We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won my heart!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berkshire 1802 House Bed and Breakfast

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sheffield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Berkshire 1802 House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 5 Sheffield B&B and Inns
New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Won my heart!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

This immaculate and friendly bed and breakfast has been consistently superior during my repeated stays. Ron and Danny are gracious and knowledgeable hosts. Whether it's drawing a map to help find an out of the way attraction to recommending an engaging book, their intelligent suggestions are always welcome. They provide a sustaining and delicious cooked breakfast complete with homemade muffins. The inn attracts a considerate and interesting group of guests but is also conducive to peace and quiet. Thank you, Ron and Danny.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank classicalmusictravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
JAMoon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

Not sure where to start!

Breakfast was simply awesome... continental options, home-cooked breakfast muffins, fresh fruit bowl followed by a delicious cooked option.

Room was beautiful, loaded with lovely antiques but still had AC for the hot nights!

There is also a beautiful, comfortable guest lounge with TV and tea/coffee facilities.

The icing on the cake were Ron and Dan who run the place. So hospitable and friendly. Ron very kindly lent us towels to take to the local lake, provided us with maps and generally couldn't have been more helpful.

A gold standard for B&B's!! And good value for money!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

My boyfriend and I wanted to take a few days to go hiking up at the MA/CT/NY border. I had been on day hikes in the area, but this was my first time staying over in the area. We picked the perfect place. I now am a huge Berkshire 1802 fan. The hosts are great, as is the house. The rooms are beautiful and the beds comfortable. The furniture throughout the house is comfortable and interesting, and they have fun artwork up. There wasn't a TV in the room we stayed in (which we liked), but there was a TV/DVD player in the common area, as well as a really nice sound system with music to choose from. They have a great book collection, including several books of the area's attractions and hikes. The grounds are lovely, too, and there is a sun room, a front porch, and a screened gazebo from which to enjoy it all. The whole place has a low-key, comfortable, relaxed vibe. Breakfast is delicious-- homemade muffins and fresh fruit on top of the main course, plus coffee and tea and orange juice. They have tea, bottled water, and wine available 24/7, too. Ron and Danny, the owners, are great hosts-- super friendly, and really knowledgeable about the area. Also, the location is wonderful-- we were a five minutes drive from several trail heads, and there are a bunch more within a shore drive. I definitely recommend the Berkshire 1802.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hstcou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn,NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2008

We stayed in Berkshire 1802 B&B for a couple of nights in October - and had such an enjoyable & relaxing time. Our room was immaculate & tastefully decorated with a SUPER comfy canopy bed.

Breakfast was delicious! The fretattas are very tasty and their muffins are just beyond words :o). Dan and Ron (the innkeepers) are very friendly, attentive and extremely helpful but give you all the space nad privacy that you need. This B&B is centrally located - The sites
(hiking, skiing, site seeing, etc) are within a 10 minute drive.

  • Liked — The room, coziness of the B&B, the delicious breakfast, the friendly/helpful innkeepers
  • Disliked — I liked everything about it!
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KarenAndTanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2007

Berkshire 1802 is a very convenient location for touring the surrounding area. Rick is a very friendly individual and Nancy has used her artistic talents to paint the furniture pieces in the rooms. Rooms are decorated with vintage items but Nancy's furniture pieces are so whimsical that the rooms do not have a stodgy feel.

The guest lounge had lots of books and games. We sat and had early morning coffee (kindly supplied by Rick) in the screened in porch which was very nice. In the summer I would think that this is even nicer. When we were there the garden was in transition and so the outside of the house perhaps did not seem at its best.

All of the rooms seemed to be upstairs . Ours was at the front of the house and there was some traffic noise from the road. The attached bathroom was of adequate size (it had a shower)and was uniquely decorated.

Breakfast was fruit ,freshly made waffles, muffins and baked fruit loaf with plenty of coffee.

  • Liked — Friendly hosts
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank seasoned_traveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
6.0 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
7.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
9.0 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Lantern House Motel Great Barrin...
#3 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
4.9 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#2 of 12 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkshire 1802 House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkshire 1802 House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Berkshire 1802 House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 48 S Main St, P.O. Box 395, Sheffield, MA 01257-9696
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Sheffield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing