we're told by a waitress to grab whatever tables we could find. Three tables were open with eight seats so we had most of our group sit while the remainder prepared to wait. About that time we realized that it's a self serve restaurant. You wait in line and order and pay for your food then a waitress brings it to you. We were figuring out how to navigate this with our large party when a customer got out of line, put his face inches from my husband's face and blasted us for taking too many seats. We left. I will never go back. It sounds like the food is good but the crowd is overwhelming for such a small place--it was packed even before we walked in--and the serving/seating system is inefficient/lends itself to confrontation. We saw the line when we were finding seats but we thought they we're take-out customers getting coffee. The presence of waitresses serving food and bussing tables added to our confusion. We went down the street to Ricky's. I was too upset to eat so I only had coffee but the rest of the group enjoyed their meals and the service/clientele were friendly. The waitress even brought an extra plate, unsolicited, in case I wanted to pick off one of the kids' plates. If you go to Beth's, just be aware, it's tiny and crowded and anxious customers have to compete for tables.

Helpful?
Thank david n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks, UK
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for lunch”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stopped in Sandwich for lunch en route to Chatham and came across Beth's cafe. Blackboard menu with varied lunch selection [can share portions], friendly service. Would highly recommend and would return if ever in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bucks_reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beth's Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 
Sandwich, Cape Cod
 
East Sandwich, Sandwich
 

Been to Beth's Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing