We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly but inefficient with poor tasteless cold food and no atmosphere” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belfry Inn and Bistro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Belfry Inn and Bistro
Ranked #4 of 8 Sandwich B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly but inefficient with poor tasteless cold food and no atmosphere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had high hopes for a restaurant with a good reputation. But last season is not this season. I have tasted better food in a corner cafe. Totally disorganised - untrained staff - unforgivably cold and mediocre food. Lovely people but this place needs a wake up call

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LexieG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    54
    22
    8
    11
See reviews for
31
159
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brockton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
190 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stumbled upon the Belfry Inn and Bistro accidentally while meandering around the Cape on our way to Eastham for a long weekend. The exterior of the bistro is what caught our eye. This is a church that has been renovated into a restaurant. As it was sunny out, the stained glass windows really sparkled and the interior is a must see. Very nicely done. Loved the "Adam" and "Eve" on the men's/women's restroom doors too. The food was excellent too. We had the fish and chips and the Belfry Bento Box which consisted of a grilled ham and gruyere cheese sandwich, a bowl of asparagus soup and an asparagus and greens salad. Couldn't leave without trying the dessert, a mascarpone cheesecake with tangerine sauce. We left full and happy and delighted that we came upon this little gem!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrystalN320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

The Belfry is a converted historical church turned into a Inn and Bestro. A nice menu of contemporary dishes with city flair. A bit pricy but delicious. We had the fried oyster sliders and the frois Gras. Both were quite flavorful and well prepared.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sharkeyguy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We spent the first two nights of our honeymoon here and we were NOT disappointed! Amazing room, Tuesday Room. OMGoodness it was fantastic! The stained glass window over the bed was VERY romantic and the lighted jacuzzi tub was perfect! It was well worth the price and we had absolutely NO complaints. The breakfast was included, as it should be, and was 5 star! Very good and an extremely friendly staff. Chris, the innkeeper, was very accommodating and got us ice on two occasions and even moved our room dates when I realized at the last minute that I had goofed. Thank God it was the off-season, but I think Chris would have done his very best to make something work. Excellent stay at an excellent B&B, the place was beautiful!!!! Thanks Chris! We'll be back someday...

Room Tip: You HAVE to choose the Tuesday Room, it's amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eagledude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotuit, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

First let me say that we wondered how reviews differed so much from on review to another. Then we went and it became clear that the food at the Belfry is at a level of quality that is sometimes misunderstood. .This restaurant is like no other on Cape Cod. This 1900 old church now restaurant has a stunning dining room with 50 ft ceiling, stain glass windows every where, well spaced table dress in white cloths, lots of carved oak, a fire place and a bar " Alter height" (two steps up) with an oak bar and high tops. There is music from a baby grand softly playing. The service is welcoming and prompt. Most of the staff has been here for some years and it shows. They know how to please.
The food is not the average offerings found through out the Cape. The drinks a well made, their wine list is tops; There are offerings such as FOIE GRAS; Which we loved. Crispy Oyster Sliders on brioche that we really enjoyed; And a caesar salad which we thought was one of the best we have had in years.
For our main course I had Braised Short Ribs which took only my fork to break the apart. So rich with just the right amount of seasoning. We also ordered an amazing Spring Lamb Loin that was one of the best meals we EVER have eaten. We really enjoyed their house made desserts. Their version of molten Chocolate cake was the best. Coffee was hot and bold. With the Food and service offered at the Belfry and the amazing dining room we insist this is a TOP 5 CONTENDER on Cape Cod. They also have Sunday brunch which we plan on trying; I'll post our review when we go. They offer lunch which we saw a menu and its very nice, well priced and they have a beautiful patio. The rooms/ suites are like no other on Cape Cod. The location is just great. And the Inn keeper Chris is so welcoming and knows what customer service is all about. His house keeping staff follows his direction very well. Great Job too all !! Thanks.

Room Tip: If you can stay in the old church. All rooms in both building are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank servicefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The only reason I am not giving 5 stars is that Housekeeping seems to have missed our room one day and it did not get cleaned that day. However, we are repeat customers and the room was comfortable and excellent for the two of us to spend time together. I can chalk that one mistake up to human error. We will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Seth Room which I cannot recommend. It is a beautiful room located on the ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

My husband and I and friends have enjoyed the fine dining at Belfry for quite a few years. Our experience last weekend was a profound disappointment. ???? New chef maybe? Service was the usual very good..menu disappointing. Husband ordered clam chowder....was served out of pitcher into bowl...tiny amount..unusual and not especially good. My salad was flavorless. Entrees were limited and not up to accustomed standards. We were very disappointed...Will have to check carefully before we return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandwich
22.9 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
15.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
17.0 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Courtyard Cape Cod Hyannis
0.1 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 8 in Sandwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
22.4 mi away
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Harwich Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfry Inn and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfry Inn and Bistro

Property: Belfry Inn and Bistro
Address: 6 Jarves St, Sandwich, MA 02563-2219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Belfry Inn and Bistro 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Cod’s jewel, a small boutique Inn, set in the center of Sandwich Village, is an architectural masterpiece; the Abbey, (ca.1901) a former church with six guest suites above the Bistro. Imaginative interiors, soaring space, stain glass windows. Offering a host of amenities, decks, whirlpools for two and fireplaces. Full gourmet breakfast. Offering hospitality year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Belfry Inn and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfry Inne And Bistro Hotel Sandwich
Belfry Inn And Bistro Sandwich, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing