We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Birdies Bistro

Birdies Bistro
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Lelant
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I've never been here before and had the most wonderful dinner In a long time. The staff were fantastic and the location is so quaint and beautiful. I'm shocked to see a review saying bad things about cleanliness or portion size as I know I couldn't even finish my meal (The Hallumi dish.. so amazing). The bathrooms (as was the whole restaurant) were spotless which is a credit as it is always hard to keep them at a high level on a busy night like that. 10/10 and can't wait to go back.

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Caroline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirdiesBistro1, Owner at Birdies Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Wow thank you for your great review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your visit.
Kind regards
Birdies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 270 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Went for a family lunch. Something for everyone and well cooked, would be nice to see some lighter/ cheaper options for the lunch menu? Overall though a nice place to eat.

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AellwOOd1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirdiesBistro1, Owner at Birdies Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We will think about our menu options.
Birdies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We 1st went to Birdies some months ago on a visit to St Ives and it was great.

This time we stopped in after the long drive to see relatives and sampled the breakfast.

We were there as the restaurant opened and were greeted warmly. It's almost like going to dine with friends.

The service is reliable and the food of good quality.

The location, seems to be the very edge of the salt flats and it a haven for birds, hence the name I guess. We saw little more than gulls, but the comments in the visitor book confirm a vast array of other sightings.

There is a small outdoor area which you can enjoy if the weather's favourable.

Definitely somewhere we'll go for breakfast again, maybe on our next visit we'll even sample the evening meal.

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kaz831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirdiesBistro1, Owner at Birdies Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you Kaz831 for your review, we are pleased you loved birdies an came again on your return visit. We look forward to welcoming you back for that evening meal you mentioned :-)
Birdies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were recommended by the landlady where we were staying, train ride round from St Ives and a 5 minute walk to the restaurant. It was well worth it! The food was well presented, very tasty and a good selection of meals. The service was attentive and helpful. The setting is marvellous, I can imagine it would be a birdwatcher's paradise. We will definitely revisit next time we go to St Ives.

Date of visit: March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirdiesBistro1, Owner at Birdies Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you Ian for your great review, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit an also that you enjoyed the train journey round too us. We love that train ride. We look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Birdies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Came to birdies for a birthday celebration and enjoyed a really nice evening, sitting outside with some beers in the sun while our food was being prepared was really nice, and when our food arrived it was really nice, I had the ribeye steak and it was juicy, tender and full of flavour and everyone else's food also looked nice. The waitresses were friendly and attentive and it was a nice relaxed atmosphere. I don't leave many reviews but as it was such an enjoyable experience I felt like I should.

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beelzebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirdiesBistro1, Owner at Birdies Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write your excellent review. It's a pleasure to read and will pass on to the team.
Birdies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Birdies Bistro also viewed

 
Carbis Bay, St Ives
 

Been to Birdies Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing