We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandwich Lodge & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandwich Lodge & Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Sandwich
Charlotte
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Our room was spacious with dining/kitchen area. Beds were comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
There is a shopping area across the street from the lodge and a restaurant next door. A continental breakfast is included. My favorite was the coffee. It was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1139anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita P, Manager at Sandwich Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for your review. I hope to offer our hospitality to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    94
    68
    30
    39
See reviews for
123
75
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I booked a room at this location because it had the space needed in case our grandkids wanted to join us. We were at a family reunion at a camp. The motel is clearly outdated. The word "shabby" used in many of these reviews is appropriate. Our room had stained chairs, no a/c in bedroom area (fan), a loud, creaky bathroom fan, small stains on sheet and tube-type TVs with a terrible picture. Not all channels listed on their card were available. The room, even though on the second floor, was adjacent to the indoor pool area. So it was noisy until the pool closed at 10 p.m. First motel I've ever seen structured that way. Continental breakfast was bare minimum. Tried to get some orange juice and apple juice and it was just water with slight taste of juice. Rear door card reader didn't work well so you had to spend quite a while to get in. I let several people in when going out as they too couldn't open door.

The bathroom was clean. Pretty much the only positive I can report. We did not speak to management. Interesting that when checking out they don't ask "How was your stay?" or "We hope to see you again". You get nothing. So we obviously won't return. Will try to visit other motels in area next time before booking.

Room Tip: Be aware of rooms adjacent to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tommM8157HT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita P, Manager at Sandwich Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
I am sorry to hear about your unsatisfactory stay with us via Tripadvisor. I wish you had brought your complaints to the attention of our front desk staff and they would have changed the room or helped in any way they could to make your stay enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandwich hotels

Chicago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed there on a recommendation from a local that lived in Sandwich, and the place was absolutely wonderful. We had a huge room for a very reasonable price, the pool and hot tub were beyond clean, and they also had a ping pong table for guests to use that I thought was very cool. Everything was spacious in this place, the hallways to the rooms, the rooms themselves and the indoor pool area. There was an outdoor pool as well, but we didn't stay long enough to enjoy that. The staff was super friendly, very helpful and knowledgeable and we will be staying there again when we are in the area. It was nice and quiet at night, so we slept very well.

Room Tip: I think every room in this place must be spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoNewbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita P, Manager at Sandwich Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

After reading some of the reviews that people were writing about this lovely lodge, I must admit I was a bit skeptical about staying here. All I can figure is it must be people that are not satisfied no matter where they stay. We had reservations to kayak earlier in the day and didn't want to drive back home (a 2 hour ride from the Cape without traffic - and when, really, is there not traffic coming off the Cape?) on a Sunday night. This hotel offers both pet friendly and not pet friendly rooms and I need a non pet friendly with my allergies. We checked in right around 3:00 and the people at the desk were friendly, polite and welcoming. I had booked a small suite because I wanted to be somewhere that my friends and my husband and I could hang around and be comfortable. I was not disappointed. We walked up a flight of stairs to this room that was on the right as you walked out of top door. The suite faces both the street and the back grassy area. You walk into the very clean kitchen that has a full size fridge and stove, microwave and cabinets. Now, if you're going to stay there for any lenghth of time, there was only one fry pan plastic plates and plasticware in the drawers, but, for my purposes as an overnight, it was perfect. Our friends, that also stayed there, came up and had a drink before dinner and they loved our room too :) There was also a couch and TV in that room as well. The bedroom was huge with a king size very comfortable bed. Sheets were soft and not all "bleachy" smelling. The bathroom was adequate and again clean and lots of towels. We had a great nights sleep, lots of great water pressure and hot water. Can you ask for anything else? I'd stay here again in a minute and especially in room 231!

Room Tip: Room 231 ROCKS! I recommend it highly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita P, Manager at Sandwich Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to offer our services to your again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We had a poolside room for 5 , musty smell in room pull out couch hit against TV stand no room to move around once couch was out.The staff is very nice and friendly but place is old and could use a fresh coat of paint at least. A good thing about the poolside room was when the door was closed you didn't hear a thing. If you call yourself a resort you need to offer more to guest besides pool and ping pong tables. The indoor pool was freezing
The staff was nice and very friendly It's ok for a night or two on the cape but it's definatly not a resort

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueM312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita P, Manager at Sandwich Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for your review and compliments to our staff. We do have other amenities besides the 2 you mentioned, which are volley ball area in the back field, barbecue grills with picnic tables, shuffle boards, horse shoes and arcade area. We are located on 6.5 acres of land as well and close to the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lyon, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Do not book at the Lodge! My girlfriend and I recently stayed here for the first time as we were in town for a wedding on August 9th. Our room was terrible: there were numerous cigarette holes in the blankets, dark stains on the sheets, and the room reeked like air freshener trying to cover something up. The smell was so bad, the chemicals used in whatever spray they had gave my friend hives/we both woke up feeling cloudy/sneezing from the smell. We had the room for another night, and asked for a refund given the hives/it seemed they used the same “cleaning” agent in all the rooms, but they said “it wasn’t their policy”. Since it’s not our policy to stay at a place that makes us feel so ill, we definitely don’t recommend staying here. One exception: the bar next door has killer buffalo dip and a sassy bar staff which (almost) makes up for the horrible Lodge experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita P, Manager at Sandwich Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for your review. I remember you and your girlfriend checking in early due to the wedding that you were attending on that Friday. I had actually came to your room to assist you. There were no complaints from you or your friend about the room. Upon check out you had mentioned that you were checking out due to allergies but you knew you had booked a pet friendly room anyway. Again there was no mention of you not being happy with the room. There are several rooms that have complained the weekend of Aug 8th & Aug 9th, because of the 2 night minimum, and wanting to stay only 1 night and not being able too and all rooms that were booked were our standard pet friendly rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We booked through Priceline for a nonsmoking room with a king size bed. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the staff was helpful and friendly. Free breakfast consisted of what you would expect: Dowe Eggbert coffee, bagels, muffins, cereal, Lipton tea bags, Danish, juice, and apples. The only complaint we have is that the tub and sink didn't drain properly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHandymansWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita P, Manager at Sandwich Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to offer our hospitality to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandwich
15.1 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
14.4 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sandwich Inn & Suites
Sandwich Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in Sandwich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
11.6 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#6 of 20 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 8 in Sandwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandwich Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandwich Lodge & Resort

Property: Sandwich Lodge & Resort
Address: 54 Route 6a, Old Kings Highway, Sandwich, MA 02563-1038
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandwich Lodge & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of Cape Cod hospitality at Sandwich Lodge & Resort. Located on picturesque Old King's Highway (Route 6A) in the beautiful village of Sandwich on Cape Cod. Historical Sandwich Village is a world known tourist destination on Cape Cod. Old King's Highway flows through the heart of Sandwich which has been voted one of America's top 10 scenic highways.Relax in our spacious rooms, heated indoor water pool with Jacuzzi, and our seasonal outdoor pool. Enjoy our family BBQ area and arcade, relax in our lobby where coffee/tea is available 24 hours a day. Complimentary Continental Breakfast, which is served in our breakfast room daily, and there is complimentary WIFI throughout the building. Be our guest and enjoy a discount for lunch or dinner at British Beer Company, located next door to the Lodge. Group services available for Weddings, Reunions, Bus Tours and Sports Teams. The Lodge is open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sandwich Lodge & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandwich Hotel Sandwich
Sandwich Lodge And Resort
Sandwich Resort
Sandwich Lodge & Resort MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing