We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staveleigh is the perfect place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Sheffield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We absolutely LOVED our stay at Staveleigh. Everything was perfect, including the beautiful old house, our large bedroom, lovely landscaping, and delicious breakfast. I am a stickler for cleanliness and your establishment gets an A Plus. Your small farm area was definitely a highlight. Being raised on a farm, I have a true love for all kinds of animals, and you
covered the bases with the interesting variety of pets. You were so sweet to let us play with them. By the way, Clementine the donkey is a hoot. Edgar is so loveable, the way he climbed up the fence to greet me. I have added a picture of the two of us.
Sheffield is such a lovely quaint town, and we look forward to staying with you again and expoloring the beautiful Berkshires.
Renee & Len Trinca
St. Augustine, Florida

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Len T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed for a week this July. Ali and family make you feel at home, and couldn't me more accommodating. We used the living room each evening for cocktails (there is a guest refrigerator to keep your white wines and snacks), and Ali loaned us a large cooler with wheels for our Friday night sojourn to Tanglewood. Most rooms are small and rather worn, but very clean. Also the air conditioning could use some updating. Ate 7 breakfasts and each one was better than the last with different menus every morning. You're only 5 minutes from the Berkshire School if you're attending any functions there. Watch for the turtle crossing on the Berkshire School Road; you think I'm kidding, but I'm not.

Room Tip: Room 7 is the room to stay in if you want to spread out a bit. Other rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValueFinder29455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

The house is beautiful with so many pretty things to look at and enjoy. Very comfortable and inviting. A shady yard and pretty gardens if your goal is to stay put and relax. I adore all the critters and love a morning greeting from Edgar the dog and Pearl the cat. There is always a cold glass of ice tea available and a baked treat in the cookie jar. Ali makes breakfasts you will dream of long after you have left. Her attention to her guests comfort and her natural ability to make you feel welcome is what makes your time at Staveleigh House memorable and why you will return again and again.

Room Tip: Room No 7 is my favorite - the bed and pillows are so comfy and I love the porch outside the door, p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjcoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Beautiful and relaxing house, phenomenal breakfasts and a really welcoming environment form Ali and her family.

For our 3 year old the horses, sheep and dogs in the yard and barn were exciting and a huge amount of fun.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed only for a Monday night in a quiet week, so we had the house to ourselves. Ali made us feel incredibly welcome with gingerbread cookies and tea -- and as if that wasn't enough, she cooked us the best breakfast ever the next morning!

The historic house is very pretty, charming and well kept, but a bit close to the road, so people with noise issues might be bothered. Bring your ear plugs if you're very sensitive, but DO NOT skip Staveleigh House!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabidias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My dear high school friend and I rendezvoused at Staveleigh House to celebrate my birthday weekend. We stayed in the "Sisters" room and thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Inn. It was a short distance to where we hiked all three days and convenient to great food at night.
The innkeepers love of her craft is felt everywhere - in the ambiance, the delicious breakfasts and the gardens.

Room Tip: The rooms only lock from the inside by a hook, it is an old house. Our private bathroom was a short...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Ali is warm and friendly; the perfect hostess, who operates a cozy, comfortable, attractive olde home, well landscaped with bountiful flowers and herbs. She welcomed us with hot tea and delicious gingerbread cookies. Her breakfasts are fantastic, starting with egg dishes made from fresh eggs from her own hens. My wife and I and three of my sisters stayed at her Inn on September 15, 16 and 17, 2011.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baldy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
15.5 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.8 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#2 of 12 in Great Barrington
176 reviews
18.2 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 20 in Lenox
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#1 of 3 in Norfolk
157 reviews
12.2 mi away
Federal House Inn
6.5 mi away
The Old Inn on the Green
The Old Inn on the Green
#1 of 2 in New Marlborough
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 59 Main St, Sheffield, MA 01257-9555
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Price Range: £117 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, gracious hospitality in circa 1821 home in Historic Sheffield. 7 Comfortable AC guestrooms w/private baths. Splendid breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staveleigh House Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing