We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Berkshire B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Sheffield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Berkshire B&B”
Reviewed 27 July 2010

A delightful find, just a few minutes from the Berkshire School and the Berkshire Choral Festival. The house is spacious and charming, the air conditioning is for real (the weather was 90s and humid), the food is scrumptious, the animals are friendly, the gardens are beautiful and Ali and Harry are warm and wonderful hosts. Easy access to Great Barrington as well. A lovely haven after a busy day of singing or touring. What more could you ask?

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravlelingFlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    16
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
73
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Staveleigh House over the Fourth of July along with my parents. We had tickets to see James Taylor at Tanglewood, and Ali was very accomodating with setting us up with available rooms. The inn is very convenient to Lenox and absolutely lovely. The farm animals were such a fun surprise! Even though it was scorching hot, the AC unit in the room plus the ceiling fan made it very comfortable. And breakfast was delicious! I would definitely stay there again and would recommend the spot to friends/family.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccbelle35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We stayed at Staveleigh House in May, as our first "mini-vacation" with our 80lb-dog and 1-yr old child. Not sure what part of that plan hinted at vacation, but Ali & Harry, the innkeepers, did everything they could to make it possible!

The location was central and easy to find; we could even walk to some of the cafes in town. The Inn itself is a gorgeous Victorian home, and it REALLY feels like a home - just not yours: you know you don't have to clean or do anything, but it just feels homey and *good*. Ali makes an incredible, deluxe and fresh breakfast. We watched her collecting fresh eggs from her hens in the barn behind the house in the morning. The beds just welcome you in - fluffy, flannel down comforters are super snuggly. Everyone feels relaxed, welcoming, and low-key. Definitely no snobby, pushy or uptight feelings.

But the best part was home accommodating Ali & Harry were. They went so far above and beyond their "job" as innkeepers in helping us to have a vacation, and to take care of our needs, that they really felt more like family. They offered to help with our child, they let us keep a clip-on highchair on the table for breakfast, and our dog was welcomed into the home and had the run of our room and the living room (while we were with him). And the nicest part was seeing so many return visitors all welcomed back, by name, with true happiness and familiarity.

We will certainly be back and have already recommended them to several of our friends. Simply wonderful! We have stayed in the area before at other B&Bs that were nothing special, but now we know where we will always stay in the future.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dc2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

My husband and I have stayed with Ali and Harry probably a dozen times. We've brought extended family and friends, and every one of them is a repeat customer. This is a place that is welcoming and charming, without being overly cutesy, which can be an issue with B&Bs. Ali is an awesome cook. The garden is lovely, and the sheep welcoming us upon arrival is a great treat. It signals that we have left the city behind.
If you want to chat, they'll give you tips on the area, but if you want to kick back and be quiet, that's fine too. You will enjoy it.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettyaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walpole, Ma
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2010

we chose Staveleigh house because a friend had been there before and loved it. It was far above my expectations. We were greeted by the Inn owner, Ali and a roaring fire in the fireplace. our rooms were absolutely beautiful. They were very clean and comfortable,keeping with the over 100 year charm. Each room had luxurious robes for our stay. Ali and her husband, Harry were so very warm, welcoming, and very accommodating. The food was deliciously home made and plentiful. The presentation was also beautiful. I loved that we had access to the kitchen late at night for tea or snacks. I also enjoyed all the farm animals. I would reccomend this B&B for anyone that travels to the Birkshires and wants to feel welcome and pampered.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hicksix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2009

I'm finally getting around to writing about our yearly pilgrimage to the Staveleigh House in the Berkshires (Sheffield, MA). This year, my fiancée and I went a little earlier than we usually do. Normally, we go for a weekend off-season in November but this year we went right smack in the middle of fall foliage peaking. I was worried the place would be noisy but it was anything but! There was even a family with kids and still it was quiet and relaxing. This time we spent a little time hanging out with the animals on the property---the rescue dogs and horses. And of course, we had the best time talking to Ali and Harry, the owners--always warm and good-natured, always respectful and kind. I just love them and wish they lived around the block! Anyway, this time we took a magical hike in a nearby nature reserve, Bartholomew's Cobble (not sure I spelled it right--sorry!). I thought I had been abducted by fairies! The place was dripping with moss and the leaves were fiery red and orange. I got so many ideas for my next book.

We have to be at a wedding in Lenox this coming May but do you think we will stay IN Lenox? Hell no! We're going back to our favorite place of all, Staveleigh House in Sheffield: where the waffles are tasty, the conversation witty and fun, and the rooms are the coziest in New England.
Mira Bartok, New Salem, MA, USA

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbartok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2009

We arrived from Boston to start our two week trip in this wonderfull house with the nicest innkeeper we've ever met. Our two years old son is still talking about Ali (it's nearly December now) and her beautifull things. We've had a great breakfast every morning and a lovely room. The neighbourhood is quiet and a good base to explore the Berkshires! Just perfect!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
6.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
286 reviews
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#3 of 10 in Great Barrington
662 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
80 reviews
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrin...
#7 of 10 in Great Barrington
178 reviews
4.8 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#1 of 12 in Great Barrington
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 59 Main St, Sheffield, MA 01257-9555
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, gracious hospitality in circa 1821 home in Historic Sheffield. 7 Comfortable AC guestrooms w/private baths. Splendid breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staveleigh House Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing