We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare place to stay with lovely people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Sheffield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A rare place to stay with lovely people”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed 3 night at the Staveleigh House to go to Ski butternut last week end: it was a wonderful experience! The house is beautiful, you feel as if you were at home. A lot of small details give you the feeling to be in your own house. The breakfast and the tea time are amazing! Corn Bread, Waffles, Ginger bread, hot chocolate, omelettes, ... each time it was very very good!
On top of that, the owners are incredibly sympathetic: Ali and Harry are lovely people, very interesting and so nice! They have a real story to tell and know very well how to welcome people. We will come back for sure, for summer or during winter as we did. A very very good place to stay and benefit from the nature.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christophe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    15
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
71
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We had an amazing stay with Ali and Harry at the Staveleigh over New Year's Eve. We felt so lucky to be able to bring our dog with us. As most dog-owners know, it can be difficult to find accommodations when traveling with the four-legged members of the family. But, our dog was was welcomed at the Staveleigh, and we were pleasantly surprised to find that there was a nice fenced-in yard available on the property for to our dog to play and run. The inn was so clean, quiet, and comfortable, you may have never guessed that there were guests with dogs.

Also, the breakfasts were delicious. Blueberry stuffed French toast! Local maple syrup! Eggs laid that morning by the chickens at the inn! It doesn't get fresher than that.

There was a bit of snow when we stayed, and we discovered some nice trails within a few minutes drive of the Staveleigh, which made it convenient for us + dog to enjoy outside without long car rides. We rented snow shoes from the Bike and Board ($15/day), and then went to Jug End trail near the Berkshire School for a 2 hour hike (no fee) - it was lovely and the terrain was not too difficult. The next day we went to Bear Town State Park ($5 parking fee) for a 4 hour hike along pieces of the Pond Loop and Wildcat trail - this was more challenging (some sections were backwoods - we had to make our own path), but quiet with gorgeous snow-covered scenery. Both places permitted pets on leash.

Overall, we had a wonderful New Year's at the Staveleigh - warm, comfortable accommodations conveniently close to dog-friendly outdoor activities. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the first floor have private entrance - convenient for taking the dog out in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dobbs Ferry, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

If you are planning to stay in the Berkshire Mountains of Western, Massachusetts, plan to stay at the lovely Staveleigh House Bed & Breakfast in Sheffield, MA. It is a wonderfully comfortable, clean, and well maintained B&B. Ali, the hostess/owner of the B&B, is charming and will make sure you are comfortable. Ali cooks up a mean breakfast with fresh eggs right from her chickens that she keeps on the property. It is delightful to visit the domestic animals on the property: chickens, a couple of goats and Shetland ponies, rabbits, and a lovely donkey. You can visit the handsome and rescued Purebred Great Pyrenees Dogs that are also on the property. All the animals are well kept and loved by Ali and her husband. For dinner, travel down the road a bit and eat at the cozy The Bridge Restaurant. The food is all homemade and is delicious and affordable. The service is efficient and warm and the bar is handsome. Families and couples will love this place.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well kept and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkcadillac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarrytown new york
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2012

During the power outage caused by megastorm Sandy in October 2012, we escaped from our cold, dark house in Tarrytown, along with our dog, Zoe. By chance, we had an appointment in Sheffield, MA, in a few days, so we decided to find a place to stay there, and, looking for a place that would welcome Zoe, we came upon the Staveleigh Inn. We're so glad we did! Our hosts, Harry and Ali, welcomed us warmly when we arrived, and showed us to our charming and comfortable room. The Inn is 200 years old, but the amenities aren't! Our bathroom (en suite) was up to date and spacious; our room was beautifully old-fashioned, but our bed was warm and comfortable. Breakfasts were absolutely delicious, and a comfortable living room meant we didn't have to always be in our bedroom when we were "home." Zoe was welcomed by our hosts and other guests alike, and enjoyed much attention and petting. We had a wonderful few days there, and felt rather guilty that the storm that brought so much grief to others turned into an unplanned holiday for us!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

What wonderful hospitality and a fabulous breakfast in a beautiful dining room with ingredients grown in the gorgeous garden and farm fresh eggs. Breakfast was truly delicious and different each day. The beautiful old New England home with lovely antiques and charming decor was a welcoming place to be. Ali and Harry were the most gracious of hosts.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aves1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Staveleigh House is a great place to celebrate a family event. Our family rented all seven rooms for a weekend and had a fabulous time. We were grandparents, children and grandchildren plus a dog. Our every need was taken care of. The breakfasts were terrific and Ali catered to the children to make sure they had items to eat that met their needs. When we came back after a day outdoors, she made hot chocolate for everyone. Ali and her husband gave us directions to wherever we wanted to go. My whole family believes that Staveleigh House is a wonderful setting to celebrate a special birthday and we look forward to another visit in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCLBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We just returned from a lovely two night stay with Ali and Harry. They shared their beautiful historic home and made us feel so welcome. Our bed was so cozy and Ali made breakfast each morning whenever we peaked into the kitchen to say, "Good Morning". We were so comfortable that we stayed in the kitchen and visited with Ali after all of the guests had breakfast. Ali and Harry have the most wonderful animals that they have rescued and we enjoyed our walks out to the barn to visit them. This was a genuinely delightful visit. We will look forward to visiting again next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
6.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
276 reviews
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 9 in Great Barrington
649 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
77 reviews
5.5 mi away
Wainwright Inn
Wainwright Inn
#3 of 12 in Great Barrington
183 reviews
4.8 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#1 of 12 in Great Barrington
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 59 Main St, Sheffield, MA 01257-9555
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, gracious hospitality in circa 1821 home in Historic Sheffield. 7 Comfortable AC guestrooms w/private baths. Splendid breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staveleigh House Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing