We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint B&B that has a special touch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Sheffield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Quaint B&B that has a special touch”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at the Staveleigh House during an extended weekend at the Berkshires. One thing that we were a little concerned about distance from the main attractions of the Berkshires (i.e. Tanglewood, the Mount, Jacob's Pillow, etc.) When we were deciding where to stay, it was between the Staveleigh House and another B&B in the heart of town. The thing that made us decide to drive around a little more rather than staying in the thick of things was the fact that a recurring comment about the other B&B was the noise level at night. For us, a good night's rest was more important. In reality, the drive to most of the attractions were well within a 30 minute drive.

When we arrived at the Staveleigh House, we were greated by Ali and her four legged friends. It was a lot of fun staying at a property that had many friendly dogs, sheep, goats, and ponies. Once we got settled, Ali treated us to mint iced tea (the mint was picked from her garden) and gingerbread.

The breakfasts were amazing. Every breakfast started with either a fruit plate or fruit cup. The main fares included frittata, stuffed blueberry pancakes, souffle all with sides of potatoes or bacon. All the herbs came straight from the garden. The eggs came straight from Ali's chickens. How many B&B's do you know where you are fed eggs direct from the chickens on the property?

The room that we got was one of the smaller rooms with an en-suite bathroom. The room was small, but the size really didn't matter since we did not spend much time in the room. The bathroom was stocked with nice toiletries. The bed was very comfortable. The room had both AC and a ceiling fan.

Overall, we loved every minute at Staveleigh House. Both Ali and her husband Harry were first rate hosts. We have no regrets selecting the Staveleigh House and will definitely return to it the next time we are in the Berkshires!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romans5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    15
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
70
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Framingham, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed at Staveleigh House over the long July fourth weekend. We were greeted with iced coffee and tea along with freshly baked chocolate cookies. It just got better from there. Our hosts, Ali and Harry, could not have been more attentive and thoughtful. The rooms were attractive, clean and well air conditioned, with wonderful decorative touches. Ali seemed to be always available when we had a question and gave us great suggestions for hikes, swims and meals. Our group of six adults was universally pleased. Breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

What a charming B and B with owners to match! Ali is the epitome of sweetness, warmth and good cheer. Walking into Staveleigh House after a long-ish drive on what had unexpectedly turned into a cold, sleety day in April, we were engulfed by Ali's and Harry's hospitality. We loved every minute of our stay - from tea and home-made ginger bread served in a toasty and homey living room, to visits with the pets in the backyard (Elliot the lamb stole the show), to a breakfast of home-made goodies and entertaining conversations with Ali and her other guests. It was perfect and I wish we could have stayed longer than just the one night we did. This is a place we absolutely want to return to. We had a charming room with quaint furniture and I loved Ali's collection of teapots in the kitchen!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandya162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
190 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

When I stay at a B + B I look for 3 things, owner friendliness, breakfast quality, and room comfort; The Staveleigh House knocked all 3 out of the park!! We stayed for 2 nights being in town for a wedding and we cant imagine that there would have been a better place to stay! The owners are so nice and welcoming, they had fresh gingerbread and iced tea waiting for us. The breakfast were a fritata with potatoes and cornbread on one day and a belgian waffle with whipped cream and berries on the other day; Both were exceptional. The room had a very comfortable king bed, an air conditioner, free wifi, and cable TV. All of which were necessary during our stay. My wife and I will definitely stay here again if we ever come back into town.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2013

A lovely Berkshires bed and breakfast. Inn keeper Ali is lovely and welcoming, our room was quaint and full of charm, and breakfast was delicious in a delightful sun-filled room (true to the pictures!) Sheffield is a bit sleepy, but there is lots to explore in nearby towns.

Absolutely the best option if you're looking for a Sheffield B&B!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

All the positive reviews on Trip Advisor are spot on and there's little to add other than the hearty endorsement of two wide-experienced travelers. Ali's place, to which one of us has been going for years, is the perfect quaint New England B&B. The endearing warmth of the hosts is however above and beyond the best of the rest.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joelgraber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Staveleigh House completely lives up to expectations - all the good reviews are true! We had a delightful stay. Ali and Harry extend the warmest of welcomes and hospitality in their beautiful old New England home - it is an absolute treat to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
6.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#3 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
18.2 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 19 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
5.5 mi away
Wainwright Inn
Wainwright Inn
#3 of 12 in Great Barrington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 59 Main St, Sheffield, MA 01257-9555
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, gracious hospitality in circa 1821 home in Historic Sheffield. 7 Comfortable AC guestrooms w/private baths. Splendid breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staveleigh House Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing