We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandwich Lodge & Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sandwich
Reviewed 22 July 2008

If you Paid $30.00 a night for a room at this so called Motel, It would be too much! Bathroom falling apart. Rust every-where, broken soap dish, tub would not drain. Over-all very dirty. Musty smell in the room. 2 Pools with green water. Bad room service. I Could go on and on. Save your-self the trouble and do Not stay here because it's a terrible place to stay in a nice town. The Toliet at the local gas station is cleaner then this entire place.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lawlpww1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
There are newer reviews for Sandwich Lodge & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2007

Having booked the motel and then read some of the reviews I was somewhat concerned about what I had let myself in for !!

The great news is that all of the reviews that were critical turned out to be completely unfounded. The staff were great, friendly, helpful and efficient. The room was huge, had a massive bed, fridge, microwave and a good bathroom. Everything was clean and a continental breakfast was thrown in for free. Obviously people can only comment how they finds things but I would not let previous reviews put people off. Interestingly I discussed the reviews with the manager and found out that there is a new team in place so how about you give them a chance !!

Great value and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2007

Our family has been staying in Sandwich for the past 10 years. We have stayed at almost every place on Rt 6 and have never had the type of experience we had this time. The room we had was so filthy that we would not stay and left shortly after we arrived. The furniture is so dirty that I wouldn't allow my children to touch it, the sheets on the beds looked like they had not be washed, had black stains on them and one of the headboards had a stain on it that I wouldn't even attempt to describe because it's too discusting, there was also a drink on the floor by the bed that my child picked up. It's a shame that this place has Sandwich in it's name, Sandwich is a beautiful place and most of the hotels/motels are clean, not this one. To top it off they still charged us for one night even though we didn't stay. If you need to stay in Sandwich don't stay at the SANDWICH LODGE.
Sally Fredella/Methuen MA

Stayed: July 2007
5  Thank sfredella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2007

My husband and I returned to this hotel after 11 years and what an extreme disappointed. The hotel has decreased all of its simple amenities (i.e. plastic wrap cups) now the cups are opened Styrofoam cups. The hotel walls are so thin that we were kept awake by the neighboring room where two men were having a normal toned conversation ALL NIGHT long. When we brought this to the hotel staffs attention they simply stated we should have called last night because there is a 10pm quiet time rule. However, the gentlemen in the next room are entitled to talk if they wanted (thank goodness they were not doing other things). The customer service was atrocious, rude and thoughtless. We were told that they cater to transit people. We will never return and it is unfortunate because that lodge held sentimental value to us.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank whydothis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2006

We stayed here in early November for three nights (mid-week), and truly enjoyed our stay. Our room was a one room suite (as they call it), which had a king bed and a kitchenette, and a window that actually opened--nice, since it was near 70 degrees while we there. The room was very clean and the housekeeping staff did a terrific job. Check in was smooth and the front desk clerk was very helpful, giving us directions and information about things to do in the area. Our room was near the pool and spa, which we used several times, and which were very clean. They have a deal with the British Beer Company next door for a 10% discount if you show your room key. As it was off-season, we ate there a couple of times (not much else nearby was open), and enjoyed the atmosphere and the food.

The Lodge is a nice place to stay and a terrific value in the off-season. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lilypadlips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2006

Luckily we only stayed here for two nights. This place is not very savoury. The first room we were given had a very noisy extractor fan in the bathroom - it was that noisy that you wouldn't want to stay in the bathroom for more than 30 seconds. The 2nd room had horrible stains on the carpet in half a dozen different areas - the tv had missing knobs and the light in the bedroom was totally inadequate. The sofa also had a burn mark and stain. If you need to use their pc (which is in the lobby) to check your email it is a very dated computer with a small screen. They have a room with video arcade machines. They also have a washer and dryer - these could prove useful if you need to get washing done.

Probably the only plus side is that it is right next door to the British Beer Company, a pub/restaurant with English beers and English type food. This was very good quality and they gave a discount to us as hotel residents next door.

The whole place needs to be refurbished during the winter as it does have some potential to be a good hotel. However, we got the impression that the management weren't really that interested.

Try other places on the Cape - the only way is up!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank pepperwhitemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2006

We stayed in their "best" room. It reeked of smoke, mildew, and god knows what. Broken toilet seat, cabinet doors falling off, wallpaper coming off the walls, and blood stains in the bathroom all added to its "ambience." See pictures below. I have more photos, but these make my point--do not stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank falltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandwich
11.7 mi away
Best Western Cape Cod Hotel
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 8 in Bourne
107 reviews
15.2 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sandwich Inn & Suites
Sandwich Inn & Suites
#1 of 6 in Sandwich
200 reviews
1.7 mi away
Country Acres Motel
Country Acres Motel
#3 of 6 in Sandwich
162 reviews
3.5 mi away
Earl of Sandwich Motel
Earl of Sandwich Motel
#1 of 3 in East Sandwich
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandwich Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandwich Lodge & Resort

Address: 54 Route 6a, Old Kings Highway, Sandwich, MA 02563-1038
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sandwich
Price Range: £57 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandwich Lodge & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of Cape Cod hospitality at Sandwich Lodge & Resort. Located on picturesque Old King's Highway (Route 6A) in the beautiful village of Sandwich on Cape Cod. Historical Sandwich Village is a world known tourist destination on Cape Cod. Old King's Highway flows through the heart of Sandwich which has been voted one of America's top 10 scenic highways.Relax in our spacious rooms, heated indoor water pool with Jacuzzi, and our seasonal outdoor pool. Enjoy our family BBQ area and arcade, relax in our lobby where coffee/tea is available 24 hours a day. Complimentary Continental Breakfast, which is served in our breakfast room daily, and there is complimentary WIFI throughout the building. Be our guest and enjoy a discount for lunch or dinner at British Beer Company, located next door to the Lodge. Group services available for Weddings, Reunions, Bus Tours and Sports Teams. The Lodge is open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandwich Lodge & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandwich Hotel Sandwich
Sandwich Lodge And Resort
Sandwich Resort
Sandwich Lodge & Resort MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing