We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Charm of a New England Fishing Village”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Scituate Harbor
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scituate
Certificate of Excellence
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Charm of a New England Fishing Village”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I decided to take off with my three kids on a whim. We used to live in a neighboring town and knew how delightful Scituate was. The location of the Inn is perfect for walking and taking in the scenery. The staff was delightful. Peggy got a roll away bed for the extra large child who doesn't share. We had a room with two beds and plenty of room for the cot. The view from room 29 of the harbor was breathtaking. The breakfast was fresh and beautiful every day. Even the coffee was great! There are some renovations going on soon, so the rooms will change some, but I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FarmerBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    58
    26
    9
    5
See reviews for
55
59
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
142 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed for one night at the Inn at Scituatewith my husband and son. It is ideally located - both in terms of being right on the water and in proximity to walking into town. The view from our room was lovely. In addition, the innkeeper was SO nice. I felt completely welcome there.

However, I was disappointed in the stay for a couple of reasons. My main complaint is that our room was very musty. I know the inn is near the water, and it is damp, but the room did not smell good. It was really rough on our allergies! I think I should have turned on the AC right away to dry it out, but it was not hot out and I try to be conscious of my carbon footprint... Anyway, when I turned on the air conditioner in the morning, the room was much better.

There was a notice in the room that they are in the process of updating furniture and decor. That is good, because the Inn at Scituate is pretty outdated. It is in need of modernizing big time, but my son was thrilled with the big flat screen tv in our room.

Overall, I have to give this inn a mediocre rating. The bones and service are there, but it just does not measure up in the grand scheme of things.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed at the Inn at Scituate Harbour for 2 nights while in town for a wedding. Because we made the booking so far in advance, they kindly upgraded us to a King room, which was very spacious and had a nice view of the Harbour. The water pressure was pretty awful, not what you want when you're trying to prim and preen for a formal occasion. The sound proofing left a lot to be desired. We could clearly hear the phone call going on in the next room (lucky it was my uncle) and the slightest movement of the people upstairs was a real racket in our room. A basic breakfast was included. Overall, the experience was ok, but I wouldn't rave...and I've been known to.

Room Tip: Try for a top floor room to minimise neighbour noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrBron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Nice location, Quaint little Fishing village. I had a great fishing trip with Mass Bay Guides. Hotel Staff was very friendly. Great if you are coming in to Boston and need a little old school New England getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swimmerColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

My now-husband and I stayed here the night before our wedding and on our wedding night. We were told we had the "best room in the hotel" but it was very dated and the bathroom was tiny. We didn't really mind this until the morning of our wedding when we both had to take COLD showers with incredibly weak water pressure. I called the front desk and they offered to take a look at the water. A guy came up and did something to it but by that time it was way too late--we had already showered and had to get going. We didn't bother with the shower and left early the morning after the wedding. I am not one to complain about hotels, but this was overall a very disappointing experience. They didn't offer us any recourse or compensation. It didn't ruin our wedding day, but you can bet we won't be back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katerpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndaf1, General Manager at The Inn at Scituate Harbor, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
We are sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced. I am glad our maintenance technician, who was sent to your room immediately, was able to fix the situation. When your mother booked your room it was because it had a beautiful view, two windows and was a corner room, although a bit smaller, it offered more privacy for your wedding night. We have many repeat guests who specifically request this room over and over again. The Inn was reopened in 2009 and since then has had many updates throughout, including 40 inch flat screens, IPod docking stations, new bathrooms, carpeting windows, window treatments, refrigerators and bedding in all rooms. The furniture, currently hand painted Hitchcock furniture made in New England, is being replaced in June of this year, completing the update process. We are very excited about this and hope that you will give our The Inn at Scituate Harbor another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We had a great stay here with two kids, two and under. The suite was nice and big we even brought the baby walker and a tricycle. the kids loved it! There's a fridge and microwave in the room too. The linens were super soft and the pillows were great, they give you varying densities to choose what you like. The toiletries were crabtree and Evelyn. We had the pool to ourselves which was nice, the water was comfortable temperature. Yessss I agree with other reviewers, the walls are super duper duper THIN!! But all we did was put some white noise on the radio and barely heard a thing. We ordered some pub food from the bar which was decent, coffee and free continental breakfast in the morning was decent too (fruit, yogurt and pastry). Its all so close, a walk down a flight of stairs, no further than in your own house. I would recommend the suite for a family, its comfortable and big. There's also a curtain to separate the seating area from the beds, which is nice when the kids go to sleep. We only paid about $200 off season, great value for the room and location.

Room Tip: Bring a white noise machine, the walls are very very thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tsnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Friendly staff, great location, dated yet clean room with thin walls, pretty good continental breakfast. But otherwise a thumbs down...

The big issue is that we were told when we reserved a room that there would be entertainment and a NYE party in the hotel bar. Upon check in we were told, only after mentioning the bar, that it was closed. Strike 1. Then we were told about about construction in the pool area - new flooring was getting installed - we could still use the pool but be careful. Strike 2. And due to the construction the ice maker was shut down. Strike 3.

Hello, it's New Years Eve - not really a good time to close your bar or perform construction.


Scituate harbor mostly has restaurants and closes early on NYE - that's why we booked at a hotel with a bar and entertainment. We had to notify friends who were to join us at the bar that we had to cancel.

There was no offer of a discount or anything aside from an offer to get ice if we really needed it. They should have at least had the courtesy to notify customers about the bar being closed ahead of time so that we could have made alternate plans.

We made the best of it but doubt we'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jms02050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndaf1, General Manager at The Inn at Scituate Harbor, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
I apologize for any misunderstanding, however our bar was never scheduled to be open on Monday, New Year's Eve. Our winter bar hours are Thursday-Saturday. Our pool was always open and the desk clerk was simply saying that we are installing new tile in the vending machine area and she wanted you to be aware of that but it did not have any bearing on your enjoyment of the pool. The ice machine was located in that area and had to be moved but we do have another ice machine and as you stated the desk clerk was accomodating and was able to fulfill your needs. Hotels are a 24/7 operation and we do the best we can to work around the business of the hotel and the comfort and service of our guests. I believe we did an excellent job of that.

I also am not sure if you recognized this but when you made your reservation your rate was $219 and when we lowered our rates (because New Year's Eve was on a Monday) we refunded you $50, not because you asked but becuase we thought it was the right thing to do. So I do hope you will consider staying again. Our staff and location are the best and we have ordered all new furnishings for the guest rooms to update them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scituate
8.8 mi away
Nantasket Beach Resort
9.3 mi away
Best Western Rockland
Best Western Rockland
#1 of 3 in Rockland
471 reviews
9.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Rockland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kingston Plymouth Bay
9.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 3 in Rockland
124 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hotel 1620 Plymouth Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Scituate Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Scituate Harbor

Property: The Inn at Scituate Harbor
Address: 7 Beaver Dam Rd, Scituate, MA 02066-1305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Scituate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scituate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Scituate Harbor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fresh sea air, a magnificent sunrise, and an amazing view of the ocean harbor and its famous lighthouse; all visible from your window in any one of the spacious guest rooms at The Inn at Scituate Harbor. Located just 25 miles south of Boston, Mass, in the historic town of Scituate, The Inn’s plush and comfortable guest rooms are decorated in a charming Cape Cod seaside style. Traditional New England hospitality is evident in our exceptionally helpful and friendly staff, always eager to welcome you to The Inn at Scituate Harbor and all of its amenities. Enjoy swimming in our indoor heated pool, or you take advantage of one of the five ocean beaches located in Scituate, MA. for sunbathing, swimming or just a seaside stroll. Satisfy the shopper in you by visiting the unique shops in the harbor; savoring a typical New England meal at one of the many restaurants, or pubs, golfing at an award winning golf course or enjoying numerous other local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Scituate Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Scituate Harbor Hotel Scituate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing