We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent B&B in Sandwich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Sandwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have stayed in other B&Bs in a couple of countries. They are usually always in old historic houses. If you want shiny new amenities and the anonymity of a chain hotel , you should probably look elsewhere. For those of us who appreciate the history and quaintness of a B&B, Isaiah Jones is truly excellent.

We stayed in the Captain Weeks room in the Carriage house. It was very nice. My wife and I appreciated the privacy and how quiet it was at night. The sheets and towels are very high quality. The room atmosphere including skylights, jacuzzi, and gas fireplace was worth the extra money. We did not spend much time in the room, but if you do plan to stay in, you should know that the TV is very small. It should probably be upgraded.

Donnie and Katherine are very good hosts and genuinely nice people. Katherine is also an excellent breakfast chef. One of the great advantages of a B&B is being able to benefit from the experience and connections of the Inn keepers. They will make suggestions for anything you are interested in doing in the area and they will help you any way they can.

Here are two great examples:
We had an issue with our ferry tickets to/from Nantucket. We purchased round trip tickets on Hy-Line Cruises. Due to the timing, we purchased Hyannis to Nantucket on the high speed ferry (1 hour) and the return on the slow speed ferry (~2 hours). This was necessary because the 5:00pm high speed ferry on Hy-Line Cruises was fully booked. Once on Nantucket, we purchased high speed return ferry tickets with Steamship Authority, the other ferry service between Hyannis and Nantucket. Hy-Line cruises would not refund the return tickets on the slow ferry. They would only give credit toward a future far within one year.
The next day, I gave the tickets to Donnie and asked him to give them to another future guest with our compliments. He graciously accepted, but then immediately went to work getting the money refunded. Within about 1/2 hour, he had pulled his Innkeeper strings and the money was refunded. !This! is the advantage of a GREAT Inn keeper! Thank you Donnie!

The normal breakfast time is 8:30AM until 10:00AM. We needed to leave early one morning for a trip to Nantucket and Donnie and Katherine made us a great early breakfast. We really appreciated the special service and their willingness to please without us even asking. They may not be able to do this every time, so you should not necessarily count on it...

We met some very nice people over port and sherry in the living room in the evening. That is a nice touch.

Donnie gave us a quick tour of the main house rooms that were not occupied at that time. My favorite room was the Deming Jarves Suite. The furnishings are beautiful and the bathroom is quite nice.

The stairs in the house are narrow and steep (it is a very old building...) If you have issues with stairs, you might consider the 1st floor rooms or the carriage house rooms.

If you are planning a trip to Cape Cod, like B&Bs and want to meet some great people, stay at Isaiah Jones Homestead B&B.

Room Tip: Captain Weeks is a nice somewhat isolated room in the carriage house. We toured the main house and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We arrived here out of the blue on Memorial weekend with no notion of what to expect. Sadly, we had to leave again 5 nights later !

To say that we enjoyed our stay is an under-estimate. The homestead location is quiet and peaceful, but also within easy walking of all that pretty Sandwich has to offer. The homestead is set in lovely mature gardens, which we enjoyed using, and it benefits from off-street parking. We really loved out sumptuous Carriage House bedroom and very much appreciated the attention to and investment in the many small details that enhanced our experience even more.

Our hosts could not have been nicer, more welcoming, or more helpful, and we looked forward every single day to another different, but ever delicious breakfast.

We would recommend anyone to stay here and wish heartily that we could go back tomorrow !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed in the Carriage House (Weeks Suite) for the past three days and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Katherine and Donnie are fantastic hosts and the rooms and common rooms are cozy and welcoming. The extra touches (sherry, port and delicious treats in the afternoons; grapefruits soaps, house branded lip balms, super fluffy towels, DVDs and library, fridge and glasses for your own wine or soft drinks, Keurig machines, to mention some but not all) are have been carefully thought out. Breakfasts were truly gourmet and delicious, especially Donnie's 'world famous juice' :-) and unique coffee blend. I came away thinking how I can improve my own home for future guests! Thank you Donnie and Katherine so much for your hospitality, humour and kindness. We will be back! J and A.

Room Tip: We really liked the Carriage House, especially having a king sized bed but I think all the room are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katchapuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is how I experienced this refuge: a quiet street, flowering Rhododendrons, warn welcome, flowering violets in the beautifully English style breakfast room, birds singing and flitting in and out of nests, our cottage styled room in the carriage house, a w o n d e r f u l Jacuzzi bath, scrumptious food, Donnie's whimsy, Katherine's down-home heartedness, steps to the town, walking the boardwalk and beach leisurely, gentle kisses from "Sheree and Katie", comfy cozy in our bed with skylights open... Ah... and the memories that linger in my mind.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have only stayed in one other bed and breakfast but this was such an amazing inn.
Everything was so quaint and very clean. Donnie and his wife Katherine were so friendly and helped us to plan our excursions. Breakfast was wonderful. We will definitely plan on visiting more bed and breakfast inns in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edomcowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We arrived late at the Inn the evening we stayed, but we were welcomed with open arms. Donnie and Katherine were fantastic hosts who provided not only a beautiful, lovely breakfast, but offered helpful hints and advice about the area and surrounding towns. We felt extremely lucky and special to have people who truly cared about us and our vacation time on the Cape. It felt like family. This beautiful, well maintained B&B is a place you won't want to miss in this gorgeous little town of Sandwich. Wish we could have stayed another night.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Captain William Weeks Room, located in the Carriage House. It was like having our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We just stayed here over the weekend for our Anniversary & what a wonderful weekend we had! The Innkeepers, Donnie & Katherine, were more than gracious, friendly & helpful. The room was very inviting & cozy, housekeeping ensured daily upkeep. The breakfast was amazing, thoroughly enjoyable. We fully enjoyed all aspects of our stay: the overall hospitality, location, food. Highly recommend & would certainly stay here again for our next trip to the Cape!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank monkeymomdmkbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandwich
14.2 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,261 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandwich Inn & Suites
Sandwich Inn & Suites
#1 of 6 in Sandwich
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Sandwich
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belfry Inn and Bistro
Belfry Inn and Bistro
#4 of 7 in Sandwich
263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Acres Motel
Country Acres Motel
#3 of 6 in Sandwich
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
The 1750 Inn at Sandwich Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast

Address: 165 Main St, Sandwich, MA 02563-2283
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sandwich
Price Range: £164 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Victorian house and Carriage House located in the charming village of Sandwich, Cape Cod, Massachusetts, with private bathrooms, king and queen beds and lovely appointments and amenities. Walk to nearby shops, restaurants and such attractions as the Sandwich Glass Museum and the Heritage Museums and Gardens. Just .75 mile to beautiful Town Neck Beach and a short drive to the walking/bicycle paths along the scenic Cape Cod Canal. A great location for exploring all of Cape Cod (Hyannisport, Chatham, Provincetown, etc.,) Martha's Vineyard, Nantucket, Newport, and Boston. Less than 90 minutes from the airports in Boston or Providence, Rhode Island and about 4.5 hours drive from New York City. Full breakfast provided each day and plenty of complimentary off-street parking and Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast Sandwich, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing