We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great few hours”

Bartholomew's Cobble
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Sheffield
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Created by geologic upheavals a half-billion years ago, this hundred-foot-high bedrock outcropping introduces visitors to a rugged and exotic landscape that also supports 800 species of plants while offering terrific mountain vistas.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great few hours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Great easy enjoyable hike. Beautiful scenic viesta. We saw a bunch of tree swallows in the meadow....really cool. The ferns were everywhere...all different kinds.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank simmerbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A natural fairyland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We walked round the Ledges trail which circles the Cobble's marble cliffs, frilled with ferns. Through the trees you can see the Housatonic and beyond it farmer's fields and the Berkshire hills. For us oldsters, the walk was gentle and full of simple delight. There were a multitude of wild plants, birds and a handful of scurrying chipmunks. There was nothing about this site that disappointed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mrszizbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upton, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My favorite hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

My husband and I hiked at the Cobble today. Easy to find. Ample parking. The trails are well marked and maintained. There are a number of trails on the property. We started by climbing Hurbutt Hill with a scenic vista at the top....well worth the climb although it is not strenuous but a bit hot since a good part of it is through open fields. We then took the Tulip Tree and Spero Trails which are mostly wooded and consist of up and down sections. We hiked for about 2hours including a short stop at the top of Hurlbutt's Hill to enjoy the view. We feel this is a good workout but not overly exhausting. This is our third trip to Bartholomew's Cobble and we agreed that we would definitely return.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Where the naturalist as well as canoe enthusiast return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

This is a very unique geological site where the cobble creates habitat for a wide range of unusual ferns. This is one of two properties just north of CT line which is managed by Trustees of the Reservations. Woodland trails, an historic home from 1700's and opportunities to take guided walks, canoe trips and just quiet strolls make this idea for summer 1/2 day. Check out website for TTOR to see program schedule. Many walks are free, but canoeing require reservations and user fees.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bartholemew's Cobble is is a joy forever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

During our 20-year residence in Western Massachusetts, my wife and I formed an intimate bond with Bartholomew's, Cobble, visiting during the non-winter months at least 2 dozen times. It is simple, intimate, easily comprehended, and spiritually satisfying. It restored our souls again and again, never disappointing us, and we have never escaped the feeling that it was our own, special place to return to. Children might be bored -- such is the simplicity of the place -- or the Cobble may provide an opportunity for a special child to escape the hectic pace of a commercial, social, over-connected growing up and discover something quiet, beautiful, and healing.

Visited July 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank orchideae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bartholomew's Cobble also viewed

Sheffield, Berkshires
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 

Been to Bartholomew's Cobble? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing