We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Summer House Cottages
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We had our wedding at the Summerhouse, over Memorial Day, right at the beginning of the 2013 season. Some of the issues we experienced might be related to the fact that the Summerhouse was just starting to get ready for the season.
We found it very difficult to get in contact with the owners and staff of the Summerhouse outside of the season. We left multiple emails, voice mails and did not get any responses for weeks. When calling the owner less than two weeks before our arrival, he was extremely rude, yelled at me and told me that he is under a lot of pressure and can’t speak to me.
When we arrived the staff tried their best to make time to discuss through our event. But the owner called them back (without even as much as greeting me) to tell them that they should focus on getting ready for the evening service.
The food was good, but in both occasions, brunch for approximately 15 people and the wedding dinner for 17 people, the warm dishes were served fairly cold.
The Summerhouse is considered to be one of the premium places to stay on the island and is priced accordingly. The cottages are fairly small and in some cases require update. We did not feel that this was compensated by any sort of high quality customer service.
In case you consider staying at the Summerhouse and cater an event, you may want to consider alternative locations.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Monika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SummerHouseMgmt, Manager at The Summer House Cottages, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
We are very sorry that you did not receive the service you deserved on your wedding weekend. We pride ourselves on providing impeccable service to our guests, and I am extremely disappointed to hear that you didn't walk away from the Summer House feeling like you were taken care of. Again, we deeply apologize for the inconvenience. If you make it back to the Summer House, please email me at manager@thesummerhouse.com so I can see to it that your next experience is much improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    5
    0
    9
    5
See reviews for
8
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I have been going to the Summer house since I was a little girl. My family loves it there. I always get treated like I'm coming home to family. Everybody remembers my name and greets me with a hug and big smile and kiss. Even the men down at the pool bar remember my favorite drink or lunch. The nice thing about Summer House is its menu changes and things are updated, but somehow they always stay the same. And their crab cakes are always the best! There's nothing like a summer night sitting in the restaurant after a nice day at the pool or the beach and being with family in a world where you don't feel like texting friends because you feel like your already with them!

Room Tip: The Cagney cottage is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxined264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siasconset
5.1 mi away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#11 of 14 in Nantucket
230 reviews
7.1 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#6 of 14 in Nantucket
443 reviews
7.3 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
270 reviews
7.3 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 14 in Nantucket
252 reviews
7.1 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 14 in Nantucket
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summer House Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summer House Cottages

Property: The Summer House Cottages
Address: 17 Ocean Avenue, Siasconset, Nantucket, MA 02564
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket > Siasconset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Siasconset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Summer House Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic village of Siasconset, the Cottages are decorated in a simple, timeless English cottage style. Our ocean beach, heated fresh water pool, and lively Beachside Bistro are nestled on a dune just below the bluff. Relax by the beach or enjoy complimentary jitney access to Nantucket.Cottages guest enjoy priority access to all of the Summer House restaurants, curated by award winning chef Todd English. The Summer House Restaurant offers imaginative contemporary cuisine & nighttime piano bar, while our Beachside Bistro offers casual oceanfront dining and drinks.Each Summer House Cottage is decorated in typical English cottage fashion, and features its own unique layout and style. A stay at our Cottages is worlds away from the stress of daily life. Browse our cottages online or call us to have our staff assist you with the selection of the perfect cottage for your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Summer House Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summer House Cottages Nantucket/Siasconset, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing