We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Picture card perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belfry Inn and Bistro
Ranked #4 of 8 Sandwich B&B and Inns
Paisley, Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Picture card perfect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

The Belfry is a very quiet and relaxing place to stay, a bit too quiet for us though. We really liked the Inne and the staff were excellent, Chris Wilson (he must have roots in Paisley Scotland) was a very welcoming buddie. The food was great if a little over the top. Sandwich itself is a prim little town, white picket fences are very much in evidence. You can walk the tree lined streets and can be transported back to a previous more ellegant and graceful era, the inne was clean if a bit dated but was in keeping with the buildings and the town itself. A great idea to convert a church (pun intended) into a unique hotel. Lovely. We only had one adverse comment and that was about the town itself rather than the hotel, it just too quiet for a 7 day stay so we left after 6. Cape cod is beautiful though, we thouroghly enjoyed Provincetown and Hyannis which on reflection would have been better bases to explore the cape.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaisleyPiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    54
    23
    8
    11
See reviews for
31
160
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

I researched the Cape for a three day trip and just returned. Chris, the owner of the Belfry (a former Catholic church) and the next door renovated Victorian home, was super nice on the phone. I wish I had discussed more with him before we arrived. We arrived at 1:00 and were allowed to check in. We felt that was exceptionally nice. Jaffar was taking care of the lunch crowd, so I was not put off that he wouldn't answer any questions about the inn. The "John" room was clean and quite nice in the Painted Lady. We just made some major purchases and did not splurge on the Belfry rooms. We WILL next time. The only complaints I had were that the window air conditioner was somewhat noisy, but it was battling 90 degree days and pretty steamy nights. It performed well, just noisy. The other complaint was that there were not window shades and our east facing room was flooded with light very early in the morning through very clean white drapes.
We did not eat dinner there. Jaffar, again, would not find time to answer even a few questions when we stopped in for drinks before bed. I just couldn't get any accomodation from him.
Monday morning breakfast was fantastic. Chris had returned and was as nice as on the phone. However, now we needed to race off to catch a whale watching boat and we couldn't chat. Such a shame, but we did tell my mother in law to stay here next weekend when they go to the Cape. I told her to stay in the Belfry to be safe. $300 for one of those rooms would be well worth it. I think I would have been super happy in the Painted Lady had I switched to a different room.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelin4fun4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

For the third year, it still remains fresh and warm and we look forward to returning again next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodyEve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

We booked this bed and breakfast via Trailfinders. It was a little pricey (but then so is much of the Cape accommodation) but worth it for the relaxing atmosphere and lovely room. We stayed in the Kristina room which was in the Painted lady - it had a spa bath and was a nice large room. Breakfast was served next door in the Belfry and was lovely - lots of choice and waitress service. We didn't eat in the Belfry but chose to eat at the Painted Lady instead - this was lovely - I cannot recommend enough the sharing plate of desserts. We also ate at the Daniel Webster Inn - this was nothing in comparison to the Painted Lady meal and was a bit disappointing. It was great for the beach - there were chairs and umbrellas to take for the day - a very nice touch!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nürnberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

The Belfry Inne in Sandwich is as good as the photos show on the homepage (www.belfryinn.com). It´s a nicely modified church from 1902 and two adjoining buildings. Each chambers are nobly furnished and you feel like beeing transported back to the early 20th century, modern luxury included. Every sleeping room with air condition, most rooms with fireplace and/or a bath with jacuzzi (whirlpool). Breakfast is very tasty. Lunch an dinner are expensive but first-class. An alternitive for dinner is "marshlands" on route 6A not far away. The Town of Sandwich is beautyful and a good place to travel for example to Plymouth (1h), Boston (1,5h), Providence (1,5h) or Provincetown (1,5h).

We really liked to stay in Belfy Inne an recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Axel_Beckert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

This was our fourth or fifth trip to the Belfry Inn. The first time we stayed we had wanted a room at the Daniel Webster Inn which is right around the corner but their rooms were filled, so we booked a room at the Belfry. We have been staying at the Belfry by choice since then. This is not a deluxe hotel, but a quaint, charming, New England Inn. The staff are friendly, pleasant, and warm. Breakfast which is included with the price of the room is tasty and substantial. Dinner at the Belfry is exceptional, ehanced by the piano player, wait-staff that make you feel like family and a mixologist behind the bar that is willing to create some of the most wonderfully tempting mixed drinks that I have tried. The Belfry is an incredible experience,.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindywou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Laud FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

We were welcomed and made to feel at home immediately upon entering the Belfry. We stayed in the Saturday room and loved it! The staff is wonderful and we could not have asked for a better start to our vacation. We spent 3 nights there and highly recommend The Belfry when traveling to the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandwich
22.9 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
15.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 20 in Falmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
17.0 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Courtyard Cape Cod Hyannis
0.1 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 8 in Sandwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
22.4 mi away
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Harwich Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfry Inn and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfry Inn and Bistro

Property: Belfry Inn and Bistro
Address: 6 Jarves St, Sandwich, MA 02563-2219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Belfry Inn and Bistro 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Cod’s jewel, a small boutique Inn, set in the center of Sandwich Village, is an architectural masterpiece; the Abbey, (ca.1901) a former church with six guest suites above the Bistro. Imaginative interiors, soaring space, stain glass windows. Offering a host of amenities, decks, whirlpools for two and fireplaces. Full gourmet breakfast. Offering hospitality year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belfry Inn and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfry Inne And Bistro Hotel Sandwich
Belfry Inn And Bistro Sandwich, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing