We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“terrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandwich Lodge & Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sandwich Lodge & Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Sandwich
South Lyon, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Do not book at the Lodge! My girlfriend and I recently stayed here for the first time as we were in town for a wedding on August 9th. Our room was terrible: there were numerous cigarette holes in the blankets, dark stains on the sheets, and the room reeked like air freshener trying to cover something up. The smell was so bad, the chemicals used in whatever spray they had gave my friend hives/we both woke up feeling cloudy/sneezing from the smell. We had the room for another night, and asked for a refund given the hives/it seemed they used the same “cleaning” agent in all the rooms, but they said “it wasn’t their policy”. Since it’s not our policy to stay at a place that makes us feel so ill, we definitely don’t recommend staying here. One exception: the bar next door has killer buffalo dip and a sassy bar staff which (almost) makes up for the horrible Lodge experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita P, Manager at Sandwich Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for your review. I remember you and your girlfriend checking in early due to the wedding that you were attending on that Friday. I had actually came to your room to assist you. There were no complaints from you or your friend about the room. Upon check out you had mentioned that you were checking out due to allergies but you knew you had booked a pet friendly room anyway. Again there was no mention of you not being happy with the room. There are several rooms that have complained the weekend of Aug 8th & Aug 9th, because of the 2 night minimum, and wanting to stay only 1 night and not being able too and all rooms that were booked were our standard pet friendly rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    95
    68
    30
    39
See reviews for
123
76
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We booked through Priceline for a nonsmoking room with a king size bed. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the staff was helpful and friendly. Free breakfast consisted of what you would expect: Dowe Eggbert coffee, bagels, muffins, cereal, Lipton tea bags, Danish, juice, and apples. The only complaint we have is that the tub and sink didn't drain properly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHandymansWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita P, Manager at Sandwich Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to offer our hospitality to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lier, Belgium
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

outdated. We signed up for a non smoking room but it smelled weird, like an old smoking room which has been turned into a non smoking room. The room was very humid, after two days stay our clothes were humid as well. Not a very good experience. Think twice before you decide. Out of the 9 hotels on our tour throught the states, this was the worst one.

Room Tip: ask for a real non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita P, Manager at Sandwich Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
I am sorry to hear about your unsatisfactory stay with us at the Lodge. I know that I had spoken to your several times during your stay, when you had asked about directions or other things, but nothing was mention to me or my staff that we could have helped make your stay enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandwich hotels

West Barnstable, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

My husband and I booked 6 nights there after being displaced from our home on CC after a house fire. We arrived at 9PM with no place else to go. Our room was dirty, musty, moldy. The bed linens were GROSS to say the least...We slept in our clothes on top of the bed.......I woke the next am covered in bug bites.......needless to say we couldn't exit the dump fast enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 568Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita P, Manager at Sandwich Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
I am very shocked to see a review from you after my staff went above and beyond to help you find a room with a dog at our establishment on a very busy weekend here in Cape Cod. You had booked for 6 nights upon check in but told me the next morning that the insurance company had not paid you for room rental and asked that I consider the cancellation policy and to let you leave due to you not having any cash. Due to you being a fire victim I decided to let you leave without a penalty. Thank you for posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Envision a 60's motel - drive up and park at your room's door, open the door and see a room that looks like it truly is the 60's. Carpet appears to be that old (do not let children play on it and always wear shoes), a eclectic assortment of furniture appears to have been assembled from several used hotel furniture sales. To say the the room has a musty odor is an all time understatement. Must admit that the bathroom appeared to have been recently renovated and the mattress was comfortable. Be careful about their reservation policy - a week's notice for cancellation. Best part was when I asked the front desk person what happened if I checked out and they subsequently rented the room, was told that I would still be charged and they would also charge the subsequent occupant. Something seems illegal about this, but if not it certainly is unethical. On top of that we were paying a premium rate of approximately $125. Next night was at a Homewood Suites for $99 and it truly was like the Ritz after this experience. Bottom line - go elsewhere. Other members of our party indicated similar room conditions, so don't let the owner try to make you believe this was just a "bad room" that night.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita P, Manager at Sandwich Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
This is a review posted by the same party from the previous reviewer. We are reputable business in Cape Cod MA and have been for years. The same response replies to this review as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

I recently stayed here while attending a wedding on the Cape. By far the worst hotel experience in my life! The rooms are musty, extremely outdated, linens were torn, cigarette burns in the bedding in a non smoking room, 20+ year old tv, furniture must have been acquired from a Hilton remodel because the armoire had the Hilton logo on it, air was either hot or freezing, the carpet was completely disgusting, no closet just a open rack with 4 hangers, iron was so coated with gunk that it ruined my pants, curtains didn't close all the way. Our plans changed and we tried to cancel one day of our reservation several days prior to arriving and they would not cancel, the only hotel I have ever come across that has a 7 day prior cancellation policy, completely shady business! Our party occupied numerous rooms in the hotel and all had the same if not worse complaints.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stacyid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita P, Manager at Sandwich Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
I am sorry to hear about your unsatisfactory stay with us at the Lodge via Tripadvisor. None of your complaints were brought to the attention of my staff that we could have tried to rectified or mentioned at check out. We do have several types of rooms at the Lodge and other options would have been offered had we been made aware of your complaints. I know that you were very disappointed with our change and cancellation policy, this was mentioned to you at the time of reservation and in an email confirmation that was sent to you after your reservation was made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
286 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

I was travelling further on Cape and stopped here for one night. My room was very spacious and clean. It had a small kitchenette. No microwave or coffee maker though. Fridge and sink with disposable dishes and utensils. They serve a continental breakfast. They have TWO pools and they are a short drive to several local beaches. Located close to a grocery store, ice cream shops and restaurants. The king bed was comfy and the hotel was quiet overnight. I will definitely return for another stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Genny164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita P, Manager at Sandwich Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to offer our hospitality to you again in the future. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandwich
15.1 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
14.4 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sandwich Inn & Suites
Sandwich Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in Sandwich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
11.6 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#6 of 20 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 8 in Sandwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandwich Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandwich Lodge & Resort

Property: Sandwich Lodge & Resort
Address: 54 Route 6a, Old Kings Highway, Sandwich, MA 02563-1038
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandwich Lodge & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of Cape Cod hospitality at Sandwich Lodge & Resort. Located on picturesque Old King's Highway (Route 6A) in the beautiful village of Sandwich on Cape Cod. Historical Sandwich Village is a world known tourist destination on Cape Cod. Old King's Highway flows through the heart of Sandwich which has been voted one of America's top 10 scenic highways.Relax in our spacious rooms, heated indoor water pool with Jacuzzi, and our seasonal outdoor pool. Enjoy our family BBQ area and arcade, relax in our lobby where coffee/tea is available 24 hours a day. Complimentary Continental Breakfast, which is served in our breakfast room daily, and there is complimentary WIFI throughout the building. Be our guest and enjoy a discount for lunch or dinner at British Beer Company, located next door to the Lodge. Group services available for Weddings, Reunions, Bus Tours and Sports Teams. The Lodge is open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sandwich Lodge & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandwich Hotel Sandwich
Sandwich Lodge And Resort
Sandwich Resort
Sandwich Lodge & Resort MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing