We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Far better than photos could show.”
other travellers have booked this property
The Ferry House Absolute Beach Front overlooking the gorgeous St Ives Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Ferry House Absolute Beach Front overlooking the gorgeous St Ives Bay
Pool Private covered heated pool on the beach and by the sea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The Ferry House Absolute Beach Front overlooking the gorgeous St Ives Bay
Pool
Private covered heated pool on the beach and by the sea
Living Room with panoramic sea views
Open plan living area
Master bedroom view
Master Bedroom with Kingsize Bed Sea View to Bay
Master Bedroom view to right
Bedroom 2 with Sea Views
Upstairs Triple Bunk Room
Bathroom
Stairs
Shower room
Window seat in hall
Conservatory and BBQ patio area
Conservatory
Garden/Beach/Kite Surfing
Passing Traffic
passing traffic
Sunrise Fishing at Easter
Ferry House sign
Nearby Quay for free guest car parking
The views
Kayaking
Kite surfing
Busy summer beach activity
Snow on the Beach
West Cornwall Golf Club behind Ferry House
Ferry House aerial view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Lelant, St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wifetagsa...
cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Far better than photos could show.”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is a truly wonderful setting. A few steps down to a beautiful beach with constantly changing scenery out of the large picture windows. None of the photographs can do the view or the house justice. We found the house well equipped and the owner extremely helpful. Everywhere was beautifully clean, comfy beds and great showers! The pool and hot tub are a real bonus and were a hit with the family. But the real gem is the setting, just exquisite. We had to tear ourselves away to visit anywhere else. The walk back up the hill was a bit of a struggle for me as an very unfit 60 year old but worth every minute to stay here. I just made sure I had a stout walking stick and started off a few minutes before everyone else, enjoying the gorgeous views on the way up as I caught my breath. When we could make ourselves leave the beach we enjoyed great food at the Halsetown Inn and The Seafood Café on Fore Street in St Ives. You must take the train into St Ives, it is a beautiful route. However, bypass Lelant Saltings as the train only occasionally stops there. Catch it from Lelant station, the next one down the line in the village. There is a park and ride there and it is certainly the best way into St Ives, again, a hilly place but nice to visit. This may very well be the nicest property we have ever rented, we will be back. A word of advice, just bring your groceries in as and when needed to avoid a lot of trips up and down the hill on the first day, and the bbq is gas so don't bother with charcoal. Oh, and the Wi-Fi is superb as is phone reception and tv but you won't be wanting any of that when you are there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views
Liked least: the hill
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2015
Thank you for a wonderful review. We try hard to ensure our guests have a special holiday and really relax and enjoy themselves. We greatly appreciate and love hearing when they do!

We very much look forward to your return. Many of our guests find it hard not to come back and we make sure we look after those that do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bex39
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect! ”
Reviewed 10 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The location of this property is breathtaking. We stayed over New Year enjoying long walks along the coast and train rides between Lelant Saltings (20min walk from property )and St Ives. We also walked to Carbis Bay and enjoyed a drink and lunch at the new beach restaurant there. St Ives is busy but nice shops and restaurant/pubs. A walk around the Estuary to Hayle also a good walk although a bit on the road at times but Phelps Pasties are good when you get to the other side and a stop in Scarlets on the way back is a treat .

The property has been refurbished the bathrooms and bedrooms all lovely. The kitchen although well equipped is in need of a little attention but has everything you need. The log burner is lovely once mastered and my advice to anyone staying at winter is although you get a few logs to start you off, take with you some kindling and newspaper to get the burner really going and then add the logs as and when. (Logs from just up the road turn right by badger inn £3 a sack were the best we found )
The children loved the pool and the jacuzzi which is a real treat to have . There were plenty of towels etc for use in the property but again my only small recommendation would be for the property to have an Airer or dryer as we had guests for 2/3 days and 8/9 people all showering etc . Drying towels was a constant job of rotation on the heated towel rails in the bathroom.(especially when you have swimming towels etc on top of that) .
The Badger Inn, Scarlets both nice as recommended by the owner.
We really enjoyed our stay here and would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie G
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely to be so close to the sea with beautiful views.”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Kids loved the pool and hot tub. Adults loved the view and peace and quiet, only downside no drying facilities.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire F
Bideford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous location - all the comforts of home plus a pool and a jacuzzi!”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My family had a fantastic stay at the Ferry House. The house and garden are literally metres from the beach making it a very special place. The house is clean and well presented and the pool and jacuzzi were well used by all the group especially the kids. We made a few trips to St Ives and Hayle but really you could spend all week walking on the beach and enjoying the views!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beachside position
Liked least: The walk across the golf course.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannette...
Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little paradise”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

An absolutely perfect restful break set in breath taking scenery. I stayed at The Ferry House for a week at the end of august with my partner, his 2 teenage daughters and my golden retriever and we had an absolutely lovely time. The accommodation is well equipped, comfortable, clean and tidy and has everything you require to cater for all your needs. The fenced garden and easy access to the beach made it a perfect doggie venue (not least because dogs are actually welcome) and the beautiful dog friendly beach and sand dunes made for some lovely restful walks. The Jacuzzi and swimming pool are a real bonus and were lovely to use after a day visiting some of the Cornwall's famous locations.
I would recommend this property and location to anyone who is looking for a relaxing British break

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hashton
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing location, the house could be better”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We just had an absolutely fantastic holiday here. House on the beach in Cornwall, for 2 weeks in glorious weather. It doesn't get much better. Whatever I say next is in the context of the above and the Ferry House being where it is, if the weather is good, is an amazing place. We all thoroughly enjoyed it.
We visited as a young family, with a 9 and 10 year old, plus my own parents.
We all thought that house looked to be a project in progress, with a bit of work to do and money to spend to get it up to the standard it could and should be for the price in the Summer holidays.
My parents had the main double bedroom at the front of the house, which has the best views from 3 huge windows - beach on all 3 sides. The decor is tasteful and the huge bed was fantastic. No complaints here.
We had the 2nd bedroom. It's much smaller. Again simply decorated. The bed left a bit to be desired, being a basic mattress from Ikea - we both had bad backs by the end of the first week, but it may suit others. The view from the side window is pretty good.
The 3rd bedroom for the children was quite small and dark at the back of the house, with 1 small window and limited storage. The double + single bunk bed was adequate.
The final room upstairs is the small but newly installed modern bathroom. With no frosted glass in the window down the side of the bathroom, be careful when sat on the loo - but it's great having a bath looking at the great view! Upstairs overall the house is pretty good and only a couple of improvements e.g. a large mirror on the landing was just propped up against the wall with a fire extinguisher holing it in place - with children, it isn't great. The kids bedroom needs something doing with lighting.
Downstairs is where some improvements could be made for the Ferry House to be at the very high standard it wants to be.
We arrived early to avoid traffic on our way down from the North, and had to wait until 4pm to get into the house as it was being cleaned, which was expected. However, although the cleaner does a great job, and being beach side, it probably a hard house to clean, the downstairs isn't as clean as it could be when you look behind furniture or behind ornaments/pictures etc.
Also in the living area, the large sofa by the window is actually a bed from Ikea, including mattress, with covers and cushions. As there were 4 adults in our party, 2 people had to use this in the evenings and it wasn't the most comfortable, with a hard wooden back.
There are great views from the main living area, and it is fantastic to be able to walk from here onto the garden and be right on the beach - we felt like we were in the Caribbean with the weather, palm trees and sea right there. Unfortunately, one of the large double glazing units has failed and it slightly dampens the view.
As a keen cook, and cooking for 6 people, my biggest disappointment was the kitchen, which is very small and the oven is very small and basic. Great fridge freezer though!! The floor standing units smelt very damp.
The other 2 rooms downstairs are a replica of the children's room upstairs, but it is even darker, and a useful shower room that has been newly done and done well again. The door just needs some attention as it needs a big shove to close it.
There is a porch at the side, where the main door to the house is, which is useful fopr storing coats and wetsuits. Unfortunately when we were there, we came home to find ourselves locked out, as the front of unit inside the porch and fallen off and jammed the door - luckily I left a window open upstairs and could climb in and sort it out to open the door again. When I looked at the wooden unit, it was held on with one screw instead of 2. I re-screwed this into place, but it needs looking at. The other fault downstairs is the lock,handle on the patio doors which doesn't work and is covered with masking tape. You lock this now with a security lock at the top of the doors instead.
Outside, everything is almost great. The pool was well used by us and it was great to be able to have a swim at any time. But it needs a little bit of attention with grouting around the pool missing, and some weeds growing. The window/polycarb covering is pretty ol;d and in time probably needs a deep clean or replacing. The hot tob was great, once it was cleaned a week into our stay. Both our children ended up at the doctors with external ear infections after 4 or 5 days. The pool cleaners came 48 hours after we mentioned this to the gardeners who came. He said it needed more chemicals in it an the pool. Kids get ear infections on holiday with all the swimming, it isn't the first time this has happened to us, but in a house that could be exceptional, it is avoidable. The whole garden and pool area needs a bit of tidying up to realize it's true potential - the rear of the house/garden is out of control and needs some work clearing weeds and scrub. The biggest disappointment with the garden was the summer house area. it's advertised as a facility, and mentions it being a great place to sit and watch the sunset. When we were there, there was a sign asking us to keep out as it is a private garden. The summer house looked to be full of all kinds of garden and house equipment and furniture. There is a private path from here that could lead to the beach, rather than going via the public footpath, which would be great.
I know I have been a little critical, but we all thought that this house was going to be immaculate in presentation for the price of circa £3k a week, but it needs a bit of time and money spending on it still to get there.
You are definitely paying for the location, and we loved staying here, as for a SPECIAL Cornish location, it can't get much better than this. We even didn't mind the trek down from the car park (if you have elderly people in your party, they will struggle with this walk), as it gave some peace and quiet from cars and a feeling of seclusion, despite the beach being very popular, especially with dog walkers (which we are too).
We had a truly brilliant time in Cornwall, and enjoyed staying in the Ferry House, and are sure everyone else will enjoy staying here - it's in such a beautiful position - watching the boats come and go from your garden on the beach, with a cold drink in your hand - what's not to like!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location + the weather the owners obviously arranged for us
Liked least: That it wasn't quite at the standard we expected - could be even better!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give an extensive review. We are really pleased that this guest and family had a fantastic holiday. The review echoes the positive feedback we receive from our guests. We are also pleased to read that the guest would recommend a stay to their best friend. 

We were surprised to read some of the comments and opinions in the review.  Despite having been in contact with the guest to organise a mid term clean and linen change, (which was declined), they had not advised us of any of the issues mentioned in the review and it is unfair to have given some of the opinions as they have without having given us an opportunity to address any concerns. We appreciate the freedom of open speech that social media allows but it is sometimes used as a forum for opinions that would not be reasonably aired in personal conversation or formal written communications. 

The guest appears to feel that the house is not of the standard they expect for the summer rate. A reason for this is that they were are party of 6 booking a house that can sleep families of 8/10. They were therefore paying for a 4 bedroom beach residence rather than a 3 bedroom village property. Our tariff is based upon local property tariffs and is also competitive in this respect given it's exclusive location with a beachside private pool and hot tub.

The house is exactly as it appears in  the photographs on the website. We therefore cannot see how the guest felt it should be of a higher standard. It is what it is shown to be. We do not describe the house as a luxury house, we describe it as the exclusive and comfortable  family friendly beach house it is.  The remote location itself restricts the possibility of a boutique glossy show home. In fact we pride ourselves on the fact that families can stay without worrying their children will damage or break house items whilst still affording our guests with all they need to enjoy themselves. 

We do wish to correct the following misrepresentations:
No double bed has an ikea mattress. We only purchase mattresses over £500 from a local reputatable  bedshop. The only ikea mattresses are single top bunk mattresses that we know to be top bunk safe. We will check the comfort of the mattress they said was uncomfortable. If they had mentioned this we do have back up double mattresses on site in case of problems.

The hot tub and pool are serviced and prepared  by a professional pool company. The hot tub water is always emptied and refilled between guests and monitored mid stay. The guest did not advise us that their children had ear problems. Swimmers ear is caused by repeated contact with water in the inner ear typically on holiday by lots of swimming without emptying the water from the ear. It is not caused by pool chemicals or lack of them. The guest had said to both the gardener and to Atlantic pools during their usual pool monitoring visit that she felt it was due to the children swimming in the sea. If she had mentioned this to us Atlantic pools would have been in attendance within hours as when we had to replace a pool thermostat when a returning guest mentioned the pool had lost water and was loosing heat. Some grout was removed from tiles around the pool as part of the new pump and thermostat job. We decided to leave the tiles ungrouted in case we needed to pull them up again should the pool require more work of this type. It would mean a quicker job over the busy summer. The Window cleaner attends every two weeks and gives a thorough clean to all glass at the property. The pool enclosure has recently undergone a "deep clean". The house is in a maritime location and salt and sand is highly corrosive. A new enclosure would need to be purchased every 3/4 years at a cost of £15,000 to keep in shiny pristine boutique appearance. This is not a financially viable option.

Cleanliness is of vital importance to us and our housekeeper. Our housekeeper complained to us that these guests arrived at 2.30pm and put her under pressure for a third of her cleaning time, as they watched her work whilst the children kept going in and out of the house.  It is in this context that their comments that the ornaments etc were dusty should be viewed. We pride ourselves on having the house as clean as possible for our guests. The guest had contacted me late the night before to advise they were leaving Manchester at 3am. We try to get guests in as early as possible but the contactual time is 4.30pm and I did advise it would not be before 3pm. We chose not to make an issue of their early arrival as we did not wish to give any negative experience for their holiday. We are sad that they could therefore feel inclined to comment on dust/sand under furniture.

There is a conservatory/summerhouse joined to the house for guests to use. I do not understand why the guest ignored a private sign to inspect our private storage facilities. The back gate is locked at all times as it was being left open with the public at large wandering through the property. 

We are dealing with the patio door lock after the busy period as it was broken during the course of the summer and the locksmith advised it is not possible to replace without the risk of greater damage in a 6 hour changeover time during the busy summer season. Instead a new security lock was put on so it could be locked by guests. The double glazed window that is cloudy looks to the garden and not to the sea. 

There is a three piece suite seating 5. The other sofa is a daybed as is seen in the web photo. It allows guests greater sleeping flexibility and some have commented that they enjoy the recline whilst watching the turning tide.

The kitchen is as seen in the photos. It is much better supplied with utensils etc than luxury marketed accommodation we have stayed at this summer. Other guests have commented positively on this aspect. The cooker and fridge freezer are from the same manufacturer and both are just over 1 year old and are in good working order. We agree that the kitchen is not a large cook's  kitchen but it is of a sufficient size for beach holiday needs. We are looking into a replacement kitchen with our architect as the old thick granite house walls restrict an easy kitchen expansion. 

We will deal with a second screw in the entrance cupboard and put the smoke extinguisher back. The mirror is safe where it is located but we will child proof against the more adventurous child that might try and climb up and walk against it.

Unfortunately energy saving light bulbs are not always very bright. We will double check if we can replace with a brighter light. According to other guests the children's bunk rooms work well for younger children needing to get to sleep on sunny summer evenings.

Apologies for a long reply but we did need to address the comments and opinions of the guest. If you are thinking of booking and have any queries concerning anything in the above please do not hesitate to contact us. We are more than happy to chat with our guests and potential guests. 
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buddy B
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Self contained little paradise”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The ferry house is situated in an idyllic location, is well equipped and thoughtfully presented. The house was spotless on our arrival, and there was milk, some biscuits, teabags, scones, some local jam left out for us - a really nice way to start.

The beach runs along the edge of the garden, the garden itself being large with lots of shade and interesting nooks and crannies for kids to explore. The pool, hottub and BBQ were all clean and ready to use.

I found the owner extremely responsive on things like availability, and our deposit was returned very promptly after we left.

Negatives: If you've got loads of stuff, the walk from the car to the house is a bit of a pain. When we arrived, the car park was actually full (lots of people using the local beaches also park there) so we had to park miles away. I however actually liked the fact that once you're in, you're in. I can't think of anything else! the water pressure was great, loads of hot water, wifi was fast...nope. Stumped. Its lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing