We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food; full of character and charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belfry Inn and Bistro

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Belfry Inn and Bistro
Ranked #4 of 8 Sandwich B&B and Inns
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful food; full of character and charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed at the Belfry to celebrate our anniversary, and found the staff to be welcoming and the room (we stayed in the Tuesday room) to be warm, unique, and very memorable. The large round stained glass window above the bed was unusual and very impressive. The woodwork on the furniture was beautiful, and the stained glass details throughout the room were wonderful design flourishes.
The bed was VERY comfortable.
The room has a nice little porch off of the bathroom.
The Jacuzzi tub was very loud, but quite relaxing! It was a great touch.
We used the fireplace in the room and it threw a good amount of heat while creating a nice ambiance.
Our dinner at the bistro was first class, and the breakfasts that were included with our stay were wonderful. The home-made quick breads, fresh fruit salad, light and airy french toast, crisp and delicious waffles, generous omelets and egg scrambles, and hash browns were all impressive.
The Bistro itself has wonderful woodwork that pays homage to the old church’s past. I uploaded a photo of the carving of the Catholic offerings (host) that graced the post next-to one of the tables in the Bistro. Biblically intoned words are carved into the chair rails around the walls. It is a unique experience, and you would be hard-pressed to find anything like it anywhere else on the Cape (I would venture to guess that you’d be hard-pressed to find anything like it anywhere).
One warning, though there is a small sign posted that says to press the call button if the reception desk is unmanned, you may want to think twice. If you find the reception desk empty and press the button at the reception desk expecting to call someone on-site you may end up reaching the innkeeper’s cellular phone. This happened to my husband, and he ended up feeling rather silly, since he just wanted to find out if they had some batteries to replace the ones in the television’s remote control. You may be better served by simply taking a walk into the Bistro and seeing who is around. The staff is more than willing to help you out.
Also note that the walls were a bit thin, so we could hear our neighbors quite well.
Sandwich is a great destination for a weekend, since you can get there so quickly. Normally we would drive further down Cape, but it was Sandwich’s proximity to the bridge that made it our choice for this short trip. It was refreshing to arrive so quickly on a Friday evening.
We enjoyed walking around and visiting the small shops in Sandwich.
We were very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: We were told that our room (Tuesday) is very popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FeltriGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    54
    22
    9
    11
See reviews for
31
160
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had a great, romantic anniversary getaway weekend here. The innkeepers were cordial, polite, informative, and made us feel right at home. Depite having a large wedding reception, the inn ran smoothly and we never felt neglected. Sandwich boardwalk was a short distance away, with a spectacular view of the salt marshes and beaches.

The Saturday room was wonderful, with a small balcony, large whirlpool tub for two, and comfy king bed. As this is a re-purposed Catholic Church, every room has a stained glass window, and we had St. George slaying the dragon. The room itself, while comfortable and well thought out, had some minor blemishes, like a drunk painter had been hired and slopped white trim paint all over the nice blue wallpaper. But the linens, artwork, furniture, and bedding were all wonderful.

The Bistro was the true highlight of the experience. We had great meals there, and the bar was humming all weekend long with an interesting mix of locals and travellers. Filet mignon and the short ribs were the best I have had just about anywhere. Lynn served us at breakfast, which was a great experience.

I would definitely recommend this B&B, and would go there again.

Room Tip: Alll rooms are on a balcony over the restaurant, but they are very quiet. We loved the "Saturda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank epfraher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winthrop
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We have been going to the Belfry for 4 years. I have to say that every detail reflects the hands on management of the owner Chris. From the stay in the Abbey or the Pink Lady, to dining in the Bistro, his supervision reflects in the appearance of the Inn, the fabulous food in the Bistro and his the wait staff. Coming down to the beautiful morning breakfasts are such a treat and again, the wait staff could not be more pleasant and accommodating. The beautiful details in the architecture of the Abbey is extraordinary. The first time we arrived for our stay four years ago, we were so impressed by the structure of this former church converted into this lovely inn. This is a must see for all and its located in the historical town of Sandwich MA.

Room Tip: Don't pass up a stay in the Abbey and ask for the room with the stained glass window, although y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Our best dining experience in the USA.The building-a 19th.Century deconsecrated Catholic church-is impressive,the staff are efficient,friendly yet unobtrusive and the food is delicious and beautifully presented.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MERMAID6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

My daughter and I just spent an overnight at the Belfry....We wish it could have been longer...like forever.......Everything was PERFECT......We dined in, and our waiter,a handsome man from Morrocco was so wonderful. He was pleasant and let us take our time...and we didn't have to wait for anything. The inn keeper owner is a pleasant guy also. The food was wonderful with lovely presentations. We didn't have an entree, as we choose instead, to sample lots of appetizers much to our satisfaction. The only thing I can even think of to say that was not 100% was that we thought the Brusshetta was too salty, which is really only a personal opinion. Our rooms were wonderful and so clean. We had the Thursday Room and shared a king sized bed that was so comfortable as were the plentiful pillows. The area near the fireplace was so cozy. The day we choose turned out to be rainy and cold..so we didn't mind one bit nestling in our little sitting area with the fire going. As much as my daughter and I adore one another and even though we slept wonderfully side by side in the king bed, a few more rooms with twin beds would be nice.....Overall, I can't express just how wonderful and relaxing that visit to the Belfry Bistro Inn was.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaulinlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

My husband and I spent one night overnight this week, celebrating our 47th wedding anniversary and returned to Belfrey Inne where we had celebrated a family birthday a few years back. It was all we expected and more: we stayed in "Friday" in the main building, luxurious and romantic, with a jacuzzi and gas fireplace. As it was a winter weekday, we knew very little would be open, so were not surprised - found antiquing and Whaling Museum on the way home - perfect. And breakfast was outstanding - thanks for a great break, Chris.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donandsylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

My husband and myself returned from a weekend at the Belfry that was outstanding. We stayed in the painted lady in a room called Seth. What a beautiful room! We had dinner in the Bistro at night and the food was excellent! We were pleasantly surprised and will hopefully return for another stay, this time in the Abbey in the Tuesday room!

All in all I would rate this hotel and bistro a five out of five - Thanks all for making it a great escape and a little piece of heaven in Sandwich!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debfera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandwich
22.9 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
15.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
17.0 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Courtyard Cape Cod Hyannis
0.1 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 8 in Sandwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
22.4 mi away
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Harwich Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfry Inn and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfry Inn and Bistro

Property: Belfry Inn and Bistro
Address: 6 Jarves St, Sandwich, MA 02563-2219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Belfry Inn and Bistro 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Cod’s jewel, a small boutique Inn, set in the center of Sandwich Village, is an architectural masterpiece; the Abbey, (ca.1901) a former church with six guest suites above the Bistro. Imaginative interiors, soaring space, stain glass windows. Offering a host of amenities, decks, whirlpools for two and fireplaces. Full gourmet breakfast. Offering hospitality year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Belfry Inn and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfry Inne And Bistro Hotel Sandwich
Belfry Inn And Bistro Sandwich, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing