We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, delightful one-week stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Sandwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2010

My wife and I spent six days at this inn. I could recite all the usual superlatives for a well-run establishment of this nature - charming room, excellent service, quaint atmosphere, superb breakfasts - but the real keys to the truly special nature of the inn are the proprietors, Donnie and Katherine. They made my wife and me feel as if we were their personal guests and that we were to be accommodated as friends. When it was time to head home, we were sad not only that our vacation had ended but also that we were leaving such wonderful hosts. Donnie and Katherine apparently enjoy running the inn and dealing with people, and it is their personal touches that make a stay at this inn a unique experience.

Elliot W

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2010

Just returned for a short trip to New England and this was one of the highlights.
Donny and Catherine are great hosts making you feel at home as soon as you walk through the door. The breakfasts are amazing - homemade scones, pancakes, fruit dishes... The homestead is a delightful old building with furnishings to match and is a great place to relax after a busy day sight seeing.
Go for a walk around Sandwich and particularly the boardway to the beach - it's worth it. But watch out for Monday night when most restaurants are closed!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

When my girlfriend and I visited Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed and Breakfast in July of 2010, we were unhappy to find it very overrated. We were expecting a high level of service, luxury and food and were disappointed. As a result we cannot fully recommend it, but we do think that it would be a good second or third place option if you would like to stay in Sandwich, which we do recommend. This is a lengthy review that I broke down by section so it would be easier for the reader to digest.
SERVICE: We found the innkeepers, Donnie and Katherine, to be pleasant and well-meaning but overbearing at times and largely unhelpful. One part of a “summer fun package” we purchased (which by the way did not result in any savings, which is misleading) was passage by ferry to Martha’s Vineyard. They cheerfully provided us with gift certificates but not tickets (so it didn’t save us any time since we still had to wait in line) and failed to volunteer critical non-obvious information, such as how much time to allow to make the boat. We allowed an extra 35 minutes but it wasn’t enough to get there, get on the bus to the ferry from the parking lot, and exchange the gift certificates for the tickets.
The other parts of the package were a whale watch with Hyannis Whale Watching Tours (which was excellent by the way) and a dinner (up to $50) at a restaurant of our choice. The tickets for the tours are date and time specific so we let them know at breakfast that we wanted to do a tour that day. Donnie happily obliged our decision and began to push a restaurant for us to go to afterwards. When we decided to go elsewhere, he made it seem as if it was a significant burden for them to arrange and followed up with us late that night and the next morning to remind us how imposing we were. Why he didn’t just offer guests like us a $50 Visa check card for this is beyond me. Besides, $50 hardly covered the cost of the modest meal we had either at the restaurant of our choice or the place he recommended so the offer of an “included dinner” again seemed misleading. Finally, the pressure to choose a poor restaurant during breakfast and the awkward late-night meeting really rubbed us the wrong way.
LUXURY: We stayed in the Thomas Dexter room which we found to be clean and in satisfactory condition, but the living room area of the house felt old and smelled musty. The air conditioning was weak, coming through a single small heat vent on the floor, but the cool evening air and a ceiling fan was enough to keep us comfortable. The entrance to the room was through a very steep stairwell that opposed the innkeeper’s quarters, distinct from the hall that served other rooms in the main house. The bathroom was clean but the cheap style of the fixtures was reminiscent of a Holiday Inn, not a luxurious bed and breakfast. It also had an additional door that led to the main hallway, which was uncomfortable since it directly opposed the toilet and had a large gap at the bottom.
FOOD: We were generally unimpressed with the breakfasts, not only because of the food, but also because they didn’t start until 8:30am which interfered with some of our early days. To be fair, the freshly squeezed orange juice and the quality of the small serving of fruit we were provided was very good but the entrées were consistently underwhelming. They were unimaginatively simple (such as “eggs to order”) where even a simple request for toast was met with puzzlement. This level of food is fine for the continental breakfast at the Holiday Inn but it is unacceptable for a luxury bed and breakfast where this meal helps define the experience of the entire stay.
BOTTOM LINE: The location of this bed and breakfast is very convenient to the lovely town of Sandwich which has a very nice beach, a nice mainstreet with good not-too-touristy shops (The Spotted Cod, The Brown Jug) and Heritage Gardens which is a nice little botanical garden with a very impressive collection of beautifully restored classic cars. The Glass Museum is also pretty cool. The local beaches are also very nice.
While we unreservedly recommend staying in Sandwich, at the Isaiah Jones Homestead, the Innkeepers are fairly nice but uninspired and the combination of a modest level of luxury and the disappointing breakfasts make for poor value. Check out the Belfry Inn on Jarves Street or the Daniel Webster Inn first.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank batiger05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isaiahjones, Owner at Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2010

We were devastated to learn that any of our guests had had a less than satisfying experience staying with us. Because we have such wonderful people visiting our bed and breakfast, we have no problem tending to their every need and every desire. We both have many years' experience in the hospitality and travel industry, as most of our guests know, so are often a wealth of information for those visiting the area for the first time. Of course, we do find that some guests rely on information they've gleaned from friends or other sources, so do not choose to avail themselves of our expertise. Often this is just fine, but sometimes it results in surprises for the unwary. We've also noticed that on the rare occasion when we offer "eggs to order" for breakfast, it's easy to satisfy everyone who chooses what they truly love, such as an omelet or eggs benedict. Not so with plain scrambled egg whites (requested without cheese or sauteed vegetables,) we're afraid. We doubt anyone would feel that they'd had an inspired breakfast with an uninspired choice such as that! And, too, when guests choose a room with a standard private bathroom rather than one with a whirlpool tub and separate shower (which costs a bit more,) they may feel the level of luxury they're experiencing is not the same as it is for other guests who have paid for those extras.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Our first trip to Sandwich and chose this B&B based on reviews seen. We were not disappointed!!! Welcomed to home and given a tour by owner who had a great sense of humour and made you instantly feel at home. Stayed in the Samuel Beale Room - absolutely fabulous, comfortable bed in a quiet room even being on the ground floor. They spoiled us rotten as I have food sensitvities and breakfasts were made specific for my needs -- I did not feel any different, or miss any courses, than any other guest! And the food was delicious!!! Don also booked a whale watching tour for us that was part of a package we took with them and it was a great tour! Offerred many little extras that made our stay extra special such as extra glass ware for our use found in the living room along with wine openers; individual cup coffee maker, tea, ice and fridge availabe to guests in dining room 24 hours a day, copies of local menus and area attractions in den, current and up to date DVDs we could use if we chose to watch them. We are planning on going back!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocelyne2432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

The Isaiah Jones Homestead was a wonderful surprise. We loved it. Donnie was attentive without being overbearing. The house was immaculate.

The full breakfast was a cut above. Grilled pineapple, fresh muffins, eggs benedict and perfect coffee.

Walk to all the restaurants and attractions of Sandwich.

A wonderful addition to our trip to Sandwich, MA which is also highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yountswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

It's too bad we had only two nights to spend at this beautiful inn, but we look forward to returning. The word that best seems to describe one's experience at this property is "gracious". The house itself is absolutely gorgeous and took us away to a much earlier time. Donnie and Katherine Sanderson were the epitome of B & B hosts. Donnie gives the impression in both word and deed that his sole mission in life is the comfort, convenience and happiness of his guests; Katherine is a terrific chef and her creations were both delicious and memorable. Everything, from the beautifully appointed rooms to the wonderful breakfasts to the sherry and port in the front room to cap the day made our stay entirely enjoyable. We highly recommend the Isaiah Jones Homestead!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BettyandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Donnie and Katherine were the sweetest inn keepers! They truly welcome you into their home with open arms. They have kept the inn in prestine condition and the grounds are gorgeous. My husband and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARMarrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandwich
14.2 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,246 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandwich Inn & Suites
Sandwich Inn & Suites
#1 of 6 in Sandwich
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Sandwich
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Country Acres Motel
Country Acres Motel
#3 of 6 in Sandwich
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belfry Inn and Bistro
Belfry Inn and Bistro
#4 of 7 in Sandwich
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
The 1750 Inn at Sandwich Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast

Address: 165 Main St, Sandwich, MA 02563-2283
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sandwich
Price Range: £161 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Victorian house and Carriage House located in the charming village of Sandwich, Cape Cod, Massachusetts, with private bathrooms, king and queen beds and lovely appointments and amenities. Walk to nearby shops, restaurants and such attractions as the Sandwich Glass Museum and the Heritage Museums and Gardens. Just .75 mile to beautiful Town Neck Beach and a short drive to the walking/bicycle paths along the scenic Cape Cod Canal. A great location for exploring all of Cape Cod (Hyannisport, Chatham, Provincetown, etc.,) Martha's Vineyard, Nantucket, Newport, and Boston. Less than 90 minutes from the airports in Boston or Providence, Rhode Island and about 4.5 hours drive from New York City. Full breakfast provided each day and plenty of complimentary off-street parking and Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast Sandwich, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing