We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and charming B&B with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Sheffield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
brooklyn
1 review
“Lovely and charming B&B with excellent service”
Reviewed 4 January 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Staveleigh House during a romantic ski weekend in the Berkshires. I have stayed at a number of B&Bs in the US and abroad and I must say this is one of the best. The rooms and entire home is quite charming, clean, and tastefully decorated and Allie is an absolutely wonderful hostess. She is the ideal innkeeper - excellent breakfasts, genuinely kind demeanor, and very respectful of guest privacy. Also, the rates are quite reasonable for the area.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooklynmargie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    15
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
70
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new york
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2009

We stayed at Staveleigh House for 3 nights - 2 adults and 3 kids and all of us loved it. The rooms were cozy and charming and the fire was always going at night. Ali went out of her way to ensure all of our needs were met - including lending us snowclothes for the surprise storm and researching activities for us. Her warm hospitality was above and beyond what was required. The kids were always excited for her gourmet breakfasts in the morning and loved playing with and feeding the horses, goats and other animals. We were sad to leave!

  • Liked — It was cozy and we felt at home
  • Disliked — Erratic heating/temperatures; also several rooms have bathrooms across the hall
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, MA
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2009

My wife and I are first timer visitors to Staveleigh House and we could not have been more impressed! Our B&B experiences thus far have been limited and we weren't sure what to expect. All the guest were terrific and varied in age from recent college grads to a family with three kids ranging in age from 8 - 14. The food was out of this world delicious. Ali was the kindest host imaginable and her breakfasts were delicious. We were able to bring our favorite four legged friend along and she was welcomed as part of the family. In fact, Ali had a chew toy waiting for our pooch upon our arrival. As this was a winter visit, the fireplace was roaring and the house was warm and cozy. This is an older house so be prepared for creaking floors and simple charms. It is beautifully decorated, clean and inviting. We will most definitely recommend Staveleigh House to all our friends and will return again! Thank you Ali for your hospitality and making us feel so welcome.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Room was a tad warm
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shribes123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire, Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2008

For two brits who've travelled the world we found this place quite by chance (that is, my iPhone chose to work for a moment) and thought it was great.

We were not that familiar with New England hospitality at that stage of our journey but would discover that even set against the high standards found in the area, our hostess was superb. We wanted for nothing, and the breakfasts were sublime. And if we didn't have what we needed Ali was never far away and would readily provide.

The house is beautifully done. It is, we understand, 190 years old but for such a new house it is full of character. The room we had was warm, comfortable and bright. The location is the ideal lauchpad for the restaurants of Great Barrington and the delights of the Berkshires.

I would not hesitate to recommend this to other travellers.

  • Liked — Total charm of house and owner
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank adrianlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlingtin
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2008

We just returned from our second stay at the Staveleigh House B&B in the Berkshires (MA.) Ali and Harry are gracious and kind hosts. The house is a warm and welcoming. The rooms are well decorated with all the comforts of home. On this trip we brought our grand daughters (age 6 and 8). Ali went out of her way to welcome them and treat them like little princesses!

The best part of the experience is how Ali is so willing to accomodate your needs, all you need to do is ask!

We strongly recommend the Staveleigh House to anyone who is looking for a quiet and restful get away.

Jim and Kim B. Vermont

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank jayhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2008

Nestled in the Berkshires Stavleigh House is a True Find!

The owner Ali is truly gracious and cooks a fantastic breakfast consisting of the BEST Belgium Waffles I have had in years. The room was large and well decorated and the bathroom was new and spacious.

Truly a wonderful B&B!

  • Liked — Everything was above board.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MTNYC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2008

This is the best B&B I've ever experienced. I've been most fortunate to stay in the large downstairs room more than once and it is a dream; beautifully decorated, separate entrance, and bigger than my bedroom at home. Ali, the innkeeper, is a doll who is attentive and charming. As I am a diabetic, she always customizes breakfasts for me to my request. Delicious omelets!

Staveleigh House itself is beautiful. There are pretty flowers around the property and a barn way out in the back with horses, goats, and other wonderful animals. The dining room is awash with light in the mornings and is nicely appointed. Great living room with a piano too. Incredibly, the prices at the inn are more than competitive.

I am going to Sheffield again soon and will be heading straight to Staveleigh and Ali. The holidays in the Berkshires are dreamy and I can't think of a better place to stay.

  • Liked — Huge, beautifully furnished room.
  • Disliked — No internet access.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahnycc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
6.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#3 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
18.2 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 19 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
5.5 mi away
Wainwright Inn
Wainwright Inn
#3 of 12 in Great Barrington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 59 Main St, Sheffield, MA 01257-9555
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, gracious hospitality in circa 1821 home in Historic Sheffield. 7 Comfortable AC guestrooms w/private baths. Splendid breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staveleigh House Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing